11/16 KHAN Amps 246, +5.5/58, Pmps 395

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29837

Due to the time it takes me to load the spreadsheet from my computer here are the numbers ( I will update SS at work this am):

Pmps: +13/730pm/282, +2/271, +6/227,+11.15/115, +12/154 AND stinker got into other cat's food which is high carb= Fancy Feast gravy about 1/2 3oz can -about 10 minutes ago. I have to leave for work in 15 mins. .

What should I do for a shot? Normal shot dose 1.5u. I will come home at +5 today.
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

I see this is the lowest amps on lantus that you would have shot at? I don't really feel comfortable in giving dosing advice but I'm sure someone will be here soon to help figure this out .. I just want to see looking good khan! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

1/2 hr to 45 minutes. I could check him again and that would then be over an hour
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

Get one more test, then I would shoot a reduced dose, since you won't be home to monitor. If you are comfortable with a half dose, that's fine.
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

looks like I was wrong. I just checked him and his number is 246from the high carb food.. so what shouuld I shoot the normal dose? 1.5
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

The HC food was 1/2 hour BEFORE you got the 154? Just checking....I want to know if the 154 was food influenced or a natural rise.
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

What I meant by being wrong is the amt of time after I checked him. It has been 45 minutes since he ate the high carb food and his last BG check (at that time BG was 154) now 45 mins later it is 246!
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

154 was before the high carb food .. i know because it was before i went into the shower.. I had checked him, THEN set the other food down for my younger cat-rt outside bathroom door BUT then my toddler shut the door that is how Khan got at the high carb food so fast
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

Ok, so the 154 was before the HC food, right? If that's true, then you could shoot the full dose if you are comfortable.
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

Ok...he was rising pretty fast before the HC, so he should be fine. You will still get the +5, right?
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

Yes I'll go home at +5 or sooner if you think I should?

I'm a bit worried but not like I was when first starting the Lantus.

Thank you for the support - I really appreciate it. I don't NOT want to shoot since then I feel like I"m going backwards and my goal is to try and get a more balanced dose and feeding schedule. It is hard to get home sometimes at exactly 12 hrs.. Life happens and like last night I was giving blood and couldn't get up and leave.. complications and the place was very busy so it put everthing behind. I want to shoot Khan's insulin by 630am no later since then I can check him 1 last time before leaving for work. Now his schedule has been shifted to 730.. I was going to try and move it back by 15 mins per day.. is that rt thinking?
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN Amps 246

SS is updated

On a happy note: Briquette doesn't like the syringe feeding however I am able to get the food in! she went for Pepper's Hills s/d dry food this am! I caught her! I tried to offer k/d but no go on that one. Did take the fluids well.

Khan is coming out of his room more and more, poop stinks a lot less (thank goodness!). He ran down the hall- back legs are weak but didn't go out on him and he didn't run on his hocks! this was last night.
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN +11 115,+12 154 Do I shoot a 1/2 dose?

pepperthecat1969 said:
Yes I'll go home at +5 or sooner if you think I should?

I'm a bit worried but not like I was when first starting the Lantus.

Thank you for the support - I really appreciate it. I don't NOT want to shoot since then I feel like I"m going backwards and my goal is to try and get a more balanced dose and feeding schedule. It is hard to get home sometimes at exactly 12 hrs.. Life happens and like last night I was giving blood and couldn't get up and leave.. complications and the place was very busy so it put everthing behind. I want to shoot Khan's insulin by 630am no later since then I can check him 1 last time before leaving for work. Now his schedule has been shifted to 730.. I was going to try and move it back by 15 mins per day.. is that rt thinking?
I think +5 will be fine...if you are worried, go a little sooner....I hate to see anybody worry! I am glad you are trying to avoid not shooting, and remember that you can always reduce the dose if you are nervous. There's nothing wrong with that, and it will let you collect data on what happens when you reduce.

As far as schedule, we all have a life and can't always shoot at exactly 12 hours....if you get off schedule too much, you can always skip a shot and shoot the next shot at the regular time....just an option to keep in mind. You can adjust his shot time by 15 minutes on each shot, for a total of 30 minutes a day.
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN Amps 246

Thank you -- I really appreciate it. Right now I really need the support since I'm tired and want to make sure I don't screw something up due to being tired -not thinking straight and a bit overwhelmed. I feel I'm doing my best and it is really just fine. I"m focused on taking one moment at a time- one day at time-staying calm- give up what absoluting doesn't need to get done at the moment. What is important is "life" not my darn dishes! hahah.. so dishes will get done tonight along with laundry and litter boxes (I've tried to scoop 2x/day but have been a bit behind due to tight schedule-just not enough time.) Once done with all the cats then my son wants my attn and I can't blame him. We've been through a rough change this last week and he has done very well. I'd like to keep it that way. Tonight I have a bit more time and can get to bed on time--so that will definitely help. I"ve been talking to him a lot about the cat's health and why God makes rainbows and that there is a rainbow bridge.. that is what Maggie (our tortie w/breast cancer) ran over to get to heaven. I feel it is important since Wisp (breat cancer) has progressed and I will not put my feelings first-her quality of life will be first. I'm going to take her in within the week to have her evaluated. I trust the Cat speciality clinic's vtech (she is awesome)..to really discuss with me -pain medications etc..since cat's are so good at masking pain. Wisp is running around/eating etc.. so when the bad days are more than the good it is time--yet I need to know I haven't down played her pain due to being so busy. Know what I mean?
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN Amps 246, +5/58

Ok I just fed Fancy Feast low carb -normal food and added about 20 kibbles of the EVO dry herring and Salmon.. do you think I should give him a high carb Fancy Feast since I have to go back to work in about 20 minutes?
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN Amps 246,+5/58, +5.45/75

Fed high carb Fancy feast- he ate it, then gave Evo Dry which is lower in carbs but he never gets dry so he ate it. Then tested then put down Fancy Feast beef in gravy.. He NEVER gets this..it is part of my hypo kit. his eyes got big and followed me rt to the feeding area. I think it is probably safe to go back to work don't you think?
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN Amps 246

Just tested again.. 93, I left another gravy FF out for him so he has 3 bowls of food and EVO dry. He snorted from smacking his lips just now. I wonder -- did he like that high Carb food? hahahhah
 
Re: 11/16 KHAN Amps 246

Leave plenty of food out. I would leave early if you can, because you don't know if he will go back down. Nice catch and good job feeding it!

I'd just leave the HC, not the dry...but that's up to you. Yes, it sounds like he's enjoying the HC! :lol:
 
Well Khan is looking good.. Numbers are high, I shot late but tomorrow if I have to shoot a 1/2 dose I will. I'll test 1-2 times during the night to make sure he is doing well.

My grandma cat-Briquette (hyperthyroidism/not eating) ate by herself tonight!! Ate renal canned food. I gave her a choice of the following foods: Hills a/d (she ate some), Iams renal, Hills k/d and Purina NF.. she went for the NF.

Pepper the cat with crystals..was meowing away downstairs by litter boxes (there are 4 upstairs as well!) I watched him and he finally peed and he peed a good amount. Could be due to my syringing in 20cc at about 130 pm today?-but still the meowing bothers me alot-maybe he is in pain.. I should call DVM and talk to him about it since maybe Pepper needs pain meds to help him get past the pain of peeing? He didn't meow though when he was peeing.. just before.

good night I'm going to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top