7/27 Nova - PS1=103, PS2=124, PS3=112

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dawn & Nova

Member Since 2010
Previous condo is who knows where :).

Hey guys, haven't been around for a while.. life and all..

Nova's doing really great.. Switched her to TID dosing a couple of months ago.. after spending months trying to get rid of the blue bookends at PS time.. upping her dose, feeding her through lows and still ending up blue at the next PS.. I've suspected for a while.. even back when I was active around here that lantus just didn't last the normal length of time in her.. it took her dropping to 28 at +3 even with early cycle feeding .. and back up over 150 by the next PS to get me to make the move (after a number of similar cycles - not bounces - just less extreme lows).. TID sounds so simple.. it's not for the light hearted I'll say hehehe.

Anyways.. over the last couple months we've been doing that (with a week "break" back to BID because Jerry got really sick).. and more recently (last month-ish) I've been what I thought was a lot less aggressive (found some information that normal range can be as high as 130 in mammals.. so stopped fussing over "greens" so much).. testing her less.. lowering her dose based on just keeping her in a safe range.. well.. she's been on 0.1U 3x a day for 48 hours now.. ironically enough it snuck up on me (+-0.1 changes).. it might work..might not.. I admit I'm a little excited.. but either way is fine with me. I don't keep a US units SS anymore.. only international units, so it's probably not of much use to people around here.. she probably generally stays in the 70-120 range. If anyone wants to look.. it's http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?...MMmY3dWc&hl=en&single=true&gid=14&output=html .. just multiply everything by 18.

Kitties in general are doing ok here.. Jerry is getting on.. more and more random problems.. living that long with heart disease.. everything's just slowly shutting down.. but he's still happy.. I'm still loving him to pieces... Hitch is still a crazy nut.. he had a few eye infections that because of his immune system disorder were challenging to get under control.. but last week he had a check up and he's healthy "for Hitch".. whatever that means haha. My biggest change.. I smoked for almost 20 years.. tomorrow will be my 3 month anniversary of quitting.. I used the extra money and frustration of that process (much to my dislike I had to go cold turkey, patch made me sick) to build an outdoor cat run out of a few dog run kits and some bits of my own.. that has been redesigned and expanded a few times.. think its about 150 sq ft right now.. all the cats love it. They can go in and out as they please.. made a custom window screen with a cat door for them.

This is one redesign ago.. but it's pretty similar:


I think about a lot of you a fair amount.. just trying to enjoy our very short summer and Jerry as much as I can before both of those run out.. so haven't stopped by as much as I would have liked.. hope everyone's doing good and hope everyone's cats are doing great!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1117.JPG
    IMG_1117.JPG
    49.3 KB · Views: 1,074
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Hey how have you been?? I see by Donovan's SS things are still going pretty well on that front :).

Nova detected me dreaming of sleeping in one day.. and decided to test 162 @ +3.. never a dull moment around here hahaha.
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

ohhhh, Donny is jealous of the outdoor playroom. But he's happy when I take him outside on his harness. Loves to sniff around, chew grass, and hurl it back up.
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Cat run has birdyvision and mouservision too! I dump various kinds of bird seeds on the grass (out of reach of the cat run).. so the cats can lay and watch the birds.. also have a few mice living in a crack between the house and sidewalk.. 2 as far as I can tell.. there was 3.. but one of them made the mistake of going to close to the cat run.. Nova is still pretty feral.. so that's how that went... she left it for me as a present.. she's so giving :).

Do like the grass hairball barfs.. the grass that comes up makes it easier to see so I don't step in it ;).
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Hey dawn
Well its about time you showed up, lol.
It has been a long time and I am glad to hear Nova is doing well and Jerry is hanging
in there too.
I had a peak of your ss a while ago, found it in an old post and noticed the TIB.
Max is doing well in his OTJ and I am a new mommy of a kitten I rescued last week.
She looks similar to Nova now that I think of it.

Enjoy your Edmonton summer and don't be a stranger.
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Dawn!!!!!!Nova!!!!!!!Jerry!!!!!!Hitch!!!!!!!

So very good to see you. I've thought a lot about how you are doing too!

TID....holy cow. I have to sneak in dinner but want to check out that ss. Glad to hear Nova's doing well too. So glad to hear Jerry holding his own.

