Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, PMPS=69, +1=106, +2=97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry and Harley

Active Member
Good Morning!

Yesterday's News

Slept through the +5 test again...what can ya do...my body just doesn't want to get up at 3am!! Taking another 15 minutes off the shot time this morning, so be back in 90min.

Cheers!

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: +10.25=66, +11.75=58 Can't stall...

Ok...almost just shot that without asking, but thought that was a little ballsy of me, so here I am asking for input. I can't afford to stall...need the shot schedule to be 8am/8pm, and that ALREADY can't happen by Monday...can't back it up anymore! I shot a 63 the other night....should I just shoot this? Again, I was going to do it on my own, but decided to check myself!! Sheesh....in rereading this it sounds a lot like 'me, me, me'. Of course I want to do what's best for her...but may not be able to do that once the work week arrives if I can't get her schedule straight!!

Hurry (please)!! (+12 is 7 min away now....so much for shooting early)

s


UPDATE: +12=68...gave AM shot of .75u
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68

You probably already shot and I think that's fine. But you know ... in my gut I think Harley will be getting another reduction very soon.
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68

Thanks, Sienne. Just in case this happens again. Is there a 'don't shoot' number? Even if I'll be around to monitor? My gut was to go ahead, but then I started to second guess myself. I am really starting to worry about the schedule. She's doing so well, and I'm worried that will all go to crap on Monday morning, because I WON'T be around to monitor, so won't be able to shoot these low numbers. :sad: :sad: I don't want to mess up her progress...

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51

Nice shooting :mrgreen:
I'm thinking what CD is thinking, wait and see what happens today and tomorrow.





:-D
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51

Hi-

Surfing along...can someone take a look at my questions in my last post? Thanks!

Have a great day!

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51

Hi Sherry, I think we are watching what happens today and tonight. Harley is just itching for another decrease. :lol:

No shoot numbers are tough to say... exactly. Because you don't want to lose this beautiful momentum and yet you need to keep the kitty safe. With your current dose of .75u I believe there is enough room to shoot a reduced dose for safety on Monday. This is instead of a no-shot day. Generally speaking a token dose might work better than no shot... but if the shed needs draining, then no shooting is the way to go. I can't say which is the answer just yet.

Sometimes there will have to be a day of no shooting in order to drain the shed if the current dose has become too much. This is what I'm watching for today, tonight and tomorrow. You see what I mean?

Maybe someone else can give you an exact no shoot number... I would roughly say (for Harley) I wouldn't shoot below 70 unless I was going to be home to monitor. But that number might change based on today's action.
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51

Ok. We'll wait and see...Thanks, CD!

I'm assuming with these #s, I'm to keep testing every hour? Oh geez...nevermind...I'll do hourly tests to +6 and then give her a rest. It's only 3 more...(ok, crazy lady talking to herself...asking and answering her own questions!!)


s

Edit:
Why would the shed need draining? Is it bad for her that she's hanging in the 50s and 60s? Should I be feeding her more? Where would the optimal surf be? Haha....just had a rush of questions pop into my head! confused_cat
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46

Well, alrighty then! Guess that's settled! I just heard her say, "I'll be making the decisions around here!" :lol: :lol: I'll follow that up with...she also just ate a bit...so this is about 30 minutes after food. Clearly she wants another snack!! Will test again in 30min.

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46

A little HC would be good.

Unless you already gave her some. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46

Optimal surfing is probably in the 50 - 80 range although, surfing in the greens above 50 is very, very good.
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46

Lovely! Green and more green.

I made the comment about draining the shed because sometimes a kitty has a hard time staying out of the 30-40 range and then it would be good to drain a little. But so far Harley is doing great and I didn't mean to imply that she need draining at this time. (Sounds like I'm talking about a bathtub... hahaha!)

:mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46

Ok. Thanks for the explanation! I was hoping I wasn't doing things wrong. At any time, I could have given her extra meals to give her higher #s.

+4=46 (1/4 can 2% FF)
+4.5=41 (1/4 can 10% FF)
+4.75=51 (1/2 can 2% FF)--she only ate a few bites of this

+5 coming up in 10 min....

