9/4Binks +2 175 +3 178 +4 226 +10 221 +11 200

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

Great job Binks.

No advice on the dose as I'm a newbie here and ask myself and the board the same question every day :lol: :lol:

Hopefully someone will come around soon and lend a hand.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

couldnt get on last nite, so the ?? i had had to wait til this am...computer wanted nite off. wondered whether him throwing up 2 nites ago caused slower response to the dose.

also switched from relion to nova max yesterday...local wm often out of strips for relion. tested with both twice & the were within 10 pts of each other, but wont be able to get more strips for relion till today. any info on accuracy of nova max meter from members?
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

Get the retest since this is the lowest number you've seen as a pre-shot. We want to see if the numbers are surfing, dropping, or going up. Let us know how much time has elapsed since the 108.

Do you have plenty of strips and HC in the house and will you be home to monitor?
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

was 116 1st test, then 2 mins later 108. now (32 mins later) 112. and he did grab about 2 teaspoons food b4 i red this and got dish away.

plenty of nova strips, and home to monitor.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

and plenty of HC.

Silly-celi is pretty excited
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

what a great start to the day! I don't have any dosing advice but you got plenty of people here who will help you decide what to shoot!
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

It looks like Binks is surfing. If you're up for it, go ahead and shoot! Get a +1 and if that number is lower than your AMPS, get a +1.5. If not, get a +2.

Remember that you're shooting a little late and your PMPS will be 12 hours from shot time. (We can work on moving the time back.) This last number will be your AMPS
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

ok good.

And ditto to what Sienne suggested:

Get a +1 and if that number is lower than your AMPS, get a +1.5. If not, get a +2.


And remember, for next time you see a lower than usual pre-shot number, and you are stalling - NO food yet.
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

ooops...4got to ask. i test, then feed and shoot while he's feeding. do i shoot and hold the food this am? he hasnt eaten since last night, but isnt really begging.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

yes test, feed and shoot.

and only hold the food when you are stalling and re-testing

you can feed him after or while you shoot.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

Please -- feed Binks once you know you're going to shoot. We don't want any beans injured by starving kitties who attempt to gnaw on your testing hand! Like Ronnie said, you only hold food at shot time if you're stalling due to a low pre-shot number. You don't want your subsequent tests to be influenced by a food spike otherwise, you don't know if numbers are rising due to food or your kitty.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112

thanks guys. he's shot, fed and ready for a great holiday wknd. will get the +1.

even the computer seems to be cooperating :)

hope everyone has a good start to the day.

Celi & binks
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 108!! dose ??

Let's get your new AMPS number in your first post subject line.

Good job! Have fun!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112

appreciate the help...you guys are the best.

binks told me hez changing it to "Labor of Love" wknd, but he is so cooperative it's no labor at all.

Celi & binks
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119

sweet! hate to be the rookie and sound so new-to-this-and-loving-it, but...SWEET!

Celi & Binks
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119

That's a "surfing" +1. Remember -- your +1 "should" reflect a food spike. So, definitely get a +2. My guess is that Binks' numbers may drop. You may be having a pokefest this morning but let's see what Binks has to say on this matter.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119

thanks, Sienne. and thank the powers that be that Binks focuses on the "fest' word, and not the "poke" word. I truly feel blessed to have such a calm guy.

celi and binks
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 I Think ??

ok, i may be over-reacting, but i'm not totally trusting this new meter. at 8:36 tested 119 again, so i swapped strips quickly and tested the same drop...meter said 8:36 (it was that quick), but read 109. tested new drop at 837 and it was 107. is it normal for that to occur? and i chose 109, throwing out the high 119...should i check again in 15 mins?
celi
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 I Think ??

.

30 min is good.
is he eating ok?
your offering little snacks?

