8/20 Lightning AMPS 165, +9 223, PMPS 202

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
OMG!!! It DEFINITELY was the insulin!! I even woke up at 3am this morning and just for "fun" took a +8.5 and he was 108!! I fed 1/4 can 4% and now for his AMPS he's at 137. Do I shoot? I'm not going to be home so I"m FREAKING OUT!!! I have to leave in 45 min's....my boyfriend will be him for 3 more hours and will take him +3....I will be able to come home and do a +5 or so and then I'm gone again until close to his AMPS.

I am feeding right now, 10% FF cause hopefully that will counteract any insulin I give him....If I do shoot, I'm thinking a small dose??

PLEASE...ANY SUGGESTIONS!!!
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning AMPS 137!! Do I shoot?? HELP!!

can boyfriend get a +1?

you've shot lower than this before on a higher doses....
if boyfriend can get a +1, make sure plenty of food on board and do an out the door check, that would be good

let's see what others can add
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning AMPS 137!! Do I shoot?? HELP!!

numbers prob gonna go up since you already fed, can you re-test?
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning AMPS 137!! Do I shoot?? HELP!!

No, he can't get a +1, he's sleeping right now and I don't want to wake him up. He's already on board to do the +3 though...made sure of that last night. In 9 minutes it will be +.5 and I will take another test. I am HOPING the number goes up, and then I will feel more comfortable shooting. Since it's new insulin I'm just worried...I don't know when the other one started to poop out and when I've shot at this low a number I'm ALWAYS home. Will get the +.5 number in a few minutes and post.
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning +12 108, AMPS 165!! Shot low! yikes!

ok, just took his real AMPS and he's 165....I feel a TEENY bit better with that so I shot a 1.25u and gave 1/4 can more 10%. Have to get out of the house in 15 mins so I'm not late to work.

PLEASE be good Lightning!!!! I don't need any scares while I'm not home!!!
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning AMPS 137!! Do I shoot?? HELP!!

ok, that's good, there's your rise......then you leave plenty of food out
and place the "wake up" alarm next to boyfriend so he gets that +3 :-D

you went with a BCS? that's ok too, whatever you're comfy with.
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning +12 108, AMPS 165!! Shot low! yikes!

For future reference, if you get a lower than expected/outside of your comfort zone pre-shot test, you have 3 alternatives.

  • Stall and retest in 15 min intervals (do not go beyond +14). Do NOT feed. If you feed, the numbers will reflect a food spike. You want to see a surf or rising numbers. Remember, if you stall, it effects the timing of your next shot which will be 12 hours from when you shoot.
  • BCS dose ((Big Chicken Sh*t dose). You can shoot a reduced dose.
  • Skip the dose
It’s best to not stall and give BCS dose since this depletes the shed more than either option alone. The best option is to shoot your regular dose on time IF you have the data, are going to be home to monitor, and have strips and HC food just in case.
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning AMPS 165, +2 171, +5 188

OK, back for the day! Lightning was cruising blue's all day/afternoon (thank god)! I gave him 1/4 can 4% @ +5 so I'm DYING to see what his number is going to be in a little bit at +9! Hopefully he's still blue, but I'll even take yellow, as long as its a low yellow.

Glad he did so well while I was gone, I was VERY worried all day at work! Looks like the 1.25u was good for him so I'm debating whether or not to stick with that dosage or go back to 1.5? Thoughts?
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning AMPS 165, +2 171, +5 188

Stick with the 1.50u. What you saw this morning is overlap from Lightning's shed. You may not get as good numbers this evening or tomorrow due to the BCS dose. I'd encourage you to bring the dose back up so you don't lose momentum.
 
Re: 8/20 Lightning AMPS 165, +2 171, +5 188

So what you're saying Sienne is - prepare myself mentally for crappy numbers? Check! :-D Don't want these blues going to my head or anything....I'll get used to them REAL quick! I'll go back to the 1.5 tonight and see what it does for us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top