7/23 Lightning AMPS 97, +5 260, PMPS 370

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
Holy cow!! A 97 for AMPS??? I'm shocked!! Guess it was good that I waited....very impatiently I must add!! But now what do I do? I've never seen a number this low for AMPS. Do I give him the 1.75u or do I wait???? Please help!!!
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

are you home today to monitor? How is the poo and vomit situation, is he feeling better? Is he eating ok? Do you have high carb wet food on hand?
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Yes, I will be home all day today. I do have a 19% carb canned food (Friskies with gravy) on hand....No vomiting after what happened at 5:30pm last night, poo is still a little loose but not really bad....Should I give him his shot, or wait an hour to test again? I gave him about 1 can (3 oz) of 5% FF food and he's been doing fine.
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Good morning and what a nice ambg for Lightning. Did you shoot yet? Just wondering because if you did not, that 97 would be an ambg, not amps.

First of all, get another test to see what is happening. It would have been better to not have feed Lightning because now there is a food spike on board. We would like to see if he was still going down or coming up for that next text. Let's see what the next test is and then make a decision.
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

you have shot low before, if you're home then I would go ahead and shoot. Feed and get a +1 and +2 to see which way he's going.
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Deb & Spot said:
Good morning and what a nice ambg for Lightning. Did you shoot yet? Just wondering because if you did not, that 97 would be an ambg, not amps.

I'm new so I still don't have the lingo down...so forgive me, but what's the difference b/w an AMBG and an AMPS? I thought the test I take in the morning before I feed and shoot is called an AMPS...I always test before I shoot (and I feed before I shoot as well) in the morning and at night.

Ok, going to give him 1.75u and will test again in +1 or +2...I can do whichever, or both....does either one have a better meaning?
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

I'm new so I still don't have the lingo down...so forgive me, but what's the difference b/w an AMBG and an AMPS? I thought the test I take in the morning before I feed and shoot is called an AMPS...I always test before I shoot (and I feed before I shoot as well) in the morning and at night.

Ok, going to give him 1.75u and will test again in +1 or +2...I can do whichever, or both....does either one have a better meaning?

That's ok, it takes a while to figure out the lingo, so no harm no fowl, lol! AMBG stands for a.m. blood glucose where amps stands for a.m. pre-shot. If you are shooting this 97, then it would be amps, but if you were going to get another test, the 97 would be ambg. That's all.
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

I would do both when you shoot a low preshot. +1 will tell you if Lightning is still dropping (because Lightning is lower than he was last night). +2 will give you an idea whether this will be an exciting cycle (if it is the same or less than PS) or if he's going to start bouncing. After that, we can see what other tests are needed.
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Ok, so again...I'm playing the Newbie card.....just to make sure I do this right (because I have a history of screwing things up), my +1 will be 1 hour after I gave the actual shot, not 1 hour after i took his AMPS right? Because there was actually about an hour already between those 2 things, so i want to make sure I am doing the right thing here. So i gave him the shot about 10 minutes ago, so I should take another BG reading in 50 minutes....right?
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

if it was an hour between the 97 and the shot, then I would have tested again before the shot (sorry, I didn't notice the time). Maybe go ahead and test now and call that number your AMPS (even though you shot 10 minutes ago, it will be good to know the number).
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Oh, Gosh, there you go again playing that newbie card...the nerve!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: Hey, I say better safe than sorry! And I think Libby answered!

Have a great day and I hope that your +1 is a good one!
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

I'm actually going to suggest that Deb may not have the lingo quite right. We usually hold the AMBG (or PMBG) for kitties who are on a OTJ trial since they won't be shooting so there's no pre-shot. If you get what you think is a pre-shot number that you don't think you can shoot (e.g., a 45), that number would be your +12 (or +11.75 -- in other words how long it's been since your last shot). If you stall for 30 min. and still can't shoot, that next number would be your +12.5. The number you use for your AMPS is the number you got before you actually shot.

You did great this morning. Obviously, the best option is to be able to shoot your full dose on time. There are occasions when you can't -- you're not going to be home to monitor, the number is too low, etc. In that case, you have a couple of options:
  • Stall -- do NOT feed and retest in 15 - 30 min. You want to repeat this until you see that numbers are rising or you have a solid surf. The downside is that it may throw your schedule off since you will need to test 12 hours from whenever you eventually shoot.
  • Shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot completely.