Ronnie, I usually only give her regular food and she comes right up. She's really carb sensitive, which I realized when I started marking the cans....even 4% and 5% carb foods would raise her #s. I'm expecting she'll be back in the 60s or 70s by +5 with all that food. We'll see!

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46

FWIW, I don't feed quite so much if I'm trying to bump up numbers. There's that balance between giving enough food to raise the numbers but not so much that if you have to keep feeding over a few hours, you cat is going to barf.
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46

nice cycle. :smile:

as far as a no-shoot number, it's hard to say because they can change all the time. I wouldn't shoot 40's (some people can, but not many). 50's, I'd rather do it for the first time when I can be home, so if I had to leave I'm not sure. 60's you've seen that Harley can handle just fine. And in the end, you'll go with your gut anyway, and your instincts are good.
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +1=59, +2=62, +3=51, +4=46, +5=79

Who knows her kitty?? :lol: :lol: Did I tell you she was carb sensitive? I think most of you still consider 10% low carb, right? Haha...10% is our gravy food!

I hear ya, Sienne...I didn't trust my knowledge of her and let my nerves win a little bit! She basically only had two servings of 1/4 can...super small amount.

Ok...back to Top Chef!

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +10=68 We earned a decrease, right?

Thought I'd start the discussion now, so I'm not panicking later, and since our shot schedule is so off, PM shot time is past lots of people's bedtime!! :lol: :lol: Who am I kidding, you east-coasters are probably already in bed! :lol: :lol:

Are we talking about a decrease tonight? Or should we stick with the .75u? I'm pretty sure we earned it, but want the official word from you lovely ladies!!

Hope everyone had a great day!

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +10=68 We earned a decrease, right?

Hang on. Looking... thinking... flipping coins... be right back.
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +10=68 We earned a decrease, right?

Two points away from a 'below 40' BG. I'm going to say take the reduction. :-D

She is doing so well this week. Your SS is a thing of beauty.
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +10=68 We earned a decrease, right?

This condo is a real learning opportunity. Thanks, guys! I've learned a lot from this discussion.

Ella
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +10=68 We earned a decrease, right?

Ok. If you're on the fence...we can stick with the .75u, though, I do think that if I hadn't fed the 46 and the 41, we would have 'truly' earned it. In the future, should I hold off on the feeding? We're not cheating, are we?

I NEVER even imagined that there would be a way to accomplish the things we're doing...I'm so excited about the possibility of getting my life back and getting her healthy again! I'm so thankful for this board and for all of you!! I'm kicking myself for not doing this 2 years ago....I was a long time lurker before actually joining. I wish there was a way for all vets to recommend this place to newly diagnosed kitties....ugh....I wish that all vets were as knowledgeable as you lovely ladies...it's a crime!!

Thank you FMDB....Ronnie, Sienne, CD, Libby, and everyone else who has helped us thus far!! You are our angels!! We still have a ways to go, but it's because of all of you that we are where we are right now!! Mwah!!

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, +10=68 We earned a decrease, right?

Seriously... you can take the decrease! We think if you had tested a few minutes earlier or later she very well could have been 38, 39. What is a point or two between friends, huh?
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, PMPS=69 New Dose! .5u

Done! Woohoo!!

Thanks, CD. Will keep you posted!! I'll try to get more #s tonight...been slacking off on the evening tests! (thought, I'm almost out of strips AGAIN!) :lol:

s
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, PMPS=69 New Dose! .5u

Congrats on the new dose :mrgreen:
You guys had an awesome day Sherry.
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/7 Harley: AMPS=68, PMPS=69, +1=106

Harley is looking good, you are doing fantastic! I would have gnawed my fingernails down to nothing if I were you, I worry shooting at a 97! :lol:
 
Thanks! I'm super happy about how things are going! Yeah....me too (about the shooting low #s), but I've embraced being a risk taker! Thankfully, I've got the data that supports shooting crazy low #s! So far, so good! I hope she likes her new dose as much as she liked the last one.

Cheers!

s
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top