08/09 Blackie AMPS 396

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Angela,

it looks like both Sienne and Libby agreed about going up to 2u (yesterday's thread)
Maybe tonight if you're home.
Keep us posted in case something wild happens today with Mr Blackie :-D
 
Ronnie, I'll be home today, so what you're saying is that I should increase her by 0.25u and give her the 2.0 tonight?

We're on our 6th cycle today, and tonight will be the beginning of cycle 7 if no increase is needed.
 
They left it open for you, you have the option of bumping up by .25u or .50u (nadirs are pink and red)

If you feel more comfortable, go with the .25u increase.
But again, see what happens in this cycle leading up til PMPS tonight, it might help you make a decision.
 
I was going according to the protocol before, hence the increase to 2.0 before going down to 1.75. I'll do 2.0 tonight because I'm sure that her #'s aren't going to go down much today.
 
349 @ +6 @ 11:40 a.m.

382 @ +9 @ 2:44 p.m.

Increasing dose to 2.0u tonight. This is getting ridiculous. :( I sure hope that she doesn't need 8u BID like she did when she was on ProZinc. :(
 
PMPS 399, fed, 2.0u

I'm sure that I'll see a red # tomorrow morning. Perhaps for about 3 or 4 tests tomorrow, for that matter. Wasn't able to get a ketone test today. Lil' bugger went before I could get to her. Need a bell for that cat, I tell you. :)
 
most cats end up needing a higher dose of Lantus than they do other insulins, so don't worry yet. Doses of 3-4 units, or even more, are common here, it's not scary high. Lucy's breakthrough dose was 4.25 and some go higher than that before they turn around.

Was Blackie on 8 units of Prozinc for very long? Were you testing then?
 
I hadn't started to test Blackie until June 22nd, and she was on 8u that morning, before the hypo episode that afternoon. At PMPS, I immediately dropped her dosage to 1, and changed her food from Hill's Prescription W/D wet to Fancy Feast wet that night. From June 22nd on I've started testing her. Before then, she was on 8u BID, and the vet didn't want me to test her. Wish I hadn't listened to the vet back then.

BLACKIE'S PROZINC HISTORY:

When Blackie was on ProZinc, she started out at 4u BID at the vet's when they performed the curve. May 22nd - 5u BID; May 29th - 6u BID; missed June 5th; June 12th - 8u BID; June 19th - stayed at 8u BID, and switched to Hill's Prescription W/D wet food; June 22nd - AMPS was 8u, but that afternoon is when she hypo'd, and I dropped her dosage (see above). I'd say she was on 8u BID for 11 days, or approx. 22 cycles. I think I remember giving her 8u the night of June 12th. I know that I had given her 8u the morning of June 22nd.
 
That makes 2 of us, Libby. I'm glad that I am now hometesting her, thank you to the help of a wonderful lady who came over and showed me how to use the monitor, etc. She lives about 45 mins. from me, and we've become good friends now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top