Can I hire you to create an outdoor cat room for me? New York Times did a photographic spread of NY outdoor cat spaces...I think they missed the Edmonton rooms. :lol:

Will check back in later tonight.
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Hey Randi and Amy! Glad to hear Max is doing so well still. I thought of you guys the other day, with Max's out of nowhere OTJ.. Nova isn't wind sprinting to it.. she's more of the loud and slow type ;). Congratz on the new kid! Are there pictures anywhere for me to see? Amy.. looks some interesting times going on with Six atm ;).. nice to see another cat who didn't fall into OTJ off the bat, end up on trial anyways! :).. not to mention Six and Nova are "greens are for loozers" twins ;).

Yeah TID.. I was so nervous switching (really Dawn? you only tested like 12 times a day ahhaa :) ).. within 3 days I had a totally different cat and knew I did the right thing.. it was amazing.. I was front loading her with so much food to try to get a pretty curve.. it was just weighing her down.. emotionally and physically (yeah she's REALLY fat now :(.. we're working on that.. she's doing great )..

Ah the cat run.. one of the best things I've ever done for my cats quality of life.. they all love it so much.. Jerry.. who cries like a little girl if he gets a drop of water on him.. goes out during rain storms.. complains like crazy..but still goes out.. Hitch has done his best to control the cities ant population..considers it his purpose in life.. and Nova would rather go in the cat run then have breakfast in the morning.. often I have to go out there to test and shoot her because she's busy watching mouservision.. she also sings to the birds.. what a cracker.. and she gets a total kick out of getting tested out there, thinks it's the coolest thing. I have a lawn chair in the cat run and go lay out with them when it's nice.. they think that's pretty cool too :).

Yeah I need to post more.. don't think I get a condo.. Nova doesn't have an AMPS and PMPS.. so I think I would just confuse everyone.. I'll have to lurk and visit condos more though. I have checked in on LL from time to time during my absence.. will have to be louder about it :).
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=20108

Here she is Dawn. She was poted by a foster mom desperately needing a home
for her. She has CH (cereballar hypoplasia) due to feline distemper.
She was in Quebec, as if anyone here is from Quebec, lol.
She would have been PTS so I took her.
Can you imagine her 3 pounds to Max's 19???
Hey you on FB?

Your cat run just sounds so amazing. I bet my 4 would love that.
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

I missed you and didn't know what happened to you so I cheated. I found your old SS and saw you were switching over to TID dosing. You do know you are not alone in a custom dosing plan? You might want to take a look at Michell & Doodle's spreadsheet.

The cat run looks wonderful! I'm so jealous. I have a balcony and I doubt my condo association would appreciate my rearranging the outdoors. It's great to hear that you and Nova are doing well. I do hope you'll post more often. You can always list your pre-shots at PS#1, PS#2 and PS#3 -- we'll figure it out!!
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Aww Randi I'm in love.. she's adorable..and I sure do know what CH is.. that's what Hitch has :). I am well versed in some of the challenges of that.. took about a year (and a messy year at that) to teach Hitchie how to litter box leaning against the side of the box so he didn't fall in what he was doing.. It's pretty commonly said that CH cats can't improve.. don't believe it! (it's also said that FD cats don't go into remission ;) ) .. Hitch has learned to cope amazingly well.. I still encourage him to practice movements and exercises each day and I still think (3 years later) he's making improvements.. it's painfully slow progress.. but it's all about the big (and over their lifetime) picture.. but you are well versed in that sort of patience already.. a CH cat is a great fit for you imo :).

Yeah I'm on FB.. last name is Taylor.. not that uncommon, but I think you'll be able to find me :)..
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Sienne and Gabby said:
I missed you and didn't know what happened to you so I cheated. I found your old SS and saw you were switching over to TID dosing. You do know you are not alone in a custom dosing plan? You might want to take a look at Michell & Doodle's spreadsheet.

The cat run looks wonderful! I'm so jealous. I have a balcony and I doubt my condo association would appreciate my rearranging the outdoors. It's great to hear that you and Nova are doing well. I do hope you'll post more often. You can always list your pre-shots at PS#1, PS#2 and PS#3 -- we'll figure it out!!

I spy on Gabby every once in a while ;).. that cat needs to give you a bit of a break I think!!! I'll take a look at Doodle's SS thanks.. would be great to see another cat like Nova.. my husband and I ended up calling it PS1, PS2, PS3.. I couldn't really come up with anything else.. really early AMPS and AMPS and PMPS? ha.

