10/24/2010 Spitzer AM BG, +36 = 71; +45 = 166; +48 = 242

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

AM BG, +36 = 71

Spitzer doing well - purring, playin'/pesterin', preening, nor drinking excessively

Ate a breakfast of Friskies Ocean Whitefish, as the plates of Special Kitty Turkey and Giblets had been cleared overnight.

I'll recheck before I head out for the convention (OVFF)

Lets see if I can get another day without needing the insulin.
 
Re: 10/24/2010 Spitzer AM BG, +36 = 71; +45 = 166; +48 = 24

Well, darn.

Went up again.
+36 = 71
+45 = 166 (waited to see if it'd go back down)
+48 = 242
gave a small .5 U (.4?) to try to help it be more even

Wondering if a different insulin might work better, for more consistent dosing - the measurement of less than .5 is too imprecise to be sure what dose is being given.

I'll do some reading in the other forums.
 
Re: 10/24/2010 Spitzer AM BG, +36 = 71; +45 = 166; +48 = 24

wow...what a day...

and what a cool looking convention!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/24/2010 Spitzer AM BG, +36 = 71; +45 = 166; +48 = 24

I have two thoughts:

Yes, you can dose less than 0.5. Check out the pictures in the New to the Group sticky. It's not as easy to dose without a line to measure to, but you can do things like measure 0.5 units and squeeze out a certain number of drops, or look for other things to line up to to measure. Draw what you think is 0.25 and study the syringe. Maybe the back half of the plunger is lined up with a line, or maybe there is a certain amount of daylight showing above the plunger that you can replicate pretty well.

My second thought is, now that you see what happens if you *don't* shoot, are you ready to maybe try shooting low? Study others' spreadsheets - usually when shot low, Lantus gives a nice flat curve. If you had shot the 70's this morning, chances are Spitzer would have surfed around that range all day. You shot 1.25 units when he was in the 50's not long ago, and he didn't drop too low then, right? And he's on a much lower dose now. You could reduce the dose to 0.25 or even 0.1 and practice shooting that dose any time he's over 70 at shot time.
 
Re: 10/24/2010 Spitzer AM BG, +36 = 71; +45 = 166; +48 = 24

Libby and Lucy said:
...You shot 1.25 units when he was in the 50's not long ago, and he didn't drop too low then, right? ...

Only because I fed him dry, high carb food.
 
Re: 10/24/2010 Spitzer AM BG, +36 = 71; +45 = 166; +48 = 24

something we probably neglect to say often enough...
there's less of a drop when shooting a low preshot number versus shooting a higher preshot number when you're increasing/decreasing the dose systematically as in the tight regulation protocol.

alex's current spreadsheet is probably not the best example to use because i've had to raise and lower the dose whenever she's had flare-ups (CP, liver, & kidney disease), but take a look. you can still get an idea of "shooting low to stay low" and the resulting nice flat curves.
 
Re: 10/24/2010 Spitzer AM BG, +36 = 71; +45 = 166; +48 = 24

You can take a look at Harley's SS to see what shooting low can look like. The drops were minimal. Granted, I had tons of data to support shooting super low numbers, but it can be done. I think you'd find yourself in a much better space if you could find a dose you're comfortable shooting consistently and really sticking with it. Good luck!

s
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top