DOSING Question Chigga 9/9/10 PMPS~103 (NS) AMP ~ 343 (1.5u)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt)

Member Since 2010
Last Post:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=24390

Okay, soooo last night was not so good. Long story short - some crew members found an abandoned liter of 5 kittens - 10 days old, tops. By time they were found there were no places to take them in so I decided to bring them home for the night to nurse them and take care of them because no one else would. Well, let's just say Chigga was NOT happy about this at all. So by time I get home, take her PMPS and it's at 103 - which is the lowest number we've seen for her, I didn't know what to do. My internet was down, of course, so I just fed her and kept testing to see if it was safe to shoot. I guess it was safe but I didn't know if it was safe for the 1.75u so I just didn't shoot - also SHE WOULD NOT LET ME NEAR HER - which has NEVER happened. So I spent the whole night, feeding, bathing, stimulating kitties to pee and poop all the while Chigga is shooting daggers at me from across the room and when I would come near her she would hiss.

This morning Chigga's fine, kittens are now at a kitten orphanage where they specialize in raising newborns and then send them as a family to a good shelter to be adopted.

I know I don't have a ton of data but should I just go back to 1.75u for tonight? What if her PMPS is that low again? Why did her PMPS drop down that low and what should I do in an instance like that where it's been low 200's, high 100's then all of a sudden is down to 100 pre shot? Arrrggghhh. ohmygod_smile

I haven't slept so I am a ball of stress right now and worried about my Chigga butt - was excited to see the 103, just didn't know what to do with it! confused_cat
 
hey, chigga...my bean's worthless for advice but i was excited to see your name...dont know if i've just missed it recently. i dont blame you bout the kittens...we got 2 Adoptocats and the bean wont let me chase 'em, so i could do without 'em. besides, they get to go outside all the time and i cant. glad to see you, girl!

binks

nice of you to help the kittens...we're currently in boise where some evil teens have made the national news for the opposite...(may they rot in hades for their behavior.) the caring actions i see on the board help offset my shock and disgust for some of the things people do.

celi
 
When you have a chance to relax and get caught up on sleep (which you deserve for doing such a kind and generous things for those newborns), take a look at the becoming data ready sticky. That will give you an overview.

Basically, if you don't yet have the data to shoot lower numbers, you have three options:
  • Stall. Do not feed and retest in 15 min. You want to see in what direction numbers are headed. If they are rising or if your cat is surfing, it is probably OK to shoot. You repeat the stall and test every 15 min. until numbers are at a point where you feel comfortable shooting. You do need to keep in mind that however long you delay, your shot time the next cycle will be 12-hours later. Also, remember that a late shot acts like a dose reduction.
  • Shoot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is a reduced dose.
  • Skip the shot.
All of these options have an effect on the shed. What you want to try to avoid is stalling AND shooting a reduced dose since this had double the effect on the shed.

And yes, go back to your 1.75u dose. It would be no different than if you gave a fur shot.
 
That was very kind of you to save those kittens last night...I do hope Chigga will forgive you now that she sees that you didn't keep them! :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top