8/25 Checkers pmps/ 359

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23169

Ronnie, yes, still on Baytril
Jill, I will hold this dose for a while. Thank you both for responding to dose question.

last night
490 ps
360+2
328+2.5

Today
395/+11....breffis
441/amps...more breffis
Good eats...perfumed air in LB room.....purring, looking for lovin's. :-D

Hope all is well in LL today.
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers amps/395

perfumed the air, :lol: I love how delicately you put it.
Hope Checkers' #'s come down for you today
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers amps/395

Morning Barb! I hope that Checkers will start finding his way to the yellows for you...
Hang in there! :razz: Glad he is eating and having no problem with the LB action! :lol:
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers amps/395

Good morning! why is it our kitties seem to think that we want perfumed air in the morning... I hope you have a good day today, an that Checkers can find some of the lower floors today. Aim for yellow Checkers - it is nicer down there.
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers amps/395

well hey, it's pink and not red right? Come on down to the lower floors checkers, it's where everyone is hanging at!!
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers amps/395

Come on down to the lower floors, Checkers!
Hang in there Barb, he'll get back on track soon. At least he's eating and feeling better!
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers amps/395

Today
395/+11....breffis

One hour later....441/amps...more breffis
268+2
238 +
151 +4
He has snack/treats after all tests. I don't know how to feed to keep him in nice numbers :!: :?:
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4...advice please

I wish I knew what to tell you .. food is still a mystery to us in this house in the way of keeping mocha in good numbers ...
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4...advice please

Sienne is the expert on using food to control drops. What have you been feeding? Has he had all of his breffis? I adjust the carbs in her meals according to the tests, LC if a high number, MC/HC if dropping too fast. If he has had all his reg meals I don't know if more LC would help, it would just be extra on top of the other. I hope Sienne or Libby can give you a few more answers.

But nice to see Checkers in blue! :-D
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4...advice please

Ann, it's not drops that concern me. I would like to keep him from going back up. Is that even possible?
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers amps/395

Barb & Checkers said:
Today
395/+11....breffis

One hour later....441/amps...more breffis
268+2
238 +
151 +4
He has snack/treats after all tests. I don't know how to feed to keep him in nice numbers :!: :?:


Barb,

what was the food this morning? LC? Do you know the carb %?
can you note what he got - carb wise?
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4...advice please

Hmmm, I'm always amazed that Ann knows the carb count of everything Tess eats. I just have a list of foods under 6%, and that's all I feed. I assumed those are all LC. I would need to go back to Janet's list and note carb count of all the flavors I use.
He gets a variety of Fancy Feast.
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4...advice please

Lovely +4--Moonie's feeding habits are a mystery too--FF fan also!! All the Classic FF Flavors are low carb--That I know..
Great numbers today!! Go Checkers!!!!
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4...advice please

I just have the carbs on my list of foods that Tess likes, copied the info from J&B's list for just those foods. The only thing I don't know is what the Feline Futures Raw mix is, not sure how to figure that out. Really low though. I also write the carbs on the cans when I get them in. You have to go to the old J&B list for most of the FF flavors.

Anyway, if I want to keep Tess low I feed raw or very LC, but only if she is due to have a meal or late in the cycle, to kick start the pancreas. If you have some indication that Checkers pancreas is working a little, that may work. But just a tsp. or so. I don't really know if giving extra LC food earlier in the cycle works, it may just be increasing the carb load. The hard part is trying to stay one step ahead of that sneaky little pancreas. :roll:
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4...advice please

Ann, I always offer a little of LC, along with a bit of tuna or freezedried chicken, after testing. It started out as just a little treat, but for some reason, I thought the idea was to keep a little food in him throughout the day.
I haven't even been measuring. I think he probably eats about a teaspoon of FF + a bit of tuna, several times a day.

Just tested at 262 at +6....so, if I fed snack at last test of +4.....is that affecting his +6?

I need to write down every little thing he eats. I've been just noting , "snack" in his journal.
 
Re: 8/25 Checkers 151 +4... 262/+6

barb, I to thought that it was best to have food in the kitty throughout the day .. you can see in my SS earlier that I was giving snacks about every two hours and then I eventually cut back to two main meals and two snacks through the day. Peter told me mocha was probably on a constant food spike when I was feeding her every time I turned around. I don't know if that is true or not but I suppose it could be.

Mocha eats (or should I say, gets) 1/4 can at amps and pmps of a 5.5oz can of Special Kitty Turkey and giblets. At noon and 4 pm. she gets 1/8 of a 5.5oz can. Unless she is low or I'm trying to get her to surf ... then that throws off the whole feeding schedule ...

we'll get this one day barb!
 
I'm finding I have more control over his eating, since sprinkling chicken dust on his FF. Thanks Pat.
In the past, he would turn his nose up at everything. Fortiflora helped sometimes. I'd leave it out for him, and walk away. I never really knew who ate it.
I gave the Pure Bites, for after test, treats.
Today I've been measuring, and stand there while he eats it all. Amazing.
Now all I have to do is figure out how much and when. :roll:
 
hey barb .. glad to hear you found something that he enjoys eating! Don't feel bad about checkers being alone on the pink floor ... mocha is right there with him .. in fact, shes about two steps away from leaving him behind and heading to the red zone .. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top