10/7 Ginger day hospitalization & Tests - UPDATE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori in Ohio

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

I tried 6 times to get the AMPS and gave up after both Ginger and I got too stressed.
I have 2 Accu-check compact plus meters. I checked her with both at +2.
The one I usually use said 433, the other said 424.

In reply to (from yesterday's condo) : Pat+Raja+Shadow » Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:59 am
Hi Lori...can you start a new condo today for Ginger please?
I am wondering when her last dental was?

She has never had a dental cleaning, just visual inspection of her teeth. The vets have never suggested a cleaning.
I know someone who's cat died during a cleaning so I have never suggested it myself......
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433

I asked because any inflammation or infection can raise the BGs and it is best to rule out any possible infection that might be going on. Blood work can show infections...I have gotten my two a few dentals since joining the board. As it turns out, my Shadow really gets a lot of plaque buildup and needs a dental every six months or so.

The plaque is easily seen by inspecting the gums. But other problems with the teeth an only be sorted out by a proper dental.
A little special care is needed for diabetics, but with the monitoring the they do during the procedure, there is really no reason why a diabetic kitty could not have a dental. Once the infection is taken care of, the numbers even out a lot....and the kitty feels so much better after a day or two (sometimes immediately afterward) It's almost impossible to get them regulated if there is an underlying infection and it might be a good idea to discuss this with your vet.

Is Ginger acting fine in other respects? Sometimes a urinary tract infection pops up...inappropriate urination becomes a signal that something is not right. A blood test is usually done to make sure their values are within the normal range. Any underlying problems will complicate the FD.

Ruling out the other problems is a step in the right direction. After that, it's just a matter of time until the right dose is reached and the numbers start reacting to the increase in insulin. Maybe a more aggressive increase in dose is needed to Ginger. Keep us posted as to what the vet suggests, okay? This is frustrating, but you are doing all the right things...hopefully, she will start to show some nicer numbers as you go u the dosing scale. The trace ketones need to be addressed though...hang in there...
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433

Hang in there Lori, we all know it is stressful when those numbers are high. It's so hard to be patient when kitty doesn't feel good, and it seems like nothing is working!

The subQ fluids can make a big difference in making them feel better. You can do subQ fluids at home if you are comfortable with it, you can get the vet to teach you how....many people here do it. Not me, another thing I have no direct experience with! There are ways to save money on the fluids too, if you are going to need to do them for a while.

Please let us know what the vet says.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433

Sorry this is so stressful on you, Lori, but it will get better, really it will. I agree with Pat inregards to checking to see if Ginger may need a dental. Spot ALWAYS reacts to any pain, especially in his mouth, with higher BG's. Spot is also another one of those kitties who needs to have Dentals twice a year. Do I worry, yes, only because it's my baby boy, but it's getting to be routine and my vet has worked with Spot since he has been dx and they know to take bg's before and after and keep an eye on him.

As far as those numbers, I know your stomach drops everytime you see them and I can only offer you support and a cyber hug for that. I can also suggest that you take a look at Spot's ss also. Of course, he was on Humulin N to start, but he got those nasty reds/blacks also...however the blacks don't show up because my meter only went as high as 500, so that is what I documented on the ss. Who knows how high he really was.

We are here for you, Lori...

Hey, Ginger...how are you today, girl? I hope those nasty red nummers aren't making you feel to bad. I know dat you will be gettin bedder nummers soon, just hang in deer, ok my frienz. In da meantime, I tink dat deer is goin to be some fun in LL today. Heading over to Mannie's soon, his mumz is going on a hike............Spot
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433

Thanks for the support and suggestions.
I will call the vet after her +4 reading. +4 is usually her lowest peak reading.

I would have thought tho if she had any recent kind of infection it would have shown up in her urine tests.
Also, she doesnt seem to have any problems eating the hard dry food, when I give it to her.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433

sorry to hear you guys struggled this morning .. and then only to see red at +2 .. yeck ... I hope ginnger comes down for you today ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337

Left message for the vet.
She has no secretary or assistants to answer the phone, so I always have to leave a message because she is usually with a patient.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433

The presence of an Infection doesn't always show up in a urinalysis (UA). Only a urinary track infection (UTI) would show up and then, it's best to get a sterile sample via cytocentesis (a needle is used to draw the urine directly from the bladder). If you think about this in human terms, usually blood work is needed to determine if you have an infection of one sort or another -- unless you have symptoms that are very specific to a UTI. Most of the time, the white cell count is elevated if there is an infection of some sort. A blood test may provide more information. A UA may be needed if you're catching this early. If so, a cytocentesis with a culture & sensitivity (C & S) is best -- the C & S allows the vet to culture the sample in order to determine which antibiotic will best target the bacteria.

