11/12 Maverick PMPS +4.5 93.6 +5.5 95.4 +6.5 84.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29540

Its been two full days of blues. The switch to Walmart Special Kitty Turkey and Giblets from Presidents Choice I think is the biggest factor. And maybe his body getting used to insulin too?

My vet would kill me if she knew I shot a 151. I'm home all day and can monitor him closely for lows. I have a hypo kit at the ready. I know what to do but will still be posting for reassurance I'm sure if it happens.

He ate a small bit before his AMPS reading too.

Last night was a bust for testing. I downloaded an iphone alarm app and it must have bugs. It didn't go off (stayed open in editing mode). I'm trying to trouble shoot why - its also staying open and draining my battery. So he might have gone a lot lower than his numbers show. I wanted a program that allowed for alarms to start off soft and get louder so my husband and I didn't wake startled through the night.
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 151 - lowest number shot on yet

Karrie, you did a good job testing last night, you don't need to get tests every hour unless he's going low. Nice shooting on a low AMPS! Since it is the lowest you have shot, and it may be a dropping number (+10 was higher), I would suggest starting out with a +1 and +2 to see where Maverick is heading. Speaking of Maverick, you might want to give him credit for that lovely AMPS by putting his name in the subject line. ;-) :mrgreen: He has had such gorgeous numbers, I hope he keeps it up!

Sorry about the alarm problem, I am no help on iphones! I do use my cell for alarms, and mine does increase in volume...it's a nice feature!
 
Re: 11/12 AMPS 151 - lowest number shot on yet

Now who is this cat with the all the pretty blues on his ss? I think it may be Maverick but not quite sure yet. ;-)

Have a nice day Karrie.
 
Re: 11/12 Maverick :) AMPS 151 - lowest number shot on yet

You guys crack me up. Thanks for the heads up on forgetting his name.

I'll test at +2 and post what we find. Unless you guys think I should test now (+1.5).
 
Re: 11/12 Maverick :) AMPS 151 - lowest number shot on yet

Vets get alarmed at shooting low numbers because the word, "liability" runs through their head. Keep in mind that most vets don't have beans who home test. They tell people to not shoot below 200 because it gives a safety margin if the only test you get is pre-shot. It also means that they think they don't have to worry about you calling them at midnight because your cat has a low number (silly vet!!). They don't train you on how to manage low numbers, either. Here, you learn all of that and have the confidence to train your kitty's liver!!

Maverick's SS is looks gorgeous!!
 
Re: 11/12 Maverick :) AMPS 151 - lowest number shot on yet

Congrats!!! You are doing a super job and Maverick is looking marvelous.

I had the exact same issues w/my vet.....But it was interesting....His do not shoot number kept decreasing over time for me as he saw how well Curry was doing and I was good at managing her drops. Finally I stopped emailing him what I was doing....but I did need his guidance at the beginning. He will see now what I'm shooting and say "good job". He just can't tell me to shoot those low numbers for "liability" reasons as Sienne said.

Awesome Job!!!
 
Re: 11/12 Maverick PMPS +4.5 93.6 our first green uhoh

Nice numbers! and yes - test in an hour - it's a good drop, and you want to stay on top of it so that he doesn't go too low.

Very nice day for Maverick!
 
Re: 11/12 Maverick PMPS +4.5 93.6 +5.5 95.4

He's still going down - 84.6 at the 5.5. He ate about an ounce of food in the last hour (not sure when exactly). I expected his number to go up not down again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top