Apartments are tough.. I lived in one when I first had Nova and Jerry.. got a custom cat tunnel made for the balcony that they loved but the balcony was abnormally large at that place. When I lived there I tried really hard to harness train Nova.. she just doesn't have the personality for it.. part siamese tortie through and through :).. what I ended up doing is late at night I would take her for an off leash walk in the hallway after all my neighbours were asleep hehe... something 'new' to do once in a while.. keep her mental health strong.. what I wish I would have known about then, is those cat/dog strollers!! would have been great to take her for a walk in that! Think Gabby has the personality to enjoy something like that?
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

So totally can't read the ss. :lol: :lol: :lol:

International units? TID? So confused. So glad U know what you are doing.

Congrats on quitting smoking too.

Noticed the chair in the cat space...it's for you and the cats? Too funny.

Pets to all of them, ok?
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Hi Dawn, Hi Nova! So nice to hear from you today. Stu missed his lovely Nova! Your new dosing schedule sounds too difficult for the mathematically challenged (like I am), but since you're a computer wiz you've got it under control. Your outdoor cat habitat is fantastic! Congrats on quitting smoking. I quit in 1974 after 18+ years and never looked back and never missed it.
It would be great if you came back to posting regularly. Hope to see you again soon.

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Amy and Six said:
So totally can't read the ss. :lol: :lol: :lol:

International units? TID? So confused. So glad U know what you are doing.

Congrats on quitting smoking too.

Noticed the chair in the cat space...it's for you and the cats? Too funny.

Pets to all of them, ok?

Yeah it's funny how strange even looking back at Nova's BID looks to me now :).. it's not that bad though.. the colour codes are the same.. with the ranges at the top you can probably get a decent idea what's going on.. I don't test at night.. was the one concession I had to make with TID.. with chronic onset insomnia it takes a number of hours to fall asleep.. and I need at least 4 hours of sleep a night to function.. just ignore the last cycle.. and pretend it's smooshed and it'll look more normal hehe.

Know what I'm doing.. ahahaha.. you are cute :).

Thanks for the congrats.. the first 2 months were really tough for me.. but it was definitely worth it!

Yeah there's actually two chairs in there. The camping chair is just for me, none of the cats took to it. Also the baby blue coloured thing in there is a fold up lounge chair that they like to nap under.. I unfold it and lay out there a fair bit and read.. tan.. etc ;). Hitch has made a really good dent in the ant population.. but laying on the grass is still not an option :).

One good round of Amy pets coming up! :)
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - AMPS=103

Ella & Stu said:
Hi Dawn, Hi Nova! So nice to hear from you today. Stu missed his lovely Nova! Your new dosing schedule sounds too difficult for the mathematically challenged (like I am), but since you're a computer wiz you've got it under control. Your outdoor cat habitat is fantastic! Congrats on quitting smoking. I quit in 1974 after 18+ years and never looked back and never missed it.
It would be great if you came back to posting regularly. Hope to see you again soon.

It's not that bad actually.. I just shoot at +8 instead of +12.. repeat.. repeat.. ;).. scheduling life around it.. a bit more challenging ;). It's weird how quick you get used to it.. when Jerry got really sick and I switched to BID.. it seemed like FOREVER between shots :).

Thanks for the congrats :).. I still look back and I still miss it ;).. although I think about it only a few times a day and more like missing an old friend instead of NEED IT OMG!! :).. and don't miss it anywhere near as bad or as often as I did when I actually smoked.. it's sure a real treat to be able to enjoy a full movie at the theatre without nic'n out ;).

I missed all you guys so much ;).
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - PS1=103, +3=162, PS2=124, +4=85

Hi Dawn-

I wondered what happened to you. I'm glad you're doing well. I don't come to Lantus much lately but I did today and I saw your post and was really surprised. I love your outdoor thingy. Amazing!

I got a new cat Merlin-he's a rescue Siamese. I've had him for about 48 hours. A total love, but is having trouble with the food adjustment - liquipoo. Poor thing.

Good to see Nova's gorgeous face again.

Congrats on quitting smoking. I did it via the patch in 1996 and it was challenging and I only smoked a pack a week. One time after I was done with the patch regimen I was having a craving so I put a patch on and got violently ill. It's strong stuff.
 
Re: 7/27 Nova - PS1=103, +3=162, PS2=124, +4=85

Traci and Boomer said:
I got a new cat Merlin-he's a rescue Siamese. I've had him for about 48 hours. A total love, but is having trouble with the food adjustment - liquipoo. Poor thing.

Aww I'm so glad another found their way to you.. Siamese.. again.. you are one crazy woman ;). Any pictures up yet?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top