9/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56,+8=160, +11=209, pmps=253

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: ADVICE please! Chester's amps 131

It looks like he's surfing in the blues.

There are 3 things you can do:

Not shoot.

Stall and retest (without feeding). This will throw off your schedule, but if you have the weekend off, you can adjust it slowly back, over the weekend. When he has risen enough so that you feel comfortable, you can give his full dose.

Shoot a BCS (BigChickenSh*t) shot.

Are you still there?
 
Re: ADVICE please! Chester's amps 131

Yes, I'm here...was feeding other kitties.

Chester is eating now, but hasn't had a shot and is only nibbling. He seems to want to go off and be his normal, curious self and not interested in food. I will be home today (except an hour or so...have to go to the vet) but I can time that according to him.

What is a Big Chicken Sh*t shot?
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Other people are better at describing the 3 choices then me, I was just in a hurry to write them for you.

If you're going to be home, I (if it was my cat) would shoot the full dose. You shot the full dose the other day at PMPS, and you were home to monitor him.

A BCS would be a reduced shot. Most people would use a BCS if they have to leave and can not be home to monitor.
For Chester right now, a BCS could be 2.00 or 1.75. But, if it was me, I would shoot the full dose, as long as you are prepared (not that anything is going to happen) with lots of test strips and HC and Karo.

Others will be along shortly to help you more, than I can. But feel free to ask questions.
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Thanks!

The problem is, I only have 23 test strips! I have 200 ordered (I use AlphaTrak) and 100 should be in today, but you know the mail.... I could probably get some more when I run to the vet.

I'll try to coax him to eat more and then shoot the 2.25. I'm already 30 behind schedule... Isn't diabetes "fun?" :cry:

He just ate his breakfast. About 40 minutes late.
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Good morning Jaye

When you get a number that you are not comfortable shooting or is too low you have a couple of options like Dyana described.

1. Stall, DON'T FEED and retest in 15 minutes to see if the number is rising. The reason you don't feed is so you don't have a food spike number.
2. Shoot a BCS dose which is a reduced dose.

Skipping a shot is an option but is usually not advised unless the other 2 are not possible,


Have you retested yet?
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Normally, when in doubt about a number, people usually do not feed, wait 15min and then test again to see if the number is rising, holding, or dropping. The logic is that once you feed, the numbers will rise, so you may think the rise is natural, but it's only food and food will wear off.
I like to see 2 tests in a row of numbers on the rise, and I like to see a fair bit of a rise in numbers, not just 3 or 5. For mine, if I see a couple 15's in a row, I feel better.
But, no food during that decision time.

It's a good idea to have a no-shoot number, so you know when you get such a number what is safe for you to do.
We'll see what Miriam and the others have to say about the ss
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Shoot! I already fed him...and his shot is now late. Should I still retest and then shoot or just go ahead and shoot? His dose was just reduced last night to 2.25 from 2.5. Perhaps I should have reduced a full one half unit instead of a quarter?
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

He usually eats at 5:15 with shot at 5:30. He just ate at about 6:10.

I get the new number in a jiffy.

editing in: He just tested 182. Feeling like I can give the 2.25 now, right? I use the Alphatrak, so that runs a bit high.
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

I just realized you are using Alphatrak. Do you know about how many points higher it runs than a human glucometer?
I think if you are going to be home and can get a +1 and +2 you should be good to shoot.
Will you be home past +2?
 
Re: ADVICE please! 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Yes, I'll be home and just gave him the 2.25 (which is our new reduction that we started last night).

I usually do comparisons between the Alphatrak and my OneTouch Mini for Chester. The difference in numbers is variable and sometimes seems to be completely random. Sometimes it's as little as 2 points, other times as much as 22. I'm uncomfortable even making a guess. I see around 12 pts difference a little more often than the other wild numbers, though.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's amps 131

He should be fine. However, I'm not an expert here. LOL Not by any means. Chester's going to be fine. He, and you, are in wonderful hands. :)

I've shot a BCS before, and felt better for it, even though she bounced. I'm starting to feel comfortable about shooting full doses on lower #'s.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Thanks for the support. I'll admit, I was surprised by the number this morning..actually by the numbers last night as well. I'm suspecting his dose reduction will rear it's ugly head with higher numbers eventually, though...
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Sienne and Gabby said:
It looks like the bounce cleared fairly quickly. I hope you see more of that blue surf.

