9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +4:20 50 +5:20 77 +6 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksDads

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
Hey all, so far so good. Hopefully will have the chance today to do a decent curve and see how Jack-o's nadirs are looking. Got some questions about glucose meters/testing

We've been using the Walgreens True2Go meter and we recently got some new test strips and 4 out of 5 times we get an error message to test with a new strip. It is making us crazy, each test strip costs about 70¢, so it adds up fast. Have people had this issue with this or other meters? Can you return test strips because the batch seems to be garbage?

Yesterday, Yoshi brought home the Walgreen TrueTrack, to give that a go. When we do a spot check with both meters and the same blood sample, the TrueTrack is consistently 150 higher than the True2Go with Jack! We tested ourselves and Jack a few more times. With us the TrueTrack was consistently between 3-10 higher. We're staying with the lower #s for now, better to think we're 150 under and shoot lower.

We're incredibly frustrated, and don't really know which numbers to trust at this point. We also don't want to go buying meter after meter and keep getting more confused.

Do the newbie kits include a glucose meter that people have found to be reliable? If so, how do we get one? Or are there meters that people have known to be reliable?

Thanks!
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

Many of us are using the Reli-on Micro meter from Walmart. (I personally would go back to the store and speak with the manager for a refund if you think the test strips are faulty...and return the meter to them as well for a refund!!!!)
I have heard the drug store brand meters are not as reliable as the Walmart. The meter is $12 and the strips are $20 for 50. I love my little micro and the test strips seem to be available all the time now. I also buy the Reli-On Walmart syringes 3/10 ml 29G 12.7mm 1/2" syringe..100 for $12 I think and the lancets as well.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

With the dose that jack is on and that low AMPS, i would get a +1 and post the number here once you get it...
I am glad you will be home to watch jack today.
The Evo and the raw might be bringing his numbers into a very nice range now...when did you switch over?
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

I hate to tell you this, but at least according to a Consumer Reports review of glucometers, the pharmacy brand meters are not reliable. Several people here have had difficulty with the Walgreen's and CVS brand meters -- they are the same manufacturer.

Many people here use the Walgreen's(oops) Walmart brand (Relion) meter. I've been using a Bayer (formerly Ascensia) Contour. When I researched meters, what I looked for was one that used the smallest amount of blood, "sipped" quickly, and processed the results quickly. FWIW, I spend less on strips than you are spending. I buy my strips on-line through Amazon or Hocks or Ebay.

I would check on the meter manufacturer sites as well as search for coupons or deals at Hocks or Amazon. Both places ship quickly and often you will find a good deal on getting strips and a free meter. Lori sends out the newbie kits, which include a meter, strips, lancets, etc., pretty quickly but you'd have to ask her how she gets her meters. I typically think people donate them or she has coupons for free meters.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

Mornin' Jacksdads -
typo in Sienne's post - ReliOn meters are from Walmart. The strips are $20/50. If you have a Sam's CLub, they are $18.56/50. I used to be commited to NOT shopping at Walmart. They don't treat their employees well down here, plus a host of other things. But where Shadow's well-being is concerned, I can put all that aside. I started out with a more expensive meter and the cost was killing me, plus the strip supply was unreliable, so I had to choke it back and buy the Walmart meter. I am very happy with it. It uses a TINY drop of blood, the size of pin head. Over time, you get to looking at trends as much as the actual numbers as meter variance can be up to 20%. That is one of the valuable things about the spreadsheet. In the end, I was very glad I changed meters. Mine is the ReliOn micro. You guys have really jumped in with both feet. You're doing a great job with Jack.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

I use the ReliOn supplies ( syringes, meter, strips, ketone sticks, lancets) from WalMart too. Couldn't be happier, price is right, & always regularly available. I also get insulin at WalMart and they even honor my AAA membership discount. I do have to order the insulin several days in advance though just to make sure I have it in time as there have been logistical problems with stocking & transporting it from their main distribution warehouse. I have 2 meters, the Micro & Confirm, and a backup battery in my box of stuff.

I am pretty sure Sienne meant to say WalMart with ReliOn in her post...

PS Kim thanks for the tip about Sam's club!
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

JacksDads said:
We've been using the Walgreens True2Go meter and we recently got some new test strips and 4 out of 5 times we get an error message to test with a new strip. It is making us crazy, each test strip costs about 70¢, so it adds up fast. Have people had this issue with this or other meters? Can you return test strips because the batch seems to be garbage?
Thanks!

