10/7PowderPMPS 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays Condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26802

WCR All P's that are normal for Powder are present. He was up waiting for me this am and followed me around beggig for attention and or food :lol: He didn't finish all food left for him but ate more than half. Picked up more than 2 hours before BG test.

Will hopefully be home earlier today so I can get some tests earlier.

I really appreciate your responses to my questions. Thanks Sienne for the link and all the things to bring up to my vet.
Gotta go to work now healing and peace to all the ailing kitties and their beans. Hoping for good colors today in LL. :smile:
 
Re: 10/7PowderAMPS 279

Nicer AMPS for Powder this morning! That google doc in your signature doesn't work..uh..maybe you need to make it public or something. The SS link is good, altho SS is not updated. (hint-hint) ;-)

That is great that you are going to have the dental. Did your vet say at what time to withhold food the previous night?
I think the dentals are harder on the Beans than they are on the kitties. Shadow needs two each year because of the amount of plaque he accumulates. Some kitties act a little out of it after they come home, but my two always seem fine and are ready to eat right away. One thing we advise is to not feed a large amount all at once. Give a teaspoon of food and then wait for an hour or so. Too much food too quickly could cause vomiting.

We need to fast from midnight on. My two are used to a snack at 3am so that is always difficult especially in the morning when I start to get ready and there is no breffis for them. They suspect what is going to happen and they are on high alert.
I usually bring out the carriers a day or two beforehand and put them in a separate room so I can grab them on the morning of the dental and get them into them.

But, more about the dental later. That is so good that you are going to do that. BTW Raja had one little tooth fall out at her first dental but neither one needed any extractions at all. Once you begin a regular routine of the dentals, you will be able to keep a close eye on the condition of his teeth. Some kitties have ne3ver had dentals and they are surprised at the poor condition of their mouths. Most handle extractions very well and are so much better off when the mouth is free of decay.
 
Re: 10/7PowderAMPS 279

a nice bright yellow for powder this morning! I hope he comes down for you real nice and slow today ...

Mocha had her dental done in march of this year. It was her first ever (she just turned 7) and to our surprise she needed 8 teeth taken out due to FORL's plus she had already lost one tooth which the vet indicated it probably fell out to another FORL. She went to the vet a few months back (our reg. vet) and she commented that mocha had some plaque already built up. Unfortunately we can't afford another one right now but we are hoping maybe next year we can do it again.
 
Re: 10/7PowderAMPS 279

Just a quick comment on Pat's note...

This came up when Gabby had her dental and CD and a few others had the same experience. Apparently, there is a new approach with regard to holding food from midnight the night before a procedure. I did not need to withhold food. The thought is that because a cat's metabolism is fast, the usual AM meal is well on it's way to be digested and wouldn't interfere with anesthesia. It may also depend on what time the procedure is scheduled for.

More of an issue is whether you should not give a shot the morning of the procedure or reduce the dose. You'll need to discuss this with your vet. Anesthesia can drop BG numbers so it's important that your vet lets you know what you are to do around giving insulin.
 
Re: 10/7PowderAMPS 279

My vet does as Sienne explains....we feed our regular late feeding and then we feed a tsp or two in the morning as long as it is 4 hours before anesthesia. Check with your vet but alot of vets now believe withholding food is not good for the cat's BG..even a normal cat. Also, we have a board certified vet anesthesiologist and she always advises a little bit of food four hours before anesthesia.
 
Thanks so much for all the feed back on the dental coming up. His teeth definitely are ready for a cleaning his last one was two years ago. He's been checked since but they didn't think he needed a cleaning until now. He had one tooth pulled then and did well.

Yes the vet wants him to have food until four hours before but no insulin. He may not need any extractions no loose teeth. If any are diseased they will be pulled but at least this vet isn't pull happy. It will only be if needed. I appreciate all the anesthesia info. Its great to have so many informed and helpful people willing to share :-D

I had another post that I thought I submitted but didn't I think I need a good nights sleep. I have been doing yhat a lot the last few days. :oops: I have off until Tues. so I hope to catch up and relax away from work. I'll be able to test more also.

There was a lot going on today and Muffin WOW. Keep it up.
 
Hi Kathy - great to read all the dental advice in here - none of my kitties have ever had one, so it's good to read for when they eventually do. Thanks so much for cheering Muffin on. Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top