Blue Time! 09/12 Blackie AMPS 188; +4.5 166

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Blue Time! 09/12 Blackie AMPS 188

Since this is the lowest you've shot so far, please get a +1 and/or a +2 so you have an idea where numbers are going. Nice hooting!! Gotta love that blue.
 
Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
166 @ +4.5

I thought that Lantus is a slow acting insulin and I wouldn't see anything happen until about +3..?

It is a long lasting insulin. Without getting a +11, you dont know if that amps is a dropping number (from the long lasting effects), or rising from the end of the cycle. If you dont know, and shooting a lower number than usual it is wise to get a +1 or +2 so you can feed or prepare to monitor closely as lantus starts its onset.

Make sense?

Getting random +10's and +11's can provide you with a lot of information.
 
Very nice day for Blackie. Surf those blues Blackie!

True too on what Carolyn wrote - I am often surprised when I get Mannie's +10, +11. Been many times when that number has been higher than his ps number... good indication of where the next cycle is headed.
 
Beautiful blues for Blackie! The longer acting insulins have overlap too...when you shoot a lower number it is important to get a +1. As Carolyn said, you don't know if it was a falling number that you shot at unless you got a +11. Many times there is a spike from the food by the time you get the +1. However, If the overlap is strong and the number was a descending number, you might not get a big boost from the food.
At that point if there was not too big a spike, you might want to give a mini meal to stop a potential drop in the next hours.

Have you looked into the mini meals at all Angela? Some kitties drop suddenly and far...and people have found that feeding a smaller amount of LC at shot time, followed by another little snack at +1, +2 and +3 helps to stop the radical drops. You will then have a better control over a nice surf at the lower numbers.
The food keeps them on an even keel and eliminates the plunges. It is something to think about for the future since Blackie is making her way down to the pretty lower numbers. Does that make sense?
 
Angela...your SS says you shot 3.25 and last night's dose shows 4.25...so, was that a typo?
You didn't lower the dose, right? I didn't think so...
 
I think one of the hardest concepts to understand about Lantus is the concept of overlap. Individual cycles aren't that important anymore, each cycle is affected by at least 2-3 cycles before it. You have to look at the big picture and not at the cycle by itself. You might not be seeing much action from THIS dose by +3, but you could be seeing action from the previous dose. You weren't noticing it much before because Blackie wasn't at a dose that did much for her, but now that her numbers are moving you can start to collect some data that can help you learn how overlap affects her. That's why Cheryl and Ronnie suggested a +1 and +2. If you look around at others' spreadsheets, you'll see that some cats have big drops by +2. That is not so much due to the shot they just gave, but to the previous shot lasting longer than 12 hours in that cat. Once the cat is at the right dose, that overlap is what helps Lantus cats surf at around the same number for hours and days on end. The old dose might not be completely gone before the new dose kicks in. Cool!

Incidentally, the overlap and the shed make it sort of pointless to BCS doses due to low preshots. The shed action from the previous dose is still in effect, so this cycle will probably act more or less like a cycle on last night's dose, 4.25. The higher numbers from shooting a reduced dose today are more likely to show up tomorrow. We've all done it, because it makes us feel better, but it really doesn't have much effect on the cycle (maybe it will, because you shot a LOT less than your regular dose).

oooh, just saw Pat's post - is the 3.25 a typo? I hope so!
 
No, the 3.25 was not a typo. I didn't want to shoot 4.25 for fear of her hypo-ing so I dropped the dose 1 unit. These blue #'s are extremely new to me, and I'm feeling apprehensive about shooting 4.25 when she's at a good #. I don't want her dropping into the 20's again.

I don't think I'll ever understand the concept of going by the #'s from 2 or 3 cycles prior to the current one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top