8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423 +3 414 +4 528

Status
Not open for further replies.

kldanzi

Member Since 2010
Hello Lantus board folks!
I have to say I was browsing through the other boards today and you all have the nicest and best organized forum! I'm sure glad our vet prescribed Lantus!
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318

Ugh, I just realized that I bought the wrong food and it contains rice. *Siiiiiigh.*
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318

Hi!
Do you have the link for Janet & Binky's food chart? http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html
So glad you stopped by....we are many, but there is always room for more! :mrgreen:

Nice job on your SS...hope you will join us.....Welcome!
We post one thread (we call it a condo) each day...and we link the previous day's post to our first one in the morning. Updates during the day are added plus any questions we might have are also added to our own condos. Then, we run around and post in each other's condo and say hello. It's like a big family!
Have you posted on any other forum yet? Maybe you will tell us your name and a little bit about Bear!
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318

I have been here for a few days now. I checked out the food sites but alas, I have no printer and I was in a rush. Didn't see the rice ingredient until I got home!

Also, I am internet UNfriendly and still don't understand how to make a link to yesterday's post or even find it again without scrolling through everything. Perhaps someone can write me a quick "Dummy's Guide to Message Boards"?
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318

You might be able to return the food you haven't opened, even if you bought prescription stuff from a vet.

This could still be a bounce from the lower numbers recently, the dose is still settling.
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318

Ok...I found your post from yesterday...sorry I hadn't seen it before...
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21646

that's how it looks. You can click on it and it will take you to yesterday's condo. This is very important so that people can easily click on it and see what transpired the previous day. Make sense? That way, we are all linked to all our previous posts and it makes it much simpler for everyone.

When you click on a condo as you will do when you post in the morning, you will highlight the address at the top of the page. Then, go to the edit button and the drop down list will show "copy" and you select that. It then copies the address at the top which you will then post to the new day's post under "new Topic". Did you get that? :razz: When you begin your post, you just go to the edit again and hit "paste" and the link will print as I did above....it starts with http:/
Don't know if I explained it properly....I hope I did... :razz:
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

Experiment viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21738&p=215926#p215926

Probably should mention that I read the ingredients AFTER I fed because they were bugging me so much and I didn't realize it was different until I opened the can!

Rise in BG: Due to carbs or maybe because I fed a little more then usually? Bear is constantly bugging for food and everyone seems to feed them as much as they want until they get regulated so I thought I would give a little more?
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

Thanks for the link help! I have it now! Is there any way I can find my last post without scrolling through every post?
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

kldanzi said:
Thanks for the link help! I have it now! Is there any way I can find my last post without scrolling through every post?

there is a "view your posts" link at the top of the page

depending on which board style your setting is on:
1. prosilver:
top left corner, below the big FDMB logo,
there is a row that says board index < insulin aupport groups , lantus (glargine)
below that row: user control panel - view your posts

click on "view your posts" to see your posting history

2. subsilver2,
top right corner, look for the grey horizon bar that says all times are UTC - 5 hours DST (or whatever time setting you have)
above that, there are links for "view new posts", and "view your posts"
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

Welcome and glad to have you on board.

My Curry was also underfoot and was constantly asking for food for a few days. The hunger was her only observeable symtom that she had diabetes Previous to her diabetes dx she was on a Wt. Management food (high in carbs) and really wasn't getting enough calories either. She could not lose weight. It seems like since she started w/the low carb diet and lantus it took almost a week for her to settle down. And she is getting more calories. I'm still figuring out how much to actually feed them (Curry and her sister Sidney -civie kitty) too.

Somewhere on this MB there is some information about how much to feed your kitty. I'm using this formula for Curry....Her ideal weight should be 10.5 or so...So I mutiple 15 x 10.5 and it gives me around 150 calories....that's 3/4 of a can of wet EVO.....But I would also give her some protein treats/snacks during the day if I was home... And I do have some scales that I use to monitor the weight.

The folks here will have some good advice on this....
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423 +3 481

Ugh. It's either the food, the extra portion, or I went through the tent.... I think I went too far but then I backed up and didn't feel any insulin on the fur......

The number is on the rise but at least I am home to monitor tonight.... I wish that I had been home the past few days so I could see if this is a pattern or not.

Feeling discouraged.

Is there anything to do for poor kitty right now? I know he doesn't feel good. :sad:
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

Unfortunately, there's not much you can do but ride out the high numbers. Sorry! It's possible that this is a bounce from the blue numbers you had yesterday.

If you are going to be around over the weekend, it would be helpful if you could get a curve -- testing every 2 hours over a 12 hour period. This will give you a better sense of what Bear's numbers look like.
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

Hi

I'm sorry, I don't recall if you let us know your name?
Would you prefer we called you Kldanzi?


What's the brand and type of food that you're using?

Try not to feel discouraged. It does get easier.

And food management works very well.
Tracking the numbers on various types of food, based on a low carb range (under 10%) helps you see how diet can improve his health.

You're doing your best, and right now you're in a learning curve. You'll get there :razz:

Good idea Sienne - A curve on a day off would really be handy.
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

Don't get discouraged about today's numbers. Good catch on the realizing the food had rice in it....making a change there can help with future BG readings....you can call your Vet to find out how many calories your kitty should be eating......

One thing I remember my Vet telling me was that I shouldn't try to do a glucose curve the first week cuz the numbers might be all over the place....So if your kitty just started this, perhaps Bear's body is in this adjustment period.

You are way ahead of me by getting the ear poking down. I'm learning that trick still. Then I didn't transition Curry slow enough from dry, high fiber to canned, no fiber and she got a bit constipated and her GI tract is bit sore.....So maybe the rice (fiber) isn't too bad as Bear transitions to this new food.

So you and Bear are doing great w/this first week.
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423 +3 414

I was using Friskies Meaty Bits but grabbed the pates by accident..... I wrote down acceptable foods for when I go back to the store tomorrow.

My name is Kimberly.... I am not internet savvy and didn't catch on to the "first name, cat name" when I joined, haha!

Bear has been on insulin for 3 - 4 months now and I don't trust the vet at all. We transitioned to wet food once a day as soon as we realized the diabetes because it guaranteed that he would eat after the shot. Just this week we started twice a day but the kitties looooooooove wet food so it hasn't been too much of a problem.
 
Re: 8/6 Bear pmps 318 +2 423

Hi Kimberly!

I found some info about Friskies Meaty Bits.

Excellent choice to have. ---> In your hypo tool kit. They range from about 15% to 20 % carbs.
This can contribute to keeping Bear higher too
Anything with gravy, sliced, shredded, marinated is in the range of MC to HC.
As I said, good choices for your tool kit. :-D

The pate style are usually the ones considered LC (low carb)
Under 10 %.
Fish is low carb, however, should be fed on occasion thou due to health issues with mercury and phosphorous values.
Fish is addictive to kitties. Plus makes them picky eaters.

Good to have the rest of kitties liking the canned foods. Nice work!
Keep your dry way up in the cupboard. and reserve it for "kitty on a food strike" days.

Have a good nite!
 
I pulled some frozen raw food from the freezer for tomorrow AM.... does anyone else use a raw food diet and have any advice?
 
You may like to cross post that question to the health forum too.
Lots of members feed raw food.

And here in LL, you'll get more eyes on that question by adding it to your subject line, just do an edit and ask "raw food diet"?

Are you feeling a little better?
Hope you have a good nite Kimberly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top