8/24 Checkers~pmps/490..dose advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/24 Checkers~amps/439

Good morning Barb and Checkers! Red is not your color there checks - so come on down and find something that looks really good on you. Mannie wants to make sure that you will be coming to the full moon party - he is counting on it. Stu has been working hard on some new recipes to celebrate the green corn moon. And everyone can wear green no matter what color they are. Have a great day today -
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~amps/439~+2/368

Tray met Checkers on the red floor this morning, glad to see Checkers has already moved down, come down some more now
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~amps/439~+2/368

Very nice report for Checkers! He is working his way down so that is a good thing....
(Barb...I like how you list the dose and his prev cycle numbers...makes it SO easy to see what's happening quickly!!)

Hope you both have a great day!! :mrgreen:

Oh, I almost forgot...party tonight, rain or shine...Full Green Corn Moon...
everyone is to wear green...no matter what their BG color is, okay?
Raja said they should all move to the Falls and if they aren't in greens, then they should fake it for tonight!!
This might be our first indoor fll_moon party if the rain doesn't clear up....
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~amps/439~+2/368..+3/258

439
368+2
258+3
216+4
Coming down :smile:
Discovered he's :-D crazy about chicken 'dust' on food, even tho he's been getting peices for treats at testing.
Thank you Pat. He hasn't eaten this well since.....well, ever. :-D

Having a hard time, getting to condos these past few days. Computer is so sloooooow, it takes forEVER for each page to load. Verizon repairman said once, it was because of antiquated underground phone lines, and so much rain.
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~pmps/490...kibble spike

439amps
368+2
258+3
216+4
201+5
278 +6
490+pmps
Just beat me with the rubber hose now, and get it over with. *sigh*. I forgot to pick up the civvies' dry. He couldn't believe his luck, I saw him go from one dish to the other, so don't know how much he ate. Oy Vey!
It was just about 1 & 1/2 hours before pmps.
With any luck, this post will be buried quickly and no one will see this. :roll:
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~pmps/490...kibble spike

:o

oh wait,,,I didn't see nothin'.

what did you say?
:lol:

Have some ice cream instead Barb!

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~pmps/490...kibble spike

:o

I too saw nuthin'... :?

don't worry - we've all been there. Mannie once attacked a bag of dry for my son's civvies that I had bought for him and had not yet delivered, ripped it open, had a field day. :? :? knew i should have put that bag up higher....

Checkers just got lucky today. :-D
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~pmps/490...kibble spike

hey Shadoe used to do that all the time, but I think she started to be used to feeling good with better numbers and then when she stole some kibble, she must have felt like she ate a dozen buckets of sugar.
I swear I could see her eyes saying "I can't believe I ate all that crap!"
She does not even go near the dry anymore.

I hope he has a belly ache for being naughty but I also hope it clears soon and the numbers come down nicely.
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~pmps/490...kibble spike

Hi Barb, So Checkers does get excited about some foods--too bad it's kibble!!! He'll be down again soon, don't worry. They're all having fun at the full moon party in the rain. See you tomorrow.

Ella
 
Re: 8/24 Checkers~pmps/490...kibble spike

I'm having some serious problems with this dose of 1.75. My gut tells me it's too high.
Back in april to may, he was doing so much better on 1 to .5 u. Getting blues and greens.

What changed, is a long story and I am trying to write in an Ambien haze.

My heart, and gut, and brain are screaming that I'm giving him too much insulin, and causing his bg to go higher, rather than lower. I feel his liver may be fighting back.
Those every day red preshots make no sense to me..

Would the dosing experts please weigh in and help me sort this out?

If this doesn't make sense I'll try again when I havent taken a sleep aid..

Thank you.
 
I hope Checkers wakes up tomorrow and thinks "What was I thinking??" Glad he's been eating so well (LC-wise). Sorry he happened upon and ate some high carb. It happens. He'll be back in business soon!
 
barb, i'm not seeing too much insulin here. what i am seeing is not enough insulin. what happened back in april and may is too long ago to make any difference now. when momentum is lost, whether it be from reductions not holding/spaced too closely together or bg's rising from a health related issue, more often than not a former "good dose" will be surpassed with a higher dose. the longer kitty resides in higher numbers, the longer it takes to bring them down... and it usually takes higher doses of insulin than kitty has ever been on before to bring them down.

it appears checkers lost momentum some time around june. just when you were regaining control over the numbers, checkers became sick. numbers rose. i think it's just going to take healing and more insulin to regain control. we have a saying around here, sometimes you have to go up before you can come back down again.

i've seen this happen with my own cat. so much so that as soon as i see her getting sick and the subsequent rise in numbers... i jump on it by raising the dose almost immediately. she's been down to as little as less than a half unit and i've had to increase the dose three times as much to bring the numbers down.

just my thoughts...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top