11/21 Lightning PMPS 151, +2.5 71, +3 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pamela and Lightning

Member Since 2010
11/20

Finally got a blue last night at +4, but then back up to pinks this morning. What is going on here? With all this extra insulin he's getting I would expect to see him getting out of the pink range...is there something else going on? Is there a chance this new insulin isn't good? I thought it was a little weird that there wasn't a seal over the top of the pen, but then when I looked at all of them, there wasn't one on any of them. So I figured it was normal. But now, since nothing is really seeming to happen, I'm worried that it might be bad or something?
 
Re: 11/21 Lightning AMPS 339

i wouldn't worry about the insulin just quite yet. lightning is still in the shed building stage on this dose...
not to mention the possibility of NDW (new dose wonkiness):

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
 
Re: 11/21 Lightning AMPS 339

Thanks for that info Jill. I know I've read it before, but it seems like every time I get frustrated I forget everything I've read about this darn disease!! :shock:

We finally got a good number for PMPS and I'm soooo happy for that!! Not sure what the night will hold but I have a feeling I'm going to be getting up every few hours for some tests. I've gotten away for a few weeks without having to do any tests at night and I'm actually happy to have to start doing it again!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top