Yes, I was rather surprised by that.

Is "seeing a lot of action" something that I want to happen or not? :?

Luckily, I see by the UPS tracking that my strips "should" arrive today. It's frustrating when you know you have 200 on their way, yet are down to your last 20 and don't want to pay the vet prices.

Wish I could find a place that ships the AT strips more quickly. Hocks is fast, but they don't have them. I use American Diabetes Wholesalers and they are SLOW.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Hi,
I also use the Alpha Trak and started ordering from Amazon.com, and they came quite fast. I had better service from them than my Vet, as the Vet's office had to order them. Amazon was a little cheaper than the Vet and more reliable.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Amazon, hm? I'll try it. I pay $117 for 100 strips (including shipping) from American Diabetes Wholesalers.

I just snuck a peak at your SS. I'm completely jealous!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's amps 131

Do you have strips for your OneTouch Mini ? That will do in a pinch...you will have to notate the different meter in your notes section though. I see that he is up to +1=217
Which is your actual AMPS number this morning...that would be the number you shot at. (the first reading you got would go back into the box from last night...at +11 with a notation in the notes section that it was actually a +12. You can then make a note in today's date regarding how late the shot was.

Tonight, you will shoot 12 hours from the time you actually shot.

That is approx 30 point rise between the 182 and the 217...can you get a +2 check please? And post that update if you can please...looking good! :razz:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182 (1 hour late)

Okay, hope I got the change in the thread title the way it needs to be. Kind of tricky figuring this stuff out for me.

I'm going to get a +2 in a couple of minutes. editing in: Just got a +2 at 141. Are we still okay? (He's bringing me his toy as we speak and demanding to play)

Question, though... Feeding/shooting an hour late is going to end up being a problem considering my morning schedule. Can I start adjusting him back by 15 minutes or so tonight? I can't have him eating/injections at 6:00 or later daily because that's when I leave for work.

I have tons of OneTouch Mini strips...and Freestyle lite strips (that work in the AlphaTrak...same company...but not as reliable as they used to be before they were "improved" and less reliable for Chester than for my dog).
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182

Are you off this weekend? Depending on the +11 that you should get tonight, maybe you can move the shot time up 15 minutes...but if I were you, I wold check back here with the +11.
that 141 shows a pretty good sized drop from the +1. Can you feed him a mini meal of about 1 tablespoon of LC food now?
It is best to use food to help keep the drops from happening too quickly by too much. make sense?

Feed him at +2 now and then test again at +3....and if I were you, I would sit on him a little because crazy activity tends to lower the BGS quickly. (good to know when he is high, but he is dropping so see if you can read to him calmly..LOL...or something to let him relax!)
Will be looking for your +3... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Are you off this weekend?

Yup, I'm home today (sickly) and off this weekend. He just fed himself a mini-meal, but I'll see that he gets a bit more.

Funny that the only cat in my house (and I have...uh, SEVERAL) that wants to do anything but sleep right now is Chester. I have never met a more dog-like cat. He fetches (continually) and returns things, he rolls over on cue. But even the dogs are sleeping now. :smile:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182

Not yet...do you have HC gravy in the house? It would be good to offer him a little gravy to bring that up a little. You don't want him dipping lower.... Test again in 15 minutes please... and post the update in your header too: Date, name Amps and add the updated hour and number, okay?
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182

No, these are AlphaTrak numbers. The same craziness we had the other night when he was on 2.5 units.

