11/15 Buddy AMPS 310 +11 150 PMPS 191 +1 227 +3 231

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Last Post 11/12/2010

I know, I gotta stop this not posting on the weekend.
He's been more "Buddy" lately. He still wakes me up O/N but after a feeding at 5 am he climbed back into bed. It's funny how now that his numbers are much better, he is eating and wanting more and more food still. I'm thinking about taking him into the vet to recheck for hyperthyroidism. He tested neg at DX, but this is an associated condition with diabetes isn't it?
He has had more looser stools lately, pudding poo as we call it, not quite flat like a pancake. This coincided and progress last week with me preferring to feed Evo over the 9 lives. When I realized this Sunday evening, I started feeding more 9 lives at snacks and Evo at meals and it seems like the stools are forming up a bit better. Still "piles" vs. well formed. But in the right direction.
I skinnied up his pm dose tonight since he was running a bit lower than usual. I know I chickened out a bit, but at +1 he is lower than his usual +4 numbers so I'll keep a closer eye on him tonight. . . like I should anyway.

Tony

PS. . . he could still be rising, just thought about that.
 
It's funny how now that his numbers are much better, he is eating and wanting more and more food still. I'm thinking about taking him into the vet to recheck for hyperthyroidism. He tested neg at DX, but this is an associated condition with diabetes isn't it?

No, HT is not associated w/ DM.
Although his numbers are getting better, they still have a ways to go. Buddy is still spending time in the 300's and most of his time above his kidney threshold. I would not expect his appy to have decreased at these levels.
But you are making good progress !


I skinnied up his pm dose tonight since he was running a bit lower than usual. I know I chickened out a bit, but at +1 he is lower than his usual +4 numbers so I'll keep a closer eye on him tonight. . . like I should anyway.


now would be a great time to review the " getting ready to shoot lower numbers" sticky, if you haven't already. ;-)
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Remember: it is a learning and comfort for the bean as well as the kitty. don't worry, you'll get there !
Yes! tests are good ! I would suggest concentrating on the +6-+8 range where he seems to have his nadir.and the late and early numbers per the sticky--

You've been shooting this dose for over 2 weeks. time to think about bumping it up, eh?
 
hey, nice shooting last nite.

I skinnied up his pm dose tonight since he was running a bit lower than usual. I know I chickened out a bit,

thats ok! when in doubt, BCS (big chicken shot) at least you shot something and that is just fine.

have you got print outs of these stickie's hanging around here in LL:
Dealing with Low Preshots
and Don't Panic or How to Handle Low Numbers
Good info to have handy if you are not able to post frequently.

ETA: Nadir's would be good as Cheryl mentioned. Thank u for posting Cheryl!

but you did good Tony :mrgreen:
 
Thanks guys. Yeah, I didn't want to shoot a really small BCS dose, just something I was a little more comfortable with. I saw that he continued to rise after the shot which was good for me to see. I'm still adjusting to the new insulin myself and actually seeing an effect on his numbers. While he's been on insulin for 3 mos. it took till the new insulin was brought home to see responses like I am now - it's only been 2 weeks. Trying to get more comfortable with the lower numbers PS.
Tony
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top