10/03/10 Callies PMPS 240 +1.5 225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby & Callie

Member Since 2010
Good morning everyone. I hope you can help me with this change over. I did get both meter readings which are posted on SS so maybe there is enough data to figure this out :) The AlphaTrak, so I have read, is around 30 points higher that a human meter. This doesn't account for the differences I see on this meter. The differences I have are:
PMPS AlphaTrak 372 True2go 213 diff 168
PMPS 372 +2 AlphaTrak 366 True2go 198 diff 159
+4 AlphaTrak 327 True2go 162 diff 165
+10 AlphaTrak 237 True2go 155 diff 75
AMPS True2go 166
I have no options here at the moment until I can get strips for the AlphaTrak. I got 2 er messages and dropped 2 so I am out earlier than expected. I had hoped to get more dual readings to check, but here we are :)There is a close read in amount of drop off at the higher readings, but a major difference at the lower (+10) reading. If anyone can lead me in the right direction with this new meter and save me from having to get strips for the AlphaTrak that would be great. Any help at all will be very much appreciated. Thanks to all ...Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device
Now using True2go meter for HT BG 10/3/10
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

Hi

I'm prob no help here, since you need to use whatever meter you have strips for right now - but from what I have heard, any meter with True in it, hasn't been the most reliable.
Have you considered the One Touch or Relion meter as your back up meter?

I will however give you the link for meter reviews that gets passed around here on the board.
Note: the True Track, is at the bottom, this review does not include all the other True meters.
Consumer Reports Meter Reviews

Also, from what I searched on the board, Ann & Tess had been using this meter too, I'll send her a PM for her to stop in your condo today.
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

Good morning Libby and Happy Sunday....

Just wanted to check in w/ya....

I don't know much about either of those meters...I use the One Touch....and like it...but the strips are expensive.....I do notice changes w/tests even w/in a few seconds of one another.....And an occasional odd ball reading..

Hope someone comes along to answer your question soon.

Have a great day.
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

A number of people have had reliability and accuracy problems with the True2Go and TrueTrack meters (they are the same meter just packaged differently for either CVS or Walgreens). If you can return the meter and get a Walmart Relion meter, you will have a more reliable meter. I use a Contour. The strips run about 50 cents each if I purchase on-line. There aren't any Walmarts in my area which is why I use the Contour.

(I think Jack's beans had a similar problem with a True2Go or a TrueTrack.)
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

Callie AMPS 166
Thanks Tena and Sienne .. looks like I am going to Walmart today. Needed to go to get Special Kitty anyway. To top things off I have discovered that what I thought was a 2u was in fact a 3u! The hits just keep on coming. Well I did get readings and can see developments. She is coming down slowly from the red levels. I had been on 4u and what the vet said a smidge (?)so at least I did get a lowered dose reading. Just not as much as I had thought. I am changing her SS to reflect my mistake. I hope it doesn't make any difference or at least a small one. Thanks guys. I will keep this other meter so I'll have a backup. I'll read with both for a few weeks and see what happens. Thanks for the input, but you are right .. I need a Relion meter so the information you see can fit with what you know about that meter. Boy this gets more complicated every day :) Have a wonderful day! Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device
Now using True2go meter for HT BG
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

Sienne and Gabby said:
A number of people have had reliability and accuracy problems with the True2Go and TrueTrack meters (they are the same meter just packaged differently for either CVS or Walgreens). If you can return the meter and get a Walmart Relion meter, you will have a more reliable meter. I use a Contour. The strips run about 50 cents each if I purchase on-line. There aren't any Walmarts in my area which is why I use the Contour.

(I think Jack's beans had a similar problem with a True2Go or a TrueTrack.)

We started out with the True2Go and found that as BG levels go up the #s it was giving got to be half as low as the numbers from relion. I checked on some human diabetes forums and other people were reporting the same. You can see a whole bunch of comparisons that we did here

Also, the True2Go test strips cost almost twice as much as the relion and require a larger blood sample and are very prone to error (in our experience, we would sometimes get an error message 5 times in a row.)

