9/21 Jakes AMPS 460 PMPS 399

Status
Not open for further replies.
what is it with these cats and their carbs?

Looks like time for a dose increase. Nadirs over 300 call for an increase of 0.5 units, so that would be 3.75.
 
Well being a cat addicted to carbs for 16 years probably had something to do with it! He's at 3.25 now, do you really think he needs a dose crease all the way to 3.75 and not 3.5?
 
I do think so. His nadirs are over 300 (way over 300) and he is on a relatively high dose, so those factors mean that an increase of 0.5 units would be appropriate. You need to get his numbers down. Don't forget that when he is above about 250 or so, he is spilling glucose into his urine. That can cause frequent UTI and can eventually cause damage to his kidneys. Even if you don't want to go for tight regulation, everyone should aim to have their diabetic cat under renal threshhold.
 
i agree with libby. please increase jake's dose to 3.75 units bid.
post every day. his dose should be increased after every six cycles until we see some improvement.
how old is your lantus?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top