9/20 Checkers pmps/405~+1/377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25366

last night
438 pmps
282/1.5

Yay, pink instead of red! Doesn't take much to make me happy :-D

Himself is a bit more active..translation, pissy, this morning. He's got a new habit. He jumps up on the table, for test, lays perfectly still while getting stuck...then slaps my hands, when I'm done. :lol:
He followed me around the house, then turned around, and cussed at his little brother, for following him :lol:
Even with the red last night, he felt good enough to beat the crap out of his cube, because little Clancy had the nerve to go in it. :lol:
Oh, how I love that snotty boy. :smile:
Oh yeah, breffis eaten.
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392

It might be that Checkers will have to study harder in LTS. these bounces in reaction to the blues are very dramatic, aren't they?
Are you still having trouble with your SS? That is so annoying...I keep clicking to look at it and then I see that it is not current.

:idea: Oh, I have an idea Barb!
To make it easier, can you list the recap of the night if you cannot update your SS? I think it's a nice idea anyway, to list what numbers you recorded from PMPS during the PM cycle...and the dose too...makes it so easy to see what happened, especially if you cannot update your SS. (Michelle does that all the time with Mannie's numbers....maybe look at her condo and check it out...)
Not many people for it that way, but it is a convenient way to see quickly what happened...

So, did he go to blue last night at all?
I think the pink is a reaction to the blues and then he goes to yellow, right? Instead of cursing the reds and pinks, maybe we should say "WOW...look at that healthy Liver!!" :lol: The Liver is doing the job it has had for so long.. It has to be trained to relax a little with the numbers that are stressing it. Eventually, it will cam down when it gets used to the blues...and then he won't bounce any more.
You are welcome to look at Shadow's SS and see the way his Liver is not bouncing as high as it used to....(antijinx!!) but it was from driving the numbers into blue and greens enough times that the Liver finally gave up fighting against the pancreas.
Chester will do the same eventually...you are doling a great job!
I know you will be watching him this morning too, right? :razz:
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392~+1/360

Pat, SS is never updated in the morning, because it takes too long to play games with. Sometimes it won't let me turn off the 'puter, even. Nothing I can do about it.
I list the day's numbers, as you suggested. I just rarely list last night's because I normally get only a +1 & +2.
I will put those in my morning post from now on. Thanks :-D
Seems like his liver should be used to blues by now. He isn't new at this insulin thing.
This is why I've often wondered if he is getting too much insulin. Drives me nuts, to not know the WHY of things.
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392~+1/360

hey, that pink looks a lot better then red that's for sure! I'm glad to hear checkers was feeling a little bit better last night. It's so nice to see them feeling better! I hope you guys have a great monday!
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392~+1/360

Honestly, I think you started off at the best dose, which is the 1.0u right? And you worked up gradually in the smaller increments. I think that you did all the right things Barb. The protocol has the plan laid out and if we follow it, eventually, it will bring the numbers into a better range. It has been successful int he past...why not with our own kitty? No reason that it wouldn't work if we follow it.
I honestly think that if you were giving too much insulin, his numbers would be much lower...dangerously low.

If you just keep at it, upping the dose gradually, you will reach the breakthrough dose....
I think that when you increase gradually, you get a lower curve going. The more time they spend in the healing numbers, the better off they are and healing will take place. You just have to get up to the right dose. As you inch up the dosing ladder, you will have to pay more attention to their numbers and intervene with LC food to keep the numbers up. When they go low in spite of your giving them food, then they earn a lower dose. right?
You will have to tweak the dose again if they won't hold the dosecrease. It is a fine tuning of the numbers. It is frustrating no doubt. But you are doing the right thing...keep patience in your heart....and make that Liver relax...
I know it works Barb....I just don't know WHEN it will work...and that is the exciting part. ECID and it is wonderful that you are doing things the way you are doing them! He is holding steady in the pink now...he is probably gearing up for the drop ,right? :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392~+1/360..+2/262

Thanks Pat. I know what you say is correct. He'd be crashing if he was getting too much insulin. I just have to keep reminding myself to be patient. :smile:
After a +3, I'm out for the day. Left food in automat for +4. He doesn't eat when I'm not home, but I left smelly fish in the feeder, and he's been batting at it. :lol:
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392~+1/360..+2/262

It seems like when Checkers got sick in August, he lost momentum and hasn't gained it back. For some kitties, it takes more insulin to get back the lost ground.
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392~+1/360..+2/262

I'm sticking with protocol!!
amps 392
+1/360
+2/262
+3/195


The little bugger, did it again..raced under the bed, when he detected I was going out. I am wearing everyday clothes. I walked slowly in the room, so as not to arouse suspicion. I saw him peeking at me.
The only thing different is I have on hairspray. Next time, I won't use it, and see if he still knows.

So I had to put his +3 snack near the bed, so he'll not drop too much, while i"m gone.
Gonna be gone a few hours. Leaving LC in automat for +4. I doubt he will eat it, hence the food by the bed.
I'm off!
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers amps 392~+1/360..+2/262

So true on all of the above. Eventually it will all even out for Checkers. Patience has been the hardest thing for me to learn.

Very nice +2 for Checkers! Keep at it there fella - you are doing great, Mannie say HI!, and hopes maybe you can come and surf with the gang.
 
Re: 9/20 Checkers 1/360..+2/262..+3/195..+7/239

amps 392
+1/360
+2/262
+3/195
+7/239
Not a bad day, so far. Fed a little at +7, when I got home. IF that raises pmps, I'm not going to get upset this time.
Gonna update SS now....that'll take an hour. :roll:
 
Hi Barb, I'm a little late getting here this evening, but it looks like Checks had a nice day today. And this evening he's out of the red and on the way back, maybe, to blue. Yes, to BLUE!!

See you tomorrow,

Ella & Sty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top