I have had strip errors on my Accu-Chek meter before. I phoned the customer service number from the manual (or you can get the number from there website)
I told them about the problem and they sent me out a free box of strips. Depending on what the error number was, they were going to also send a new meter.
I also had the same problem a while back with the Freestyle meter and the company did the same thing.
It doesn't hurt to call the company. Both companies told me that strip errors can happen due to temperature changes during shipping.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

I wonder what would happen if you made a stink in a nice way, of course, :oops: with the manager at walgreens...would they refund the money for both the strips and the meter? That's what I would aim for. What good are new strips if you are doubtful about the meter's reliability...
I bet that if you tell them it's for your kitty they will do something to help you get your money back... :razz:
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

Hey everyone, thanks for the information. I think I'll ask Yoshi to pick up a ReliOn on his way from work, and yeah I think we should be able to get something back for the meters--the walgreens we go to is small, they know us, we still have the receipts and one of the pharmacists also had a diabetic kitty.

Had to step out for a bit and wasn't able to get a +1, but the +2 is still at 168. I'll check out his +4, 6 and 8 for sure. I really want to see what we are getting for Nadirs.

Am I correct in understanding that in so far as the curve allows, the goal is to stay as close to 80>BG>50 without going under 40?
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
With the dose that jack is on and that low AMPS, i would get a +1 and post the number here once you get it...
I am glad you will be home to watch jack today.
The Evo and the raw might be bringing his numbers into a very nice range now...when did you switch over?

We switched him to raw around the same time that we started home testing--the "funny" thing, he'd been eating almost exclusively raw for a long time, and then when Sawyer came home we switched to free feeding dry: Sawyer was very shy and we wanted to make sure that there was food available for him. We were using dry evo.

Shortly thereafter, Jack was diagnosed. We asked the vet if it was possible that the switch from raw to dry was responsible. She was skeptical. The more I learn, the more that I wonder...
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 Glucose Meter Question

any good retailer will take care of the problem for you...and Walgreens mission statement is "to become the largest pharmacy retailer in the nation while keeping our neighbors healthy and happy"...so you ought to see satisfaction from them. and i use the relion...a blessing for a newbie like me. (i am utterly convinced that the colored lancets work better than the bone-colored valu pak ones, tho...both relion brand)

celi & binks
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 ???

Did a +2:30 and was 178, now 0:30 min later down to 75? (tested twice, 1st was 77) He ate a full breakfast, that seems really abrupt. He's no lower energy than always. No particular indication that he's taken a sudden plunge. Oh well, we're stocked and ready, will keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 ???

I feel certain dry food is to blame for Shadow being in this pickle. And when we changed her to wet, we changed all the civvies as well, (can't keep up with it if they eat different things), and they have all dropped some weight and are more playful. It's work tho, to get them off the dry. They love those crunchies.

There have been lots of kitties on here that have quickly become diet-controlled diabetics with the food change alone. Ultimately Sawyer will be better off if he can learn to eat the same stuff you are feeding Jack.

As to the BG drop, Shadow has one regularly about +3-4, at the onset of her insulin action. Seems like Jack is in that time range about now - another valuable thing the SS will show as it gets more and more filled-in.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 ???

Try feeding some LC to him now...and check again in a half an hour, okay?
Please come back and post the new number if you don't mind....

Just asking...do you have HC canned food with gravy available? Karo syrup?
asking because we sometimes use the gravy alone to bring up the numbers if they dip too low.
We feed ONLY the gravy from the can so as to not fill them up in case we need to give them more gravy.
We test every 15 minutes at times when their numbers are dropping.

that was a nice catch ...good job!
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +3:30 58

update: +3:30 is at 58. Will continue keeping a close watch. He's being a sleepy snorington, but then again he pretty much always is.
Is it possible he's earned himself another reduction already?
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 ???

JacksDads said:
...Am I correct in understanding that in so far as the curve allows, the goal is to stay as close to 80>BG>50 without going under 40?

The ideal range is somewhere between 80-120..that is to say, a normal non-diabetic ct will fall in that range normally each day. Some are even lower !!
With FD we do try to aim for the lower numbers...anything under the 180 is considered healing numbers for their pancreas.

However, the priority is the dosing Protocol here...and we do not change doses in radical jumps. in order to get those numbers. It is important to go slowly with increases and decreases. I see you started on a pretty high dose as per your vet I assume?

We usually start low and go slow with the increases. Going up increments of .25u per increase. The reason we go slowly is so that we do not pass by the ideal dose by upping the dose too quickly or by too much.

It is very important for you to watch Jack closely...a number <50 will earn him a decrease in dose by .25u.

I am not a vet myself, and hesitate to contradict the dose that was prescribed to you. I will leave that discussion to the experts for now. But IF this dose is too high for him, he will have lower than normal numbers in order to indicate that you need to lower the dose.
So it is important that you keep testing ....the data is important for dosing suggestions...keep up the good work! :razz:
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 ???

