Re: DOSE ADVICE 9/19 Chester's amps 277,+5=311,+11=114
I can't comment on dosing, but I just wanted to suggest your trying a 5compartmant auto feeder. I do not separate my cats, and 3 eat the same wet foods, totalling ignoring my putting their own bowls down. I do start the morn by giving them a good breakfast before leaving for work, then leave a big bowl for Oliver, a bowl for Apple the kitten, and then fill the autofeeder for Shadoe. Because they sleep at different times and only she seems to know the feeder turning sound, chances are good that she gets most of the food in the sections before the others realize there is food now available. It works out well; Shadoe is still fat, not losing weight, but can afford to lose a few lbs.
Also, here is a part of the protocol, to remind you of the guidelines for dose adjustments, just in case the time happens you need to decide on your own some early morn. Usually, an earned reduction needs a number around 50 to be valid, and for shot time, you need to have a no-shoot number, or something that suits your cat's patterns:
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.