9/22 Checkers pmps/339

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25531

yesterday...2.75u
361/amps.....breffis
384+1...snack
301+2...snack
277++3...oily tuna, diarrhea
166+5.....bit of roast turkey
177+6.75
125/pmps.....dinner (7:30)
9PM...LC Fancy Feast...no more food for night.

In my wildest dreams, I would not have imagined him dropping after nadir. Of all the times..the cycle before a dentistry. No food, no shot!
This morn he was 425, not surprising. I wonder how long it'll take to get back on track. *big sigh*
Little Clancy is walking around calling his brother. Tux couldn't care less that Checks isn't herel :lol:
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...425

Good luck with the dental. Keep us posted.

Depending on what's done today, you might want to get some baby food in the house. It's easy on the mouth after a dental and even if Checkers' teeth are only cleaned and polished, it's an easier treat than something chewy.

Remember to get a test as soon as you bring him home so you'll have a number to compare his PMPS to. And, you want buprenex as a pain med if he needs pain meds.
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...425

At least his dental won't be canceled!! :lol:
He will get back on track...but, he will have better numbers though...after the dental, right?
I do hope so!
When do you hear from them and what time will be able to pick him up?

When you get him home, feed in small little meals first...don't give a large amount or he might get sick.
If he is acting all dopey, put him in a darkened room and let him recover quietly. (My two were always chipper and fine after the dental...each kitty is different...) Get the BG number when you get him home as Sienne said....
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...425

Sending good dental vines for Checkers today! Try not to stress over what you can't do anything about....easier said than done, I know! He will get back on track, and hopefully the dental will help his numbers. Hang in there, Barb!
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...425

Dental day? Oh good luck with that - I am hope Checkers does well - I am sure he will. I'm always such a nervous wreck when they go for dentals. Checkers will be fine. Bet he wasn't too thrilled with the no breffis - Mannie always sits there with the sorrowful look - "why not me?"

Hey Checkers! Sorry for the dental man, but you will so do glad when it is done, and your toothies are all clean and shiny again. it's all good, so don't worry - OK? See you later! I will have to come and visit and help you get rid of the vetty smell. See you!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...425

Checkers' last dental was just 6 months ago, so I'm not expecting anything too awful. He's always had a problem with tartar. That poor boy has had so many extractions, already.
Looking for a good report this time. :smile:
I'll pick up some onion-free, baby turkey, when I go to pick him up, just in case he's sore.
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...425

Hi Barb, Sending good dental vines to Checkers today. He'll like having clean teeth without all that nasty tarter. When do you bring him home? Stu can come over with some iced chicken soup to soothe his gums. Hang in there and try not to worry (too much)!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...425

awww good dental vines to checkers today! Mocha also has a problem with tartar and also had a dental about 6 months ago. I'm interested in seeing how checkers numbers improve.
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers amNS...435

Checkers and I, thank you for all the good dental vines :smile:
It went swimmingly, or "fantastic" as the tech said. No extractions. I was able to bring him home, right after lunch, it was that easy. NIce white, toofers. :-D Got free pedicure too. :smile:
He was hungry, and very very thirsty, when he got home. Fed at 1:30, and again at 4:30. That's it, until PS, now.
Back from dental
Woopee...he's surfing....too bad it's a red surf. :lol:

435 am
420....home from clinic
404....3 hours after eating/ home coming
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers/coming down on own. need advice for PM

435 am
420....home from clinic
404....3 hours after eating/ home coming
379......what would be +11......6:30 pm
339 PS..
I won't be home tomorrow.......do I give normal 2.75 tonight?
He hasn't had insulin since yesterday morning, and is coming down on his own.

eta: going to shoot in a few minutes if no one is here....eek!
will deal in morning with food.
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers/coming down on own. need advice for PM

no dosing advice here, but love seeing the numbers coming down checkers!
 
Re: 9/22 Checkers/coming down on own. need advice for PM

Hey Barb I was out in the crazy world today--missed the morning!
So So Glad Checkers Had a good dental!!!!
Barbs I believe that anesthesia can make the blood glucose drop in some cats--When I had Moonie's dental in 2009, I shot her regular dose & she dropped somewhat low, so
I would wait to see if it is dropping or pm one of the dosing helpers--
So maybe you might want to shave a bit off the dose to be safe??--If not, then just monitor a bit more--It's always good when the dental is over!!
 
I shaved a bit. Gave f2.50. If I was going to be home tomorrow, I'd give usual, but can't be here to monitor, and can't get up every hour tonight to monitor.
I'll check once or twice during night and feed accordingly in the morning.
 
Hi Barb, I think you did the right thing to shave the dose tonight, especially if you aren't sure how he will react to post anesthesia. It's so great that Checkers didn't have to lose any teeth and that now they are nice and tartar-free. Don't forget the big party tomorrow night, Checkers. Everyone will want to admire you smile.

Ella & Stu
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top