+2.5 is your next test time

Sienne did say you may be in for a Poke Fest :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 +2.5 3 diff #'s ??

dang it, my trust aint high in this meter...tested myself twice within 1 minute and got 113, then 111. but at 2.5 on binks 9:06 119, 9:07 diff drop 110, 9:08 diff drop 127. he was ticked at the 2nd & 3rd pokes. I'm thinking i need to dash out to walmart and get strips for the old meter but that will take me 30mins to 45 mins.

suggestions?

celi
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 +2.5 3 diff #'s ??

and yep, he's eating just fine...little snacks at +1, +2 and +2.5
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 +2.5 3 diff #'s ??

actually will take me 20 minutes to pick up relion strips...they got some and are holding them for me.

dont want to leave for them if you think i shouldnt, but im not experienced enuf to know if a swing like that in couple minutes time is normal
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 +2.5 3 diff #'s ??

you know you are gonna drive yourself crazy?
lol

I believe Carrie/Trouble uses your meter - the Nova Max

leave him an extra snack if you have to head out.
and get an in the door check when you get back.

if it's near +3 for you, you might want to check him thou
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 +2.5 3 diff #'s ??

too late Ronnie...i've been crazy for years! lol

will do on the snack...heading out now.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 +2.5 3 diff #'s ??

.

according to this thread from health, Carrie in June, she finds her Nova Max reliable.

viewtopic.php?f=28&t=16339&p=162429&hilit=nova+max+meter#p162429

I use a Nova Max meter (only needs .3 microleters of blood).
I think it was $19.99 for the meter and I find test strips online for a very reasonable price on Amazon.com with frees shipping.
I haven't heard a lot of talk about my meter online, but I feel it is accurate (I have tested every person in my family and it is always consistent).
I really like the small amount of blood it requires.
 
Re: 9/4 Binks amps 112 +1 119 +2 109 +2.5 110 +3.5 83

relion & nova agree...+3.5 was 83. and the hot air balloons just launched over our house for the local balloon festival...how cool. test again at +4 unless you think sooner.

and yes...i'm still thrilled for the boy.

thanks for the nova info...guess i could have saved the trip, but kinda like to have some surety :))

celi
 
Re: 9/4Binks +2 109 +2.5 110 +3.5 83+4 91metersdiffer

yep, you were right...i'm gonna make myself crazier than i was...gotta choose 1 meter or the other. tested each twice at +4...relion 96 nova 117 same blood drop then 1 minute later relion 91 nova 115 same blood drop. my instinct says go with the lower relion to prevent hypo, but looking for guidance.

wackier than b4 celi and relaxed binks
 
Re: 9/4Binks +2 109 +2.5 110 +3.5 83+4 91metersdiffer

thank you, ma'am...goin with relion, cuz familiarity breeds...(fill in your own noun here)

back at 4.5

celi and binks
 
Re: 9/4Binks +2 109 +2.5 110 +3.5 83+4 91 +4.5 97

hhmmm, how relaxing to make a choice and go with 1 meter. funny how they become the favorite tool in the shed!

celi
 
Re: 9/4Binks +2 109 +2.5 110 +3.5 83+4 91 +4.5 97

I'm proud of you, Celi Posturpedic! :lol: Look at Binks surf!!! I guess he wasted no time in putting his new knowledge to work. (He had been watching his friends at the beach the past few days...watching them surf and he gave it a try!) And what a beautiful job he did!

I use the Reli-On Micro myself since it read a lower that my original Bayer Contour. Raja was getting lower numbers and like you, I wanted to choose the one that seemed to read the lower number. Pick one and then only use that one...it saves the time and expense of double checking all the time.

Some people wear their meters on a chain around their necks for easy access :lol: ...frequent spot checks needed ~~ so a retractable meter was an important tool for some people, I won't mention any names...but she is better now that Luna is OTJ and doesn't carry it around her neck any more....:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

But, yes~~~they are an important tool in our sheds...that's for sure!!!
I love my meter...but I only have one unopened box of test strips as a backup and I am getting nailbite_smile I like to have back up boxes...it makes me feel so secure... LMHO
 
Re: 9/4Binks+2.5 110 +3.5 83+4 91 +4.5 97 +5 119

man, surfing seems to be his new love...thanks to all his teachers! i picked up a backup micro while i was there...gotta admit i thinki like it better and the price for strips is nicer than the others...

gonna give his ears a rest til +6 unless anyone thinks differently. he is understandably voicing protests at the number of pokies.


celi
 
Re: 9/4Binks+2.5 110 +3.5 83+4 91 +4.5 97 +5 119

Really nice numbers today. So it looks like Binks is on a surfing holiday.....Yeah, Binks. And Momma Bean too!
 