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Have you given him some LC food?

do you have HC gravy on hand?

he ate 3 oz primal raw for breakfast. We have HC gravy on hand.
Should I feed him more raw?

Also, he has perpetual nasal congestion (since before he joined us, back in 2005) but today he seems more cloggy than usual.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 ???

We feed the lows...so yes, more food now and when you test again, can you upate your header to show the new number?
Another test 15 minutes form the last test would be good.

When we notice they are dropping, we feed them LC to stop a steep drop...
So, you did not feed at +3 when I posted for LC??
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51

ok, he's at 51 now (+4), gonna offer some raw and see if it does anything. gonna update ss so that 3.5* is S3.5U

edit: he refused to eat raw, gave him a bit of fancy feast with some yogurt--chowed down.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51

When a kitty shows big drops in the beginning of the cycle, some people have had success slowing the drops and softening them but giving mini meals at +1, +2 and +3....if you feed a little LC at those times mini meals we call them, the BGs tend to stay steadier.

Food is your friend...it can help bring the numbers up. So, we give the LC during those early hours and we test each hour. If they do go lower, we give them a teaspoon or more of HC gravy only.
so we will watch the next number you get to see if you will need to feed more and maybe top it off with some HC gravy.
(we use only the HC gravy from the can so they don't get too full ...inc ae we need to give more to brig up dropping numbers.)

The switch to lower carbs, particularly the raw can make a stunning difference in their BG numbers. With some kitties, the switch to lower carbs is all they need to keep them in the healthy range even without insuin! It was so good that you switched over.
(my vet 13 years ago told me that the dry keeps their teeth clean and that's why I had to fed them that alone! UGH!! what a mistake that was!)
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
(my vet 13 years ago told me that the dry keeps their teeth clean and that's why I had to fed them that alone! UGH!! what a mistake that was!)

Ditto. And tell me how many upchucks have you found with INTACT KIBBLE in it? :roll:
It's not like they actually chew on it.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51 +4:20 50

+4:20 : 50 and he ate about 2 tbsp of Fancy Feast with a bit of yogurt mixed in. He's perked up a little bit. Will keep an eye on him and check again in 15
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51 +4:20 50

yup, totally meant + 4:20, will correct. Thanks for catching that.

+4:45 he's at 60. Will keep watching, but I think we're in good shape.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51 +4:20 50

Nice job! :thumbup
I hate to be a pest, but do you think you could just add that new BG number to your header, k? many thanks.

Oh, and I decide on a great bumper sticker .... It will read:
NEVER TRUST A SURFING CAT!!!
Of course NO ONE will know what it means except for us here on the forum...right? :lol:
But do keep checking him and think about what I said earlier about feeding mini meals.

Jack might be tired of this dose so please keep an eye on him and retest again in 1/2 hour and post that number too, ok?
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51

Ditto. And tell me how many upchucks have you found with INTACT KIBBLE in it? :roll:
It's not like they actually chew on it.

Ditto on the upchuck with intact kibble. I wonder now if that is some sort of grain allergy. Only one of mine did it but he was consistent with it. Now that he is on wet, that has gone away.

Sorry, Jacksdads, didn't mean to hijack your thread.
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +2:30 178 +3 75 +4 51 +4:20 50

see, jack?? actually no reason for you to be jealous of binks' SS... :))

great job, guys...

and great job on the guidance, Sugar-Pat! you're always so good to help us through these...

celi & the-cat-o'-nine-names
 
Re: 9/17 Jack AMPS 168 +4 51 +4:20 50 +5:20 77

Sorry about not updating the header--I have no problem being pestered to post in ways that are consistent with the group. It makes it easier and more accurate for all involved!

Checked again, he's up to 77 now. I think we're doing alright.

And no worries on the thread hijack--We are people after all, sometimes we digress ;-)
 
Jack has been getting some very pretty numbers... Sometimes, their Liver reacts to unusually low numbers by "bouncing" up to higher numbers. That is just something that we have to grin and bear.
so,do not be alarmed if you see a red or pink.

But Jack..you do not have to bounce boy....it would be so nice if you stayed in a good range tonight...so if you are reading this, please try to stay on the lower side, okay? :razz:
 
I'll for sure pass on the message. So far he hasn't been much of a bouncer--he's to chill for anything that dramatic. Still, sometimes he likes to pull a prank and surprise us. Will keep an eye on him for sure. Thanks so much for your being around today and checking in. It's been soothing to know that others are keeping an eye on us.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top