8/29 Checkers pmps/301 +1/329 +2/349 3/359 ..+5/332

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23545

Good Sunday Morn, LL,
All is well in Checkers Land. Good breffis. Normal fountain drinking. Washed paws, and made mama change fountain water. Took nap on cool porch. Good hunter, found a kibble civvie dropped.
Depending on today's nadir, may increase .25 tonight.

Warm wishes for all beans and kitties.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319

Hey Checkers, Party tonight to cheer Ginger up while J.D. is away in California. We're grilling turkey burgers. See ya there!

Stu (p.s.: stay away from that kibble, man!)
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319

Checkers is kind to visit Shadow on the pink floor this morning. But seriously, I think Shad should be left alone up there...do not encourage him....and do not linger up there cause you feel sorry for him. maybe if you went to a lower floor, he would try to meet you there!
So, can you come to the party tonight Checkers? :razz:
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319

Checkers, you and Tray have to leave the pink floor okay? Not a nice place to be.
Let's see what you can do.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319

Checkers, there's really nothing great up on the pink floor, come on down from there! Your bean is talking about more juice, so you better get moving!

I hope the dosecrease threat will do the trick, Barb!
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319

A bit more insulin may not be a bad thing.

Could you also take a look at your pen? It's been about a month and I want to make sure you don't have any floaties. Checkers is looking like he needs a refresher course in Liver Training School and I want to make sure it's not due to toasty insulin.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319

Sienne, I started a new pen a couple of weeks ago, because I wondered if I had a bad one; but it wasn't the pen.
I check with magnifying glass before every use.
I also think a dosecrease is in order. .
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319...326+3.5.....303 +5

I feel like an idiot. Started using cartridges on 7/29. Wasn't getting results hoped for, with brand new insulin.
ON 8/20, I got suspicious of pen, and started new one, to see if that was the problem with bg's not lowering.
The problem was not with the original pen. His numbers were still high. I had used it for 3 weeks.
Kept it in fridge.
This morning I used the original, one month old pen.
He has been surfing pink all day.



Should the OPENED pens be kept refrigerated?
Manufacturer says keep opened pens UNREFRIGERATED.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319....+3.5/326....+5/303

wow - a pink day for you... come on down Checkers.

There is a reason that the box for Lantus says unrefrigerated. It has something to do with the portability and ease of use for human consumption, that it can be carried in a purse, etc. - I am sure someone one in the know will answer that. I have, just as a rule of thumb, always kept mine in the frig, whether pen, cartridge or vial. Right now we use the pen. I always change mine out after 30 days, though I know others have gotten more use out of one. I suspect toasty insulin when the numbers are erratic on a daily basis. Is it a bad thing that you used the old one? probably not - you can just pick up the the new one for this PM cycle if you suspect it the old is too old, and toss the old one. Perhaps it's just a pink day for Checkers... ?? And no - you are not an idiot...
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319....+3.5/326....+5/303

Hovering right at that tantalizing point. They do like to frustrate us. Tess is just below pink but won't go any lower. cat(2)_steam Good luck if you dosecrease.

I've also understood it that it can be kept unrefrigerated for 28 days, not that it needs to be.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers amps/319....+3.5/326....+5/303

286@+8. Never thought I'd be so happy to see yellow.

I called company and then remembered I was told before, that the reason for not refrigerating OPEN pens, is so people don't out them in fridge with needle attatched, to get contaminated.
It is perfectly fine to put the cartridge itself, without attached needle, into fridge.
I'm sure no one on here uses the needle on the pen.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers 5/303....321/+6....286/+8

Increased dose from 2 to 2.25. Used pen opened on 8/20.
Hope everyone has a good night. :smile:
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301

Shadow's on a f2.25u...I hope this dosecrease brings Checkers into some nicer numbers. Our boys didn't end the day too well with those pinks ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301

Checkers hasn't had decent numbers since he was on 1unit bid. Looking back at SS, I don't remember what made me start raising his dose.
I am seeing, that the higher the dose, the higher the bg. I am very scared.
My gut is telling me to start over with 1 unit, and hold to see what happens.
This just doesn't make sense to me.

Can I get opinions please. We need help,
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301 +1/329 +2/349 =3/359 help please

Hang in there Barb, no advice just support. Maybe ask again in the morning, it's pretty late out east.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301 +1/329 +2/349 =3/359 help please

I wish I could help you, but just can't advise. this will at least bump you up in que - but ask again tomorrow if no one responds tonight. Hang in there, OK?
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301 +1/329 +2/349 =3/359 help please

Barb, It happens sometimes, that you can try & try, but the numbers dont comply!!
Please dont get upset just yet--Moonie usually takes the full 6 cycles, 3 days to react to a new dose, and sometimes new insulin...Also, It has happened here that a cat was getting too much insulin, and it was driving the numbers higher--
I really think you should speak to other dosing experienced members here, to decide if this pertains to you.

Moonie has been on so many doses, I couldnt count, but is very blue right now & that is just fine--
This is an illness where the drug to help it needs constant fine tuning!
Dont get upset, I hope you find the breakthrough dose for Checkers--Big Hugs from us!!
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301 +1/329 +2/349 =3/359 help please

Thank you for support. I like to think of myself as a strong, capable, intelligent woman, but I am a trembling mess, when dealing with something so important, that I don't understand.

Okay, I'm done blubbering.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301 +1/329 +2/349 =3/359 help please

Barb --

I understand your concern. I was studying Checkers' SS earlier today and initially had the same thought -- what changed Checkers numbers? It seems like he wasn't holding his dose beginning around the gap in your SS (around 5/24).

I think Checkers' being sick certainly drove up the numbers. However, I do think he had already begun to not hold the dose and he may need more insulin at this point. I suspect you may need to be aggressive about dosing -- not holding doses any longer than absolutely necessary. It looks like you're home most days. Jill has been very helpful with getting Gabby's numbers into a better range. This means shooting as much insulin as is safely possible and using food to prevent Checkers' earning a dose reduction for as long as possible. You aim for getting blue pre-shots and greens mid-cycle and then work toward getting the pre=shots green. Michelle/Mannie have been using this approach, as well. If you want more info, send Jill a PM and she'll respond in your condo.

Sometimes, a cat will just lose momentum. Other times, it can take a fair amount of insulin before a break occurs.
 
Re: 8/29 Checkers pmps/301 +1/329 +2/349 =3/359 help please

Sienne, at the gap in his SS, I had missed 3 or 4 doses, because he was low, and I couldn't be home to monitor.
When I started up again, I assumed it would take a little time to fill the shed, but we lost momentum, and just couldn't seem to get back on track.
He was doing better on 1 unit, that's why I wonder if his dose is too high now.
I will write to Jill, and ask for info. Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top