11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135

a full day of blues last night and restarting the day with another one! I hope maverick surfs the day for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135

Nice AMPS! He's doing beautifully, keep up the good work!

Hopefully he'll make up for not eating so much overnight by eating more today. I know you keep a close eye on his food intake, and I don't blame you with his history. :smile:
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135

Another beautiful blue for maverick! Nice! Did he eat well this morning?
How about the Ps....purring, peeing, pooping, preening, playing?
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135

No he didn't eat well this morning at all. I'm going to assist feed him a few ounces.

He is acting fine. A bit more low key than normal though. He has bad arthritis so he mainly just walks and lies down. No playing. Catnip doesn't spike BG does it haha. I can give him some as a treat.
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

So some of you know I had a bad experience with Maverick's new vet - she started Maverick on 2 units and then got upset with me when she wasn't available and I decreased the dose to 1.0 on my own (with your guys guidance of course). I was really upset. Her instructions were - when in doubt skip the shot. So we waited a few days and she told me to call on Tuesday. She wasn't in until 1PM so we lost a half day. Then she called back and I got a few minutes of instructions. If he goes below 200 don't shoot - call her. I haven't been following this advice of course but felt torn that I couldn't be honest with her.

I got a bill in the mail today $27.00 for Diabetic Curve Management. What the heck is this - for the five minutes she spent with me? She sure didn't manage his curve. Would she be charging $27 per call to manage him? (based on her instructions - below 200 call her). Did your guys vets do this?

So I've decided to send her an email thanking her for her assistance. She is great the way she can work with Maverick and we are doing great. And that I will contact her if we need her and for his twice annual appointments (to do blood work and get a check up).

It really annoyed me. I wish I smoked - I'd have a cigarette to mellow. Grrr.

I wish I could donate that money to the forum instead of to her. You guys have been amazing!!!!!
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

That is totally unbelievable!!!! I can't even add up all the time my vet has spent with me on the phone over the years and has never charged me one red cent.
I think you have a good plan. Wow....that just seems to be all about the money.
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

I've heard of vets charging for phone time before. It's fair enough, if you think about it, because time is money and some people will try phone consults instead of making appointments. I wouldn't mind paying if the vet was actually doing something for me. Maybe she thinks she is, if she is planning to tell you whether to shoot or not. I don't know, mine does those things as customer service, but I'm sure if it happened regularly she would charge.

I think Maverick has room to add some fat to that dose to see if you can shift the range down from blue to green. What are your thoughts about that?
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

Is there a business manager for the practice? Perhaps you could discuss this with that person.
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

mine doesn't, but i've heard of vets charging for time spent on the phone. if you think about it, it's really not any different than being billed by other professionals. i've actually felt badly about time spent on the phone so i've told him to bill me (he hasn't). i've also made appointments to go in and talk to him... without bringing a cat.

i agree with libby about adding some fat to the dose...
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

It was no more than five minutes total and half of that was her snarking at me when I called about how far he had dropped in one day on her recommended dose.

I wonder what she means by diabetic curve management really though. I think thats what got to me. I paid her (half of that $30) making me feel stupid (like a mother scolding a child). Ugh. Yet another learning experience for me.
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

I can start adding some fat to it for sure. I can try that tomorrow depending on his number of course.
 
Re: 11/15 Maverick AMPS 135 PMPS 158.4 - bill from vet???

I understand being charged for a service, consultation, etc...no issue there. But I also understand being upset with being treated like a child...and then to get a bill for it is adding insult to injury.

Since you are happy with the way she handles Maverick and her other treatment for him, I think you plan sounds very reasonable....it's what I do with my vet. I really don't discuss diabetes management with her.

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
I have never been charged for any phone conversation. I would not have a problem with it as long as it was stated up front that they do charge.
I only use my vet (whom I love) for annual check-ups and sick visits. She learns about FD from me and because of my testing and research she has done more research herself.
I think you need to have a good relationship with a vet just in case but she should respect you as Maverick's full time caregiver and not treat you like a child.
 
I know you hate this kind of stuff - what if you called to speak with the front desk people, be nice but say you aren't sure what this charge is for.

my vet is all about the money but even he doesn't charge me for phone calls.

so did you even speak with her? I thought you guys traded voice mails for a couple days. how is that $27?

man this blows.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top