11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77, pmps~86, +3~51 - FF sale

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim 'n Shadow

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30400

Morning - unseasonably warm here, cats are loving it, napping in the sun. kinda wondering if Shadow's planning on earning a reduction this holiday weekend. I guess we'll see.
2 P's this morning, kitties are so lazy, they aren't even getting up for the LB. gonna hit 80 today. was 82 yesterday. in November. weird. DPS wants Shadow to be dosed at 8 am/pm so I'll be working on that while I enjoy my holiday weekend. Like Celi, I sure didn't intend to get out on Black Friday but that FF sale at Petsmart may be the lure of the siren song.

I'm so envious of folks that have this whole week off. And I'm especially envious of folks that can get their kitties to use the automat.
Have a good Tuesday.
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

Good morning Kim....

Warm and humid here too. Just wait until tomorrow for y'all and Thursday for those south of you.

Just curious....What dose were you planning on having the DPS shoot while you were away? If you don't mind me asking. :mrgreen: Ok, I'm being nosey here. :lol: :lol: (but that's what i do best)
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

And yet another great day for Shadow!!! Sorry you have to work, Kim....but at least you'll have some time off soon :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

80? 82??? omg - that sounds like heaven as i sit here in the frigid PNW where it is 17. we have the sun part, but not he temps. Enjoy the day!, before it changes in a few. It sounds really nice.

And equally nice amps for Shadow. Come on Shadow - use the automat OK? It's got really good stuff in it....
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

Tena - I plan on dropping Shadow to 1U bid while we are gone. trying to keep it simple for Mary. 1U will be hard enough, on those tiny syringes. I really stressed the small frequent meals and that should help keep Shadow from going sky-high. I will leave out the hypo kit and instructions as well as what symptoms she might have with DKA and a map to the vet ER. I showed her the ketostix, Shadow has never spilled ketones but if her sugar gets high enough, she'll be back to peeing on the floor next to the cat box and it is simple to test her urine from there. You are very kind to offer telephone support for Mary and I'm going to leave your numbers out for her. Our x-ray tech had a FD kitty (GA), so she will be able to help Mary with the most basic things as well.

I keep telling myself it is going to be OK. But you know us control-freaks - very hard to cede control to someone else. very hard.

I'm going to bounce the 1U off the experts and see if they think that will be good enough - I hate to think of Mary trying to wrestle with smaller doses than that.

you're never nosey, my dear.
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

Kim --

When are you traveling?

I was just looking at Shadow's SS and was going to suggest a dose reduction.
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

We are leaving a week from today, 11-29, returning 12-11.

we did the "see one, do one, teach one" last night with testing, I don't hold out much hope, not exactly a raging success and Shadow was a bit "testy" by the end.

Mary will be staying at my house with Shadow and the wrecking crew, the small frequent meals will not be a problem. She works but will pop in over her lunch hour to make sure Shadow has food.

I was going to try to keep Shadow on her current dose until we leave but her numbers are slowly working their way lower, and you know K-A-T-S - they do things on their own schedule.
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

Hi Kim nice amps for Shadow and I never thought Do Lou would use his automat but now he does 90% of the time what I did to get him used to it when he kept refusing it was to just feed all meals there that way he started to relate food with automat and after doing that for almost 2 weeks he finally got used to it he still sometimes ignores it but he uses it for the most part now
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77

Since I'm a newbie and just understanding the concept of shed filling and shed emptying......I was curious......If you reduce Shadow's insulin while you are gone, would the first few days be ones w/her shed emptying and thus cause some low numbers.....If so, would it be a good idea to reduce her dose before you leave? Didn't want to complicate the situation.....but was just concerned since you'll be gone.
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77, pmps~86 - FF sale

Brilliant Tena - thanks for thinking of that. Of course you are right. It will take a good couple cycles to empty her shed. Genius. thanks!!!
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77, pmps~86 - FF sale

Cindy and Mousie gave us a heads-up on the FF sale at Petsmart on Black Friday but she didn't know if it was nationwide or regional. I popped into my Petsmart after work today - fancy feast cases were stacked up to the ceiling. I'm thinking it's on.

Doors open at 7 am, Cindy says it will be a one day sale, 2 cases for $20. There was a sticker that said $.50/can. I guess that is their regular price, I don't know, I don't go in there very often, but I may have to start, cause that's cheaper than Petco.
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77, pmps~86 - FF sale

Shadow is looking soooooooooooooo great.

Thanks for the heads up on Petsmart FF.

Which of FF does Shadow eat?
 
Re: 11/23 Kim's Shadow amps~77, pmps~86 - FF sale

Shadow likes them all - civvies are a bit pickier, so I buy to please that bunch. They like turkey and giblets, beef feast, and savory salmon but not as well. My bunch just don't care for fish. They like pate, very picky about texture. nothing chunky. They used to like mixed grill but the last time I bought some of it, Romeo made the poop sign, he tried to cover it up. Not good. He's actually the pickiest and he'll love something today and hate it tomorrow. little rat. Both little females are a bit round, they both like all flavors and they never refuse food.

I've tried many other brands but have yet to find something they like as much as FF. The texture was the problem with Merrick, they didn't much go for it.

When this trip is over and the holidays are past, I think I'm going to try them on some feline futures and see if they can go for raw.
 
I was also considering going the raw food route. One of my concerns is that you can only leave the raw out for an hour....Curry has been taking 3 hours to eat her food. With the raw, however, she might eat it all in one sitting.

Curry usually eats pretty much anything. The EVO and Merrick don't have that bitter "liver" taste to it that she likes. I've only given her the FF Chopped Grilled Feast that is 2 %.....did try the Classic Chicken Feast the other day that was supposedly 4% and her bg increased. It would be nice to find something Curry and Sid will eat that's healthy.

Have a good last day at work Kim.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top