11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happening?

Status
Not open for further replies.

evakot

Member Since 2010
Good Afternoon/Evening All,

So we are at day 2 of more aggressive dosing with an increase from 3.25 to 3.75u. I don't know if it is only an illusion, but it seems to me that Big Kitty's numbers are actually inching up, not down, the faster we go. He had two 370s in the last 24 hours; he did not have such high numbers in a while.

Meanwhile, his nadirs are not getting lower...He also seemed not as chipper today as he normally is. Slept most of the day and was cranky when I petted him...

I feel really down today about this... :cry:

Need expert advise whether or not to continue with the more aggressive dosing... That would put us at 4.25 units tomorrow AM.

Thank you All,

Eva

ETA: PM pre shot is the highest EVER!!! Tested twice- first 471, second 446!!! That has NEVER happened. Even at the vet in high stress he was at 413. What is happening? Can this be related to cranking up his dose in the last 2 days?
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376; seems to be inching up

Sorry I can't advise you but I sure know how you are feeling. I'm sorry you're feeling discouraged. I'm sure the advisers will have some wisdom. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376; seems to be inching up

I would definitely continue going up in 0.5 increments every 4 cycles until you see some kind of movement. Don't worry, it's not unusual to see no movement at all until all of a sudden BAM, there's a good dose.

I see your question on your spreadsheet about the higher numbers at +2. That is usually just because Lantus has an onset (for most cats) between +2.5 and +3. That means that the insulin from the previous cycle has worn off, but this shot has not kicked in yet. Overall, though, Big Kitty's numbers are very flat and I wouldn't even call those rises. That's a good thing, flat is easy to work with, you just have to keep increasing the insulin until we can pull him down to being flat in a lower range.
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376; seems to be inching up

Libby and Lucy said:
I would definitely continue going up in 0.5 increments every 4 cycles until you see some kind of movement. Don't worry, it's not unusual to see no movement at all until all of a sudden BAM, there's a good dose.

I see your question on your spreadsheet about the higher numbers at +2. That is usually just because Lantus has an onset (for most cats) between +2.5 and +3. That means that the insulin from the previous cycle has worn off, but this shot has not kicked in yet. Overall, though, Big Kitty's numbers are very flat and I wouldn't even call those rises. That's a good thing, flat is easy to work with, you just have to keep increasing the insulin until we can pull him down to being flat in a lower range.

Thank you, that is reasurring. Sometimes (like today) I worry I am making him worse with the increases in dosage. But, I trust that the people on this forum have seen previous cases that had numbers like Big Kitty's, and then finally improved... Will be increasing again tomorrow, then.

Thank you again!

Eva
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

Please, need more eyes on this. It really seems the higher the dose the higher his numbers, and the worse he feels...
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

What is Xobaline?
Debie & Jezebel
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

probably this (from the Tight Regulation Protocol):

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

Some cats also are known to throw an uncharacteristic high number just before a breakthrough in the numbers. Let's wait and see where he is in the morning.
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

You are not hurting him at all, you are trying to find the right dose. Libby's advice is right on...Just be patient & ask the board for answers you seek now--Paws & fingers crossed for some lower numbers for Big Kitty!
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

i know it can be hard to know if you're on the right track...but IMHO, you've got the best of the best advising you here.

hoping for good results for big kitty

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

Jezebel said:
What is Xobaline?
Debie & Jezebel

Vitamin B-12 to help with neuropathy...has very small amount of sugar in it.
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

Libby and Lucy said:
probably this (from the Tight Regulation Protocol):

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.


So is it better to hold the 3.75 tomorrow, or still increase to 4.25u, or would that depend on his AMPS?

I am sooo worried...
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

I have two thoughts. First, some cats experience new dose wonkiness (NDW) when a dose is raised. Instead of the BG levels dropping as you'd expect, they go up. (Go figure.)

The other thought is that maybe Big Kitty is reacting to the sugars in th Xobaline. This is another form of methyl-B12 that doesn't contain sugar.
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

evakot said:
So is it better to hold the 3.75 tomorrow, or still increase to 4.25u, or would that depend on his AMPS?/quote]

My suggestion is to get a before bed test tonight, and a +11 in the morning. Then you'll have time to decide what to shoot in the morning, or to post for advice if you're not sure. If he's still high tonight and in the morning, then I would increase. If he drops overnight, then you might want to wait another cycle or two to see what happens.
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

+1 PM was at 442, so still very high. Will get +2PM and then +11.

Will hold the Xobaline tomorrow, just in case.

Thank you all for your advice,

Eva
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

Hang in there Eva, I know you're worried and frustrated, but like Celi said, you've got the best of the best advisors helping you. So just keep breathing and try to relax.
 
Re: 11/02 Big Kitty AMPS 322, +8 376;PMPS 471!What is happen

Anne&Muffin said:
Hang in there Eva, I know you're worried and frustrated, but like Celi said, you've got the best of the best advisors helping you. So just keep breathing and try to relax.

Thank you for your support. I appreciate everyone on this forum for helping me get through this hard time with regulation...

E
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top