I completely agree with Pat about the dental. Gabby has had 2 dentals in the past year. We have a great deal of info on dental procedures that we can pass along. (In fact, see Powder's condo from yesterday.) While no procedure is 100% problem free, it's possible to make sure your vet is equipped to keep Ginger safe. One of the things my vet noted was that at least with Gabby, it is sometimes hard to see all of the tartar build-up/gingivitis when doing a visual inspection unless a cat is anesthetized.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337

The vet never returned my call, so I called my previous vet and they saw her immediately.
She is there for the afternoon.

They are doing blood work, urine tests and giving her subq fluids.
I am to call at 5pm and will probably pick her up at that time.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

Please keep us posted.....sending healing vines and snowflakes that Ginger will feel better. Please don't get discouraged...we all these numbers from time to time. I promise you'll get more relaxed with it...it has been 2-1/2 weeks for us and we're starting to get with the flow :-D
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

I am SO glad you were able to bring her in....this is good. They will check her out...please keep us posted won't you?
Sending healing vines to Ginger....feel better soon sweetie!
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

Lori, I'm happy to see Ginger is at the vet getting testing and subQ fluids. Let us know when you get some news.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

I'm glad she's at the vet. Do ask about fluids. They can show you how to give them and they can sell you some to take home (it's much cheaper elsewhere, but for the first time it's easy to just get it from them). They will be a good thing to have on hand if Ginger is ketone prone.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

I did ask about the subq fluids at home and was explained the procedure.
I said no thanks...
:)

I am trying to unstress, and I think once we finally get her dosage right and her numbers go down, the ketones wont be such an issue.

Thank you for the vines and good wishes.

Going to call in a bit, bring her home (hopefully) test her, feed her, give her insulin to her and........

I am going to the BAR. lol

I will post later on tonight.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

Hi Lori - I'd bend an elbow with you if I was anywhere near you. drinking09

Bless your heart honey. This will get better. You've had a rough week. It's good to decompress a little.

Let us know how she's doing later when you get her home.

We're all thinking about you two.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

Any updates? I'm hoping you're all settling in back at home but I wanted to check in and see how Ginger was doing.
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

I too am glad that you were able to get her to the vets, Mannie and I hope all is well. How is she doing?
 
Re: 10/7 Ginger AMPS ?, +2 433, +4 337- day hospitalization

The beer at the bar helped. lol

Ginger stayed at the Vets all day today.
They did blood work (results tomorrow), urinalysis tests, and gave her subq fluids.
The vet tested her Ketone levels= 0 present. :)

Last night I had increased her insulin to 1.75 units.
This morning I couldnt get an AMPS reading, but it was probably around 500+ because last night at PMPS +6 it was 453.
then today AMPS +2 433, +4, 337.
At the vets at +6 it was 340, After subq fluids >> at approx +11 it was 351.
Tonight at home at PMPS +5 it was 258!
This is better than usual, so I am sooo relieved and feel there is finally hope now.

So it looks like this: AMPS 500+, +2 433, +4 337, +6 340, +11, 351, PMPS (just returned home didnt do) +5 258
so from +4 it was pretty even today.

The vet thinks she has a urinary tract infection because of the urinalysis results and put her on Amoxicillin.
The vet wants me to increase her insulin to 2 units tomorrow morning (depending on her AMPS reading).
She did advise me to watch her BG closely because once the infection goes away, her readings may drop.

Thank you all for your support and good wishes.
 
Lori -

Don't get upset if Ginger's numbers go up. The sub-q fluids can lower BG levels. (You're increasing blood volume and "diluting" everything, including blood glucose.) Do you know if the vet is doing a culture and sensitivity on the urine sample? It takes 2 - 3 days to get the results back.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Lori -

Don't get upset if Ginger's numbers go up. The sub-q fluids can lower BG levels. (You're increasing blood volume and "diluting" everything, including blood glucose.) Do you know if the vet is doing a culture and sensitivity on the urine sample? It takes 2 - 3 days to get the results back.

No I dont think so........ Almost $300 today, cannot afford more tests right now.
Can you explain what that is for? I never heard of it.
 
Hi Lori and Ginger. I'm just getting caught up on your situation and hope that Ginger will be feeling much better tomorrow. Your vet may very well have submitted a urine sample to a lab for the Culture & Sensitivity. I just recently learned what is involved: a culture is done on the urine sample and it is watched (grown) for 3 days. If bacteria are found to be present, they can be identified and the best antibiotic to knock out those specific bacteria can then be determined.
Lots of healing vines are heading your way tonight.

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top