gary&vinnie
Member Since 2010
Vinnie is a 13-year old indoor/outdoor orange cat who was obese at 20# and developed DM this year with typical hyperphagia, polydipsia, polyuria and weight loss. Down to 14# now, no longer overweight. Started on PZI 3 months ago with poor control; AMPS in the 300's while bid PZI dose being increased weekly from 1u dose to 8u now. Never saw a nadir below 150 until this week (125). Changed from dry food to 2-3%carb wet food two weeks ago (12 oz/day). He still is a succesful hunter so he supplements his own diet. Finally now with AMPS and PMPS in the low 200's on 8u bid.
Bottle of PZI just about empty so got a prescription for Lantus today after reading about it a bit online. Got the U100 syringes. Vet wants to start at 3u bid, which is the usual starting dose, I know. Seems like we'll be repeating the long process all over again. She thinks Lantus dosing is supposed to be less than half of PZI. Hard to find references on doing the switch online. I did see an article by Julia Bates DVM, Glendale WI, recommending 50-75% for starters, which would be 4-6u for Vinnie.
Appreciate your thoughts...
Bottle of PZI just about empty so got a prescription for Lantus today after reading about it a bit online. Got the U100 syringes. Vet wants to start at 3u bid, which is the usual starting dose, I know. Seems like we'll be repeating the long process all over again. She thinks Lantus dosing is supposed to be less than half of PZI. Hard to find references on doing the switch online. I did see an article by Julia Bates DVM, Glendale WI, recommending 50-75% for starters, which would be 4-6u for Vinnie.
Appreciate your thoughts...