I just gave him some Avoderm but maybe that's too low in carbs. I'll give him a bit of HC gravy as well and get right back with you when I've tested again.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182

Here is the link to the active condo from yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25089
the link you have in your first post goes to the duplicate condo you had. Maybe you can edit your first post when yo have time...

do you have karo on hand if needed? and plenty o gravy? we give only the gravy so they don't get too full. In case we need to give more gravy later to bring the numbers up...
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182

Okay, updated link and title. Yup, I have Karo, as well as plenty of gravy. I'll check him in a couple of minutes. That little stinker!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3 (54)

:lol: you can put the new number in the body of your post too ya know!
I hoe he isn't running around any more... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3 (54)

47! Time for Karo?????

Just gave him a syringe (3.0 cc) of Karo. No hypo symptoms yet.

Vet advises to give another 3cc in 30 minutes and maybe even another in 30 more minutes if he's not rising. I know he needs a meal to supplement the Karo, but he just got one a few minutes after our first low reading (56) and then HC gravy following that. I'll test in another 10 minutes and see where we are.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

I would have probably tried some LC or LC topped with gravy first. Karo is the heavy artillery. Test again in 20 min and post the numbers. I'm heading out to work and can't reliably check in with you. I think Pat's around as are others. This is not a panic situation. You'll be fine!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Oops! He's already gotten the Karo. I'm all panicky now because my meter runs higher than most people's here, so he would conceivably be even lower. I've only used Karo once before so this should be interesting. At least it seems like the Levemir is working on him better than the Lantus did...or I'm doing things more slowly...or?

This is NO fun at all! :shock:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

That karo will no doubt go to work...breathe now.
this is good data for your notes section.
You are in contact with your vet, right?
Keep a close eye on him and keep checking ...even if the number goes higher, we want to make sure he doesn't dip again.
Post your next number for us...you are doing great!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
That karo will no doubt go to work...breathe now.
Oh, I'm supposed to breathe too?!! :lol:
You are in contact with your vet, right?
Yup, my vets even check my spreadsheet daily (at least) to see how he's doing. I called her and she expects me to check in a couple of times and definitely at pmps.
Keep a close eye on him and keep checking ...even if the number goes higher, we want to make sure he doesn't dip again.
When can I feel safe enough to go to the bathroom? :-D Is there a number (seriously) that I can exhale?
Post your next number for us...you are doing great!
Thanks!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Does Chester lap up the gravy willingly when you offer it to him?

(maybe you can take a bathroom break ... I will too...) meetcha back here! :lol:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Yup...he enjoys it FAR more than the Karo. I'm off to do the next test (I'm cringing at the thought of his poor ear). I don't say "ears" because lately I can't get the left one to bleed at all.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

i agree! you are doing great - and can breathe now. :-D

for me, when I run into numbers like these is offer a small amount of food, gravy food. It too will bring numbers up. Just keep checking, and posting what you are seeing. There are lots of folks here to help you out.

I also think it is so nice that your vet wants to be involved. very very nice!

Good luck - good job!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Well...drat!

The Karo brought him up alright...to 136. Poor boy must feel like a basketball.

Wondering if I should follow up with food, even though he just had some (about 1 heaping tablespoon LC followed by a level TBSP of HC gravy) right when I first noticed him dipping.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Glad he brought himself up with that karo...but I do agree that food is in order...
can you offer him some LC now and see what he does with that?
The karo is empty carbs really so he might dip when it wears off...no telling when that will be ECID...
so give him some LC food now and check him again in a half an hour, sound good?

PS...that is good that you took the (!! out of your header...you are really on top of thins, right? Great job...
but it isn't over yet, k? You will still need to keep an eye on him for awhile...
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

He just ate a good heaping teaspoon of LC but I doubt if he'll want any more for quite awhile. He seems pretty full. I'll check him again in 30 minutes (might even be able to take time myself to shower!)

Question: Considering that I'm still trying to bring him down from a way too high dose, and that he's now been on the Levemir for two weeks, AND the fact that he just went low again even after a reduction last night to 2.25, depending on tonight's reading, can I realistically be looking at another reduction to perhaps 2.0?

