JacksDads
Member Since 2010
Most Recent Condo
Ok, lots to report
1) A couple of days ago we switched to the ReliOn Micrometer from Walmart. Immediately noticed a HUGE innacuracy in the Walgreen True2Go. While the True2Go is fairly accurate in the <100 range, as you get into higher BG values, it is dramatically under-reporting. When the ReliOn was showing 400, the True2Go was showing 200! We tested on Jack, on ourselves and based on the overwhelming success others have had with the ReliOn, reviews from people using the Relion to manage human diabetes, and our own observations it is our opinion that the True2Go should NOT be used
2) Jacks #s the past 3 days have been...peculiar. We haven't been able to do a good curve the past few evenings, but he's been in the red before his shot and in the morning he's been LOW. We haven't given him an AM shot for 3 days running because his pre-shot number has been in the 30-60 range, and with those #s there isn't a dose that I currently feel safe giving him without being able to stay and watch him carefully. In the mornings, other than being a little bit more urgent about demanding food and not having to be reminded to finish his breakfast he's pretty much acting his usual self. Nothing to indicate that he's hanging out in the danger zone.
2a) Based on hisAMPS AMBG the past couple of days, it seems to me that he has earned a reduction for his PMPS--my understanding is that it would be much better to be giving a smaller dose twice a day that resulted in a flatter curve, rather than a larger dose once a day, even if the nadir was staying "safe", right? I'm thinking, take him down to 2.5u this evening and really try to get a good curve from him so we can see what his BG is doing over the night.
2b) Is it possible that he's actually trying to somehow go OTJ already and that his giant # in the evening is the result of his liver producing a spike in reaction to the AM lows? It seems like a very big time lag, but thought I would ask.
le sigh.
Ok, lots to report
1) A couple of days ago we switched to the ReliOn Micrometer from Walmart. Immediately noticed a HUGE innacuracy in the Walgreen True2Go. While the True2Go is fairly accurate in the <100 range, as you get into higher BG values, it is dramatically under-reporting. When the ReliOn was showing 400, the True2Go was showing 200! We tested on Jack, on ourselves and based on the overwhelming success others have had with the ReliOn, reviews from people using the Relion to manage human diabetes, and our own observations it is our opinion that the True2Go should NOT be used
2) Jacks #s the past 3 days have been...peculiar. We haven't been able to do a good curve the past few evenings, but he's been in the red before his shot and in the morning he's been LOW. We haven't given him an AM shot for 3 days running because his pre-shot number has been in the 30-60 range, and with those #s there isn't a dose that I currently feel safe giving him without being able to stay and watch him carefully. In the mornings, other than being a little bit more urgent about demanding food and not having to be reminded to finish his breakfast he's pretty much acting his usual self. Nothing to indicate that he's hanging out in the danger zone.
2a) Based on his
2b) Is it possible that he's actually trying to somehow go OTJ already and that his giant # in the evening is the result of his liver producing a spike in reaction to the AM lows? It seems like a very big time lag, but thought I would ask.
le sigh.