All of these options have an impact on the shed which is why, if it's a reasonable and safe option, it's best to shoot on time and shoot the full dose.
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Pamela, welcome to lantus land, and I do understand the confusion..It will become clear soon, and you will get it all..
So far you are doing great..The testing is essential to see how the lantus is working--
From that great amps, it looks like Lightning is doing great--Dont get nervous, you have all of us to help you..
You have strips, you have hc food, you are in control--Keep up the good work! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Thanks everyone! Ok, so it was only about 20 minutes ago that I gave the shot, so i don't know what to call this new number, but i just took a reading and he's at 201. So to get the timing down, I took his BS at 6:40am and he was at 97. I fed him and then at approx 7:45am I gave him his shot and then at 8:05am I took another test and that's where the 201 comes in.

So that was quite a jump from 97 to 201...is it because of the food? Or is the shot kicking in already?
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

ok, Sienne...I may have it wrong :oops: , but I will never admit to it, :lol: :lol: . I was, however, under the impression that in this case, the 97 test was done at the regular time and the shooting time was going to be delayed and another test was going to be done before shooting, thus making the second test the amps...That was why I posted what I did, just to clairify! Don't want to hijack Lightnig's condo on this any further, so back to work I go and I'll check in later!
:-D :-D
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Pamela and Lightning said:
So that was quite a jump from 97 to 201...is it because of the food? Or is the shot kicking in already?

Nice exciting morning there! I'm guessing that increase may be partially food, but he may be starting a bounce from those greens... You'll know more as you get more tests in today...
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

First green AMPS... Isn't that exciting!!! dancing_cat and scary nailbite_smile

I know how you feel... I'm new also...
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97 (WHAT DO I DO?)

Yes, exciting and scary....but so happy that he's off his roller coaster from the last 3 days!!

Just tested again and I'm at about +5 and he's at 260. So he's going up, not sure if it will come back down before the PMPS, but I don't think i'm gonna test again...think I'll give him some rest (and his ears too!).

Quick question for everyone though....I've been reading about where to give the shot, scruff vs abdomen/body...does it really make a difference? I give Lightning his shots in his scruff cause that's the place I was told by my vet and I didn't think anything of it. But I've seen some stuff saying a body shot is better. Is there any data to prove that one place is better than the other?
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97, +5 260

Ah yes... I've asked this question myself... After learning to give shots in the scruff, I later read that it's not well-absorbed there... So I tried other places - much to Kasha's dismay. Got kind of wonky numbers as results... Kasha's been know to "cliff dive" - just to drop in numbers very quickly after her shot sometimes. I later read that some people use shot placement to try to achieve the kind of results they want. A scruff shot is generally absorbed slower, so theoretically it may slow onset, longer duration. Alternatively, if you have high numbers that you want to "break", the insulin is absorbed quickest in the abdomen.

I switched back to giving scruff (or scruff area) shots and Kasha and I are both happier... She still does her cliff-diving from time to time, but I feel like it's easier on her (she doesn't mind scruff shots but did NOT like side shots!) and since it may give us a slower, steadier release of insulin... seems to work for us...

But as they always say: ECID!

There's a discussion somewhere on FDMB about this - if I find it, I'll post the link...
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97, +5 260

I tried both places. I saw an initial difference with a flank shot but it wasn't consistent. In addition, I didn't feel like I had as much control or accuracy shooting in the flank. Like Krys/Kasha, Gabby is prone to plummeting numbers and for Gabby, slower absorption, if that is indeed the case, is better.

I'd also like to be the spreadsheet police. Please get at least a before bed check every night. You have no idea how low Lightning's numbers went last night and whether that 97 was the low or the high of the cycle. Just because you see a pink at PMPS, doesn't mean the rest of the cycle is a write off.
 
Re: 7/23 Lightning AMPS 97, +5 260

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd also like to be the spreadsheet police. Please get at least a before bed check every night. You have no idea how low Lightning's numbers went last night and whether that 97 was the low or the high of the cycle. Just because you see a pink at PMPS, doesn't mean the rest of the cycle is a write off.

Yes Ma'am! I had been doing tests about +3 from the PMPS but stopped because I felt like I was super over testing him because I would test like 3 additional times during the morning/afternoon. His PMPS is 370 so I don't know where that is coming from after the 97 this morning....he's just all over the map today!

And thanks for the comments on the scruff vs abdomen shots. I think I will stick with the scruff myself, its really easy and Lightning barely even notices.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top