The good news is that as you get to really low BGs the discrepancy gets smaller, so it shouldn't make a situation where you shoot a number that's lower than it should be, but it may cause you to reduce early if it is reporting numbers in the 200s that are really in the 400s.

hope this helps.
Jose
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

To top things off I have discovered that what I thought was a 2u was in fact a 3u! The hits just keep on coming. Well I did get readings and can see developments. She is coming down slowly from the red levels....


so just to get this straight, you shot 3u this morning instead of 2u?
Will you be a round to monitor if needed?

yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26470&p=267437#p267437
 
10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166

Can you add your AMPS number your first subject line when you have a moment?
And post your updated numbers too when you have them.
Everything ok? Any updates on numbers?
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

10/03/10 with True2go Callie AMPS 166

OOPS .. I didn't make myself clear at all. I have been shooting the 3u all along since dropping from 4.25 (smidge). I just was going over the markings again this am and saw what I had been doing. I had used the half mark between where I was shooting to judge and miss counted. No she isn't getting a different dose, just a stupid mamma! Also when I started this I forgot about the smidge, which I can now see was about the .25. I am premarking a used syringe to make sure I am getting things right from now on. I am sorry. I was so intent on all the learning and reduction that I guess my mind wasn't in full gear. I am going to get the Relion and return the True2go and get 1 pack of strips for the AlphaTrak and use it as backup since I already have data for it. Sorry for the confusion. Thanks everyone. I'll take another test before going out to fix my mess. Thanks again ...Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device
Now using True2go meter for HT BG
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

Libby --

I think Ronnie meant to change the subject line in your first post to include the AMPS number. In order for a change in subject line to appear on the Board, you need to edit the first post of the day. It's the only one that will make the change visible. If the issue with your meter is resolve, which it sounds like it is, you can edit that out of the subject line.

If you need help, remember to add a new post or just post "bump" in a new reply. That will move your condo to the top of the Board.
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

ok thanks!
And no you are not a bad mom, stuff like this happens, and you happen to be a good mom!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

10/03/10 with True2go Callie AMPS 166 +2 156

This is really stupid of me, but I was right about the 2u after all This comes from not enough sleep and second guessing myself! I looked again where I had put the plunger to the halfway point between the 4 mark. Confusion came when I was looking at the first mark which is where the plunger sits to start off. I just checked and the load was 2u since I can't count the 1st mark. Boy am I mind dead this am! Am calming down and breathing again now. I wasn't so stupid as I thought! Sorry sorry sorry. Just a mind hiccup I hope. I'll be much better when I can get the new meter and get in sync. Thanks guys and again .. SORRY ..Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device
Now using True2go meter for HT BG change today to Relion
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

A wise person once told me....there are no mistakes....

Just opportunities for accelerated growth.

And boy do we have plenty of opportunities here in dealing w/this disease and learning the ropes.

You are doing a fabulous job here Libby.
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter)

10/03/10 with True2go Callie AMPS 166 +2 156

Thanks Yoshi .. I can see my reads are very much the same. Higher #s give BIG differences! And thanks Tena :) I think I am just a bit exhausted, but I know everyone here has seen this same thing. With sick kitties it's a nerve wracking process. I am going to stay calm and just deal with this. I did change my heading since she is in no danger and it's just me getting overly excited! SHE feels fine .... lol I posted her +2 and I'm getting ready to go shop (BG). Will let you know when the Relion is "in house". Thanks again .. I'll get a reading when I get back. Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with AlphaTrak & Lancet device then True2go
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter)

Jose & I are still learning too - and it makes me smile to see you're going through the same mistakes we were struggling with about a month ago I mean, two weeks ago... (Not "haha" smile - but empathic smile) ;-)

The AlphaTrack sounds like it's much more in line with the ReliOn. I know if it were me though - I would want to know that my backup meter was going to give me the same accuracy as my current meter - especially if I was stressed and in a bind being in a situation where I only had my backup to use. (Jose says I obsess over the numbers too much - and he's probably right :roll: )
But for peace of mind, I have the number for a rep that works at Arkray (the company that makes ReliOn for Walmart). I think WalMart charges you around $9.00 for the ReliOn Meter - but if you'd like to get a backup meter (called GlucoCard) that's the same exact meter as ReliOn for free- PM (Private Message) me, and I'll send you her direct line.

Update from earlier GlucoCard post: Our free Glucocard meter arrived, the GlucoCard test strips work on our ReliOn Meter, (and visa versa) yay! I thought this would be a good alternative for those that don't live close to Walmart - but apparently each pharmacy can decide to upcharge the Glucocard test strips how ever much they want - and the GlucoCard people won't ship directly to customers. So even though it's the same 50 count bottle for about $20 - my local Walgreens is trying to sell the GlucoCard test strips to me for $28. I'm fairly certain this price hike is so that GlucoCard doesn't sell for less than their store brand. So we've ended up just ordering our Reli-On strips from walmart.com - it just takes pre-planning as shipping can take up to 2 weeks.

