9/30 Jack AMPS 231 +1 252 +2 308 +3 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

JacksDads

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo
We had a busy night last night - I'm actually just going to bed now - hope I get up to give Jack a shot in a few hours ~O)

When you visit Jack's Spreadsheet, you'll notice there are a few tabs on the bottom of the document:
  • Numbers = Jack's Spot Check Chart
  • Graph Input = Page used to input data for the following two graphs
  • Full Curve = Jack's curve from the evening of 09/27 until the morning of 09/30
  • Daily Graph = Jack's Daily BG for 09/29
    and Test Strips, and Sept 15 aren't important for right now.

Just as Libby mentions here in yesterday's condo that in order to get a full picture of a Lantus curve you need to look at it over several days and not just in 12 hour blocks - so I tried creating a graph that lets me do just that (click on the "Full Curve" tab in the SS to see it). I was trying to get the Daily Graph to automatically update, but it still needs to be manually updated.
 
Re: 9/30 Jack

Nice graphs. I use an excel spreadsheet at work that has graphs. It does put a perspective on things.
Hope you are having a good day.
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231

Hey all, Jose here.
Looks like Yoshi and I have just traded a nasty cold. Fortunately, between the ADHD meds and the DayQuil I am UP today. :roll:

As scary as these lows have been (and only theoretically scary at that—other than being a royal pain and begging for food Jack's lows have been otherwise asymptomatic) I'm really happy that he is down to 0.25u. I mean, from here we can only go down to 0.1 and then nothing, right?

I'm curious though, supposing he doesn't regulate even at this small dose but keeps bouncing around, earning reductions but still jumping into the reds, what then? OTJ and see how he does? Higher carb food staying at 0.1 or 0.25 until we get those beautiful flat curves and then reduce the carbiness of the food? Try a different insulin? I'm sure I'm putting the cart before the horse, but I'm the guy that when I'm driving somewhere new I like to read the next 3 directions after every turn so that there are no surprises.

Here's hoping that we surf the blues today—Jack, it's not a race, you can take a few days before your next reduction, k?
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231

Hi Jose, and Yoshi, and Jack. I'm no expert on anything :roll: ...just came in to say "hello, nice to meet you" :smile:
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231

A kitty needs to be spending a good amount of time in the lower ranges (below 120) before you want to try for an OTJ trial. I'd caution patience at this point. Jack may be one of those kitties who is speeding toward diet control BUT, and I think this is the hardest thing to keep in perspective, it's Jack to is in charge. We're just following his lead. There's no way to know whether he'll decide his pancreas needs more support or if he'll continue down the dosing ladder.

Achilles is currently on an OTJ trial. Take a look at his SS. Deb's Spot and Pat's Raja have also been OTJ and are back needing a bit of insulin. Libby's Lucy is also an OTJ kitty. You'll see how their dose and numbers stablized before going OTJ.

Lantus use requires patience. Some days, a lot more patience is needed than on other days!
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231

Nice yellows for Jack....that was quite a night you had there,eh? I hope that Jack will like his new lowered dose.
Great job! I bought a cheap pair of very strong reading glasses that leaves my hands free when I am measuring the doses.
You can practice expressing plain water in a used syringe so you will now how many drops are in any particular dose. Each person measures the doses differently of course. Yo can get used to leaving one drop in the syringe. Push the plunger to get it all the way to the top of the upturned needle and then suck it back in.

When giving those doses of the smaller amounts of insulin...you depress the plunger in the kitty but keep the plunger depressed as you pull the needle out. That way, the little drop of insulin is wiped off the needle and not sucked back in .If you release the plunger in the kitty, the insulin might go back into the needle.

Before pulling in the insulin, take the emp0ty syringe and move the plunger back and forth about 4 or 5 time to spread the little bit of lubricant around inside the barrel. Depress the plunger as far as you can (that removes the air inside the syringe) and then insert it into the insulin. Release the plunger in the insulin Draw out more insulin than you need. Flick the syringe to get the air bubble up to the top. If you slowly turn the plunger to the right, you will be able to express the insulin with more control. Express the drops until you are the correct dose.

Hope you had a good btb....these pajama parties at night really take a lot out of me. I do need my naps after a long night!
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231

Sienne and Gabby said:
A kitty needs to be spending a good amount of time in the lower ranges (below 120) before you want to try for an OTJ trial. I'd caution patience at this point. Jack may be one of those kitties who is speeding toward diet control BUT, and I think this is the hardest thing to keep in perspective, it's Jack to is in charge. We're just following his lead. There's no way to know whether he'll decide his pancreas needs more support or if he'll continue down the dosing ladder.

Achilles is currently on an OTJ trial. Take a look at his SS. Deb's Spot and Pat's Raja have also been OTJ and are back needing a bit of insulin. Libby's Lucy is also an OTJ kitty. You'll see how their dose and numbers stablized before going OTJ.

Lantus use requires patience. Some days, a lot more patience is needed than on other days!

Sienne, thank you for counseling patience--Yoshi and I both tend towards, shall we say, exciteability ;-)
leaving an OTJ trial aside for the time-being, I am still curious about what approaches might be worth considering if he continues to be dropping below the 50s and 40s at the doses that he is currently getting. Any thoughts?

Barb, thanks for saying "Hi!", we're very grateful for all of you collectively, and it's great to meet you individually.

Pat, thanks for the detailed tips, I'm sure we'll put them to good use. One question: btb?
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231

btb= back to bed... :razz:
Some people have used mini meals...splitting the preshot food into 3 mine meals given at +1, +2 and +3.
You might try that if he has a blue preshot. Food keeps them a little higher...and sometimes prevent as steep drop.

However, once they are healing, they will drop and show that they need a dosecrease even though you are giving them food...and that is a good thing in terms of their overall progress.. Let's see how Jack does on his lowered dose...

Oh one other thing ...I noticed on your SS this notation " PM Shot @ 9:40 pm (+12.7). So the 120 mg/dL @ +1 is actually 20 minutes after his shot."
If your shot is delayed, the other hours are counted from when the shot was given. So the +1 should never be earlier than one hour from the time of the shot. Delaying a shot moves the cycle back. A new time schedule is then in place. know what I mean?
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Oh one other thing ...I noticed on your SS this notation " PM Shot @ 9:40 pm (+12.7). So the 120 mg/dL @ +1 is actually 20 minutes after his shot."
If your shot is delayed, the other hours are counted from when the shot was given. So the +1 should never be earlier than one hour from the time of the shot. Delaying a shot moves the cycle back. A new time schedule is then in place. know what I mean?
makes perfect sense, thanks!
 
Re: 9/30 Jack AMPS 231 +1 252 +2 308

Jack, I know you love your trampoline, but if you can't play with it responsibly we'll have to take it away. Seriously, it would be greatly appreciated if you would not bounce all over the place today. Let's take a gentle stroll to the blues for the rest of the day m'kay?
The +3 in an hour is gonna be our real indicator for what the rest of the day looks like, i think, let's cross our fingers for that dip.
 
aaargh! Well, we're either seriously bouncing or I only imagined giving Jack his shot this morning. Nothing to do but wait until this evening, right?
 
Dramatic Jack...LOL...okay jack..turn around now. That is plenty high enough. Pink is the limit boy!
Yup...just wait it out...will be good data anyway.. :razz:
 
Hello Jack and Jose and Yoshi! Just wanted to say hello, since we haven't visited your condo before. Emma and I are in the Boston area too!

Good luck with the bounce - hope he clears it soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top