Re: 9/4Binks +3.5 83+4 91 +4.5 97 +5 119 +6 126

never been overseas, so i don't know if the Isle of Man is close enuf to be considered irish, but my baby experienced his first "wearing of the green" this am. Sniffle... lol

celi
 
Re: 9/4Binks +3.5 83+4 91 +4.5 97 +5 119 +6 126

Beautiful, Binks. You and he have earned a break. Now Binks, please don't copy certain other kitties around here and go skyrocketing later, m'kay?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 9/4Binks +3.5 83+4 91 +4.5 97 +5 119 +6 126

YEA!!!! BINKS!!! Surf on, buddy. We're surfing together today. Buddy system is best. Hang 20! ~~ Tess
summer_33-1.gif


Great that you got a backup meter. All meters are only accurate to 20%, so you do see variation even from the same drop. Stick w/ on and stock up on strips. Just found out mine is going to be discontinued so I'm getting a case. Good price that way too.
 
Re: 9/4Binks +4 91 +4.5 97 +5 119 +6 126 +7 158

I'm right there with you, Tess!! woo hoo!!

binks

so, hot air balloon race, beautiful weather, watching the boy surf. guacamole, cucumber/tomato sandwiches and cantaloupe fresh from our garden...critters cruising the back yard...this is the life!!! Binks, the Adoptocats, and i think you should all come spend the weekend and enjoy a little Northwest lazy days celebration. we've got a brand new grill for you, Stu!

and Ann, think a boy whose name starts with B has a little crush on Tess...he re-reads her posts alot. :))

celi
 
Re: 9/4Binks +4.5 97 +5 119 +6 126 +7 158 +8.5 185

O, foolish bean! Sneaky-B was masquerading as Sweety-B, crawled up on my chest, and gave such magnificent lovies that he lulled me to sleep.
so +8.5 we got...cuz apparently my endurance poops out when we rise at 5am!!

celi, and binks
 
Re: 9/4Binks +5 119 +6 126 +7 158 +8.5 185 +10 172

Whoops! i got my first half yelp/half snarl during ear pokies. been using right ear all this time and decided to switch ears to give it a rest...forgot that they're kinda sensitive the first few times. it bled like a trooper tho, and that goes a long way in offsetting the reproachful looks i'm getting. binks says "why don't you go to the fair or something? i'm tired of getting stabbed!" Sorry, buddy- you're STUCK with me!

(it's a holiday weekend...weak puns must be allowed, right?)

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/4Binks +5 119 +6 126 +7 158 +8.5 185 +10 172

Afternoon cuddles are your reward for early morning testing. Time honored and tested tradition!
 
Re: 9/4Binks+7 158 +8.5 185 +10 172+11 168

yeah, he's a great cuddler. he does the heart-to-heart chest position, puts his arms around the neck, lays his head next to the ear and purrs this deep soothing purr that couldnt be further in range from the high voice of his normal-speak. For a shy, unassuming guy, he is very quick to give comfort to even strangers when he intuits they need it. B4 dx, he spent some time visiting cancer patients, the HIV hospice, and an alzheimer's haven house. Never would have dreamed it to be his gift, as he is politely but adamantly reticent with most folk. makes it doubly special to me that we found you folks in our time of need.

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/4Binks+7 158 +8.5 185 +10 172+11 168 dose ??

hey

how long was your stall in total this morning?

and how long til you have to shoot PMPS?

don't forget - no food til you have the go-ahead!
you want a clean shoot number for preshot time.
 
Re: 9/4Binks+7 158 +8.5 185 +10 172+11 168 dose ??

so i better start now soliciting advice for next dose...

have read the sticky numerous times lately on shooting low numbers, but i cant seem to see a pattern in his readings. what do you all advise for the pm dose? not a problem monitoring him all night if needed (he gonna hate the pokies, but, hey...) i've got HC, MC, LC, and MC Hammer on hand (ok, not MC Hammer) have hypo kit ready...even have some of those Schwann's way-high carb chicken treats left in the freezer, lol.

thoughts?

Celi

stall was 40 mins...pm shot in 30 mins. will hold food til go-ahead
 
Re: 9/4Binks+7 158 +8.5 185 +10 172+11 168 dose ??

how cool that ur post came up while i was typing...im a slow keyboardist
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top