I understand the logic of going slow, but I've obviously passed up his optimal dose originally, so is it possible that the reductions could come a bit faster than normal?

I'm terrified to leave him to go to work on Monday if the past few days are an indication of what his current dose is going to do, even with an autofeeder.

Michelle and Mannie said:
I also think it is so nice that your vet wants to be involved. very very nice!
I actually have three vets (all at the same clinic, of course). They sort of "tag team" me, but I can't say enough good things about all three. They are all very pro-active and have helped me to overcome some pretty intense phobias (needles!) I am even able to give my CRF sub-Q fluids because of their confidence in my ability to do it. Thank God for great vets!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Using the Alpha Track, the reductions come with a number that is <80.
People will be around later I am sure to discuss the dose with you...so maybe post the +11 and double check the dose...okay?
(I do believe there is a dose reduction with the Alpha Track for any numbers <80.
If he goes high over the next few days, the dose will have to be raised back up but if you feel that you started too high, then these low numbers are an indication that a lower dose would be better for him.) but double check with the experts, k?

Keep an eye on his numbers through the day though....any idea when his nadir is? (Shadow's on Lev is +8) But it can change if the dose is too high...so that is not written in stone with Lev.
Most likely, he will bounce from the karo. Don't worry about that....
See you soon!

(did you say shower? :o what a splendid idea!!) :lol:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

Just wanted to chime in with some moral support. It sounds like you're keeping good watch, paying attention and taking steps to remedy the situation. You're going to be alright and so is Chester. We had some low #s with Jack two nights in a row, and I know that in the "during" time, Yoshi and I were both pretty stressed out. Don't forget to take cues from Chester -- how's the whole cat doing? Not just the #s. If the #s are low but he's otherwise doing alright then keep staying on top of things, but don't worry yourself into a tizzy. I've been trying to remind myself before I do anything to just take 1/2 a second to check in and see if I'm responding to the situation or reacting to my panic.

I'll be around today since I'm keeping an eye on Jack as well.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

nice job this morning jaye!!!

and good job to you too, chester.

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, +3.5 (4

You folks are the absolute best! It sure helps with the peace of mind to know people who have "been there, done that" are there to help. Thank you!

Chester's +4.5 is 207. Not unexpected, and I'm sure we'll be bouncing again, but it's a lot better than the 40s.

Yes, in answer a question above, I do believe we started him way too high and the numbers I've had the last couple of days I'm guessing are agreeing with me. I guess we'll see what tonight's pmps tells us.

Keep an eye on his numbers through the day though....any idea when his nadir is?
The trouble with that is that I don't think I've ever had a "normal" (whatever that means for him) day. We're still trying to find the right dose from a too high start so the nadir has been an elusive thing. Today's craziness, I'm afraid, won't help with the "Great Nadir Search of 2010" either.

At least I'm virtually certain that my new test strips will arrive in today's mail. That's a relief!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

You did a great job Jaye...
My vet started shadow off with 4.0u bid Vetsulin back in aug '09.
Raja was started at 3.0u bid.
She actually got sick and vomited on the 5th day so I stopped the insulin altogether for her for a week.
I found the forum during that week and it was suggested to me to start her at .6u bid...the Vetsulin is a U40 insulin as you know.
I learned to home test the two of them and she worked her way down from that, the highest dose she was ever on during my testing time. i shudder to think of what that THREE unites did to her that first 5 days. I am lucky to still have her here cause I knew nothing...squat..nada and the people here helped us find some sanity!!!
We switched to Lev in mid Sept and started her off at .2u...she had her OTJ party on Dec 5th!!!!

A lot of vets start kitties off at higher doses. :o testing the BGs and going slow is the safest way in MHO.
I am so happy that you are testing ~~ you are doing a great job!
I am going to take my shower NOW. (DH left to go golfing 3 hours ago...it would be nice if I was a least dressed when he comes home!!)
Time flies when you're having fun, doesn't it? :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top