10/04PowderPMPS341 +2 401+3 366

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26555 Link not working :?: sorry please if needed check SS ohmygod_smile

Man what a bounce. I don't like this and I'm sure Mr Powder isn't either. Goopy eyes but up and met me meowing. I'm thinking must be something wrong with the meter so checked again HI. Should I give him a small dose of R which I have? I'm uncomfortable with him having such a BG I gave him his Lantus. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

I have zero experience with R so can't lend a hand with that decision. What I would have done is shot the old dose this last time. It's OK to shoot the old dose through a rebound. The one thing you know with a bounce is that the numbers will come down.

What are the goopy eyes about? Is this allergy or infection? (Did you mention that you were starting gentimyacin for Powder's eyes or am I making that up?) (The link to your condo from yesterday doesn't work.)
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

While waiting I got him to drink low NA org chicken broth. I don;t want to feed that BG and would like to try to dilute BG. Any thoughts.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

I've noticed that when BG is up his eyes run also when BG is low his ears are cold. Will work on link. He had been taking 1U of R bid-tid it did bring it down into 100's but of course after 4 hrs he was in 300-400's.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

I would have shot the .25 this morning, too, and taken the reduction when he comes down. He will come down.
I would not shoot R now. Let's see how he does today. When I use R, which I haven't in a long time, is when J.D. has been in a bounce for a couple of days, and it brings him down to a number the Lantus (or Levemir) has a chance to work with.

He could come down rapidly from this bounce and the R's nadir could coinside with his Lantus nadir and the bounce breaking, all at once. You don't want that.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

I would not withhold food. Powder needs to eat. The food spike is very temporary and some cats don't experience a big food spike. Just treat this like business as usual. High numbers are a pain but they are not dangerous in the way that very low numbers are.

I think it's OK to get rid of the 911 icon.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

Thanks everyone. Powder generally stays in his bounce for three days after a reduction I've never seen his BG this high. I don't have a problem giving a little more L but would like to bring the over 600 down a little. I will feed him. I tried working on my link and can't get it work.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

not sure what you are saying here.....but did you feed powder or did you just give him the broth?
Also, can't help you with the R...I don't have any experience with that, so I'm sorry I can't give you any input on that.

eta: sorry, I didn't see Dyana's & Sienne's posts above mine or your reply Kathy.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

Hi Kathy...please remove the 911 from your header please.

here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26555

That is a high number, but it is just a temporary bounce ....okay? Just feed and try to be patient for it to come down, ok?
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

Definitely feed your kitty. Even when they're in low #'s, they're going to be always hungry.

Also, could you get a +1 or +2 spot check, please? I'd like to see where Powder's at when you gave him/her the 0.10u. You may need to keep Powder on the 0.25u if that's what works best for him/her.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

Nobody likes those high numbers, I hope the bounce clears quickly.

Regarding his eyes...I see that he has been on AB eye ointment with steroids...did the vet give you a dx? If it was herpes virus, you might try L-lysine when he gets goopy. Sometimes the herpes flares up when BG rises, the lysine might help.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

Thanks Pat I did the copy and paste but for some reason it still won,t link. I had a problem with my server last night don't know if it could be related. :? Yours worked though ohmygod_smile

Powder ate, I did give him the rest of his .25 L and I didn't give him any R. I can stay a little while so will check at +2 and though it seems unlikely I hope he'll be under 600. I just know how bad it feels when BG is very high and his little heart is beating fast from all that glucose. :sad:

Now his shed will be empty poor boy. It's nice to see progress but this bouncing is for the birds. I expected him to be back to 300's but never this. I've never seen that high a reading for him.

Sorry for the link issues and again thanks for the moral and technical support. Hope everyone has a blue and or green day.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

Hi Laurie Thanks for dropping in. Powder has pesky Persian eyes. They were a little inflamed but no herpes. When we first got him my DD then 7 said that Powder looked like his face had been hit by a Dodge Ram. Not a great image but funny to the kids. I'm going to test in a few.

Sorry all I still am not being allowed to post that link right. I can copy and paste but it won't underline is acting just like regular words in a sentence that I moved.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596

Ah, I see...glad the eyes are nothing serious. Funny what kids come up with, isn't it?

I wouldn't worry about the link, Pat took care of it for you. Have a good day!
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596 +2HI

Powder is still HI at +2 but I really didn't think he'd be lower he usually goes up after eating even when eating plain chicken.
Just visited relatives in WT end of August still nice and booming with FT Drum active.

Well got to go to work. Won't need to worry about hypo today :lol:
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596 +2HI

Hoping sweet Powder comes down soon for ya.

Sounds like you are doing a great job and getting some really good feedback today.
 
Re: 10/04PowderAMPS596 +2HI

In general, don't split the Lantus dose. I'm not sure what time you shot the remainder of the 0.25u and I'm not sure how you even measured 0.15u.

The issue here is the nadir. You may have the nadir from the second shot creeping up on your PMPS.
 
This pm my I received replacement meter and when I seemed to get conflicting readings with the new Relion 200's down to 30 in 30 mins and when double checked right away got HI reading. checked on new meter did get varied readings but when I checked myself on both the readings were only 4 pts different. Don't know what to think but I'm glad I didn't give R insulin this AM. Will use Freestyle tomorrow for SS and will see difference with Relion.
Had to groom Powder tonight and man is he feeling better. Growling, trying to escape or stop me with his paws :lol: He's Back!Clearly feeling better.I haven't seen him like tat in a few months. Thought he had just mellowed. I don't think the vet will think he's tolerant now :lol: Because he was so sick I held off, giving him a chance to recover. So had to bathe and dry him too. That's why I was posting so late. All seems well with him.
 
Hi Kathy

I'm glad to see Powder is coming down off those high numbers. Sorry I didn't get to check in today...a little too much drama of our own. I hope Powder will do ok on his .25u dose a little longer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top