8/23 Binks amps 460+4 387+6 366 pmps 427

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/23 binks +8 512+8.25 533+8.75 539+10 408

Hey - the only thing I can tell you about high numbers is to check for ketones! That's the big thing you need to do when they get that high...
 
Re: 8/23 binks +8 512+8.25 533+8.75 539+10 408

Morning Celi! :mrgreen:
How long until you get AMPS?
I have a suggestion for your heading...can you write 8/23 AMBG=408~question?

We try to show the AMPS first thing in the morning but since that 408 was not your preshot number, it is your AMBG morning BG blood glucose number. That will get some attention to your question. okay?
Good job linking yesterday's condo.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/23 binks +8 512+8.25 533+8.75 539+10 408

Hi Celi


what's this chicken comment on SS?

rewarding each bg test w/2 bites lean sliced chicken or 2 bites shwann's frozen chicken bits minus the breaded coating

what else is in this chicken? It's human chicken? deli?
just wondering what was in it.

let's see what your AMPS is like.

By the way, try not to make an update in your first post of the day EXCEPT the subject line.

Any written update just add a reply to the last post in your thread ok? that will bump your thread up.
HELP and numbers update can be updated on the first subject line.

And yes, check for ketones when you can, just to be safe.
 
Re: 8/23 binks +8 512+8.25 533+8.75 539+10 408

I am wondering about that frozen Schwann's chicken...or whatever it is....that might be giving a spike to his numbers but I am not sure....
In my opinion, you should only give boiled chicken or freeze-dried chicken as a snack. I never had to give my two any treats after the ear pricks. Most people do though...but rather than giving them something high in carbs, I just forgot about snacks. They did just fine.

Other than what you are feeding, the numbers should go down as time goes by, with increased insulin and whatnot. For now though some exercise can sometimes lower the high BGs...if you can get him to run around and play...that would be good.
And think about the carbs that are in the things you are giving for meals and snacks..and I would stop with that Schwanns chicken for now and see if it makes a difference in his numbers.
See if anyone else has some ideas for you....
 
Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 question?

hey, all-appreciate all the responses. yeah, the first thing i thot of (ok, 2nd thing) was that chicken. havent seen pkg yet...came from grandbean, but i tossed what was left. i'll ck pkg, but he really doesnt object to pokies, so maybe treating is more to make me feel btr. :)

havent managed ketone test yet, but will get one soon as he hits the box..

what the heck...i got a cardio workout last nite without having to exercise!

binks is always willing to play, so thats next..

thanks again for helping Binks ease his beans' nerves this morning!

Celi
 
Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 question?

Treats at test time are a good thing! Here's a thread on LC treats.

Having a cat sit consistently in high numbers is not an especially good thing. It means that there is glucose floating around in the blood. Over time, this can cause organ damage. Likewise, if an infection crops up, it increases the risk of DKA. It also can cause insulin resistance. So, sitting consistently in high numbers is not a good strategy.
 
Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 +4 387

seems pretty calm...hoping we will drop down to yellows now that we've had couple cycles at dosecrease to 1.25u. we're back to steady nerves and hoping for good colors.

celi & binks
 
Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 +4 387

I'm pretty sure we've never done a fur-shot, but wonder if its possible that i did so at his pm last nite. the u100's are a shorter needle than the u40's i was using...when a fur shot occurs, can you feel the dampness around the area u shot? i felt around immediately after i shot at 6pm, but it was dry and certainly felt like i had it in correctly when i shot..

any advice on how to be sure when a furshot happens?

celi
 
Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 +4 387

You might have gotten the short needles....but the u100 syringes do come in 1/2" needles too...either finish up with what you have now, or buy the longer ones. What brand are you using? I use the Reli-On from Walmart... 3/10mi./cc 29Gauge 12.7mm 1/2" syringes.

One thing about fur shots.... DO NOT EVER RESHOOT if you think you had a fur shot. We are never sure if any insulin got in, so it's best to just forget it and move on. If some insulin went in and you reshoot, you are overdosing your kitty. So, do not shoot again....okay?
Feeling wetness around the fur can be the best indication. The smell of the insulin can still be there from the needle sides so that is not always the best way to know. But generally, the numbers during that cycle will be high and that will be the best way to be sure that it was indeed a fur shot.

When we increase the dose over time, hopefully you will see no more of those reds. Later on, reds may indicate an inflammation or infection. The BG readings are a good tool for all that. You are asking very good questions Celi...and it is so good that you are posting every day! That's very important! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 +4 387+6 366

Venita supplied us with ones from hocks- Good Neighbor pharmacy brand that are short...but im getting used to them. And with all the help, knowledge and support you guys offer, posting daily is such a benefit for the B and me. it's sure helping us out, and we definitely appreciate it!

i didnt even really think about the furshot issue til this am...but in the lantus land lingo...i dont have BOS! ready to act to get him back toward health, but think i'll be sure ive got some knowhow guiding me...from here!

Celi and the B-man

last thing...forgot to mention this: last night just before his bgshot up, he seemed kind of testy about me petting his belly...never seen that in all his 11 years... seemed to get over it in about 15 minutes.
 
Re: 8/23 Binks ambg 408 amps 460 +4 387+6 366

also, with the daily posting...ive seen that there are often things y'all pick up on without a question being asked, so its a huge benefit for a newbie!

"send me your tired, your poor...your newbies on a learning curve..." :))
 
it has been 6 cycles on this dose, if nothing changes by morning I would increase to 1.5. Maybe that will kick that red to the curb. :smile:

Have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top