9?30 Bear AMPS 257 +6 187 Not eating, skip shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kldanzi

Member Since 2010
Rainy day. Both cats seem to have very small appetite for breakfast today which is unusual. Thinking a vet trip might be in store if they aren't better by tomorrow. More loose stool in boxes this morn.
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26260
 
Re: 9?30 Bear AMPS 257 +2 245 +4 212 +6 187

Both kitties still sick, still haven't finish the food left from breakfast. Both laying around but are alert and responsive. More diarrhea and blood in litterbox. Vet tomorrow.
 
Wondering what the procedure is for shooting if cat is sick and not eating. Should I skip tonight if he doesn't want to eat?
 
have you checked for ketones? I know, it's annoying when people answer a question by asking a different question. ;-) If he's eating at all, then usually it's best to shoot something. The recipe for ketones usually is infection + insufficient calories + insufficient insulin. If you already have insufficient calories, and you don't know if there is an infection, then having insufficient insulin isn't a good thing to add on top of that.
 
do not skip shot. you may want to reduce dose a little by a quarter to half dose (if numbers are lower and you just have that gut feeling it should be a little less), but don't have him go without insulin (personally, i would not reduce). don't want to risk ketones. you can always rub gravy on gums or give dry if necessary to get numbers up later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top