Also - if you don't have testing solution, don't buy it - you can call ReliOn (or GlucoCard) and they will send it to you for free.
~Yoshi
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter)

We tried the TruResults meter when we first started testing and it was terrible. I switched to Contour and get my strips for abour 30 cents each on Ebay. Also, it seems the higher the bg, the greater the difference between the Alpha Track and other meters. When you get to low numbers, I don't think the difference is as great. You are doing great climbing this steep learning curve. :-D
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter)

10/03/10 with True2go Callie AMPS 166 +2 156

Thanks Yoshi! I bought the ReliOn and it was only $9.00.. The 50 pack strips are $20.00 so I am set. I returned the other meter and even though I got lots and lots of the Special Kitty 3 & 4 carb cans I still spent only about >$1.75 over the other meter cost! Should have run to the store immediately after seeing so may ReliOn users. Well .. live and learn! I'll call about the test solution .. thanks it will save me $s and the stupid AlphaTrak, that is so hard to read for those who were smart enough to get a human meter and cost me $200.00 will now be a secondary. I have no idea what the strips cost, but probably a LOT. I did check at CVS and they don't have the Alpha strips, but I think I saw them at Target. Will look into that as now will keep Alpha as backup. I also have been so focused on the numbers that I am not paying enough attention to the other important things. I'll try and be better :) Thanks for all your help and for the support! Hugs to "the boyz" all three of you (BG) Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with ReliOn
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS 166(True2go meter)

Libby, you are doing great, don't you go putting yourself down! How long have you been here on FDMB? Three or four days? You have been ZOOMING up that learning curve! I'm having trouble keeping up with your progress, every time I come online you have leaped past another hurdle! :lol:

We use the Relion Confirm, and are very happy with it. Any of the Relions are very good, no need to worry about getting a specific one! The only drawback is that you have to get the strips from Walmart, they are not sold in other stores. I have seen strips for the Ultima on ebay, but not the Confirm/Micro strips. I think you will find that the only place you can get the AlphaTrak strips is from the vet, or online. I seem to remember someone posting that the same company makes a meter for humans, and those strips will work for the AT...I'll try to find that info and post back here. But YES, they are expensive! It only makes good sense to save money on what you can, there are enough expenses that you can't avoid.

Nice numbers today for Callie! I'm curious to see the difference with the Relion.
 
Re: 10/03/10 Callies AMPS (True2go meter) HELP NEEDED

libbyandcallie said:
OOPS .. I didn't make myself clear at all. I have been shooting the 3u all along since dropping from 4.25 (smidge). I just was going over the markings again this am and saw what I had been doing. I had used the half mark between where I was shooting to judge and miss counted. No she isn't getting a different dose, just a stupid mamma! Also when I started this I forgot about the smidge, which I can now see was about the .25. I am premarking a used syringe to make sure I am getting things right from now on.
hello from the east shore. we're in the colonial park area.

just wanted to confirm - are you using 0.3 ml syringes, with 1/2-unit markings?
 
PMPS 240 +1.5 225

Thanks for the encouragement Laurie :) I felt that I was so behind I had to run run run. Now I am more relaxed with a meter you all trust! I have a local Walmart and can easily keep up with strips now (YEA) The Confirm is easy to operate and I can see the blood sucked up. The Alpha did not show that. It helps me to know I'll see a read and not an error! I do think I saw the strips (I guess for humans if they are using them too) and the sign said they were new. I noticed because they had a butterfly and looked like the ones I had. I'll wait to get them since the ReliOn is so new. Maybe get a price drop too :)
Hey WCF .. yes I use the 0.3 ml syringes, with 1/2-unit markings 31 gauge. I was just so tired today and wasn't fully awake when looking at the syringe! Dumb, but exhaustion has set in. I am going to relax a bit more now though! I do know the Colonial Park area somewhat. How are you neighbor :) You have a 16 YO kitty? Wow ... we just lost Marlo, Laurels cat, at age 20. He was one sick kitty all his life. I found him one night under my living room chair. He looked half dead and since it was late I had to rush him to the vet hospital. He had crystals and had to be kept overnight. Next day I had to take him to my vet for surgery. He had all sorts of problems after that since he had damage. His kidneys were never right and he had to have a strict diet and was at the vets at least once a month. Called him my $2,000.00 cat ...lol But he was my daughter's baby and we do what we have to! Well I have to go rest before the next BG so I'll say goodnight and pleasant dreams to all. Thanks to everyone! Libby and Callie (and civvies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Callie's SS
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... TuVA#gid=0
Callie 10 yrs old on 9/17/10 dx 6/12/10
Lantus 2 units BID (U100) since 9/30/10
HT BG with ReliOn
Wet food only since 9/30/10
Camp Hill, PA USA
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top