1/18 Max AMPS 373~PMPS 347~+3 230

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Good Morning
Max purring and very happy this morning and chowing down on breakfast after the
exciting day he had yesterady.
Would those blues make him bounce a bit today?
PMPS last night was unusually high for him.
I know I need to increase the dose and I will.

This is what have decided to do with regards to the vet because right now
I am angry. I know that I am treating Max properly!! Pointe Finale!
I should have asked the vet who only uses Lantus what her other patients do for hometesting and what does she base her dose increases on. As many of you have said, show me the
data to support your claims because I am confident that I have more than her.
I will do the "curve" she wants tomorrow but I am testing Max today as I always have done, I am not cutting back to please her.
I will also call my previous vet today and see if she will work with me. I will handle the diabetes and she can handle the medical issues if there become any. I am truly comfortable and confident with the knowledge I have gained and the 100% support of the board.
If she is not comfortable with that then I am sure she can find some collegues who will understand me (not that that is always a piece of cake)

Any with opinions (good or bad) on my ideas above would be appreciated.
Thanks all and have an awsome day!

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Randi & Max said:
I will also call my previous vet today and see if she will work with me. I will handle the diabetes and she can handle the medical issues if there become any.


EXACTLY. 100% agree on this. This is what I discussed with my current vet the first day I met with her as a consult.

Randi, you have learned a lot from this community with far more experience and hands on experiences than any vet - with the exception of Dr Lisa of course.

I'm very proud of you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Morning Randi: Why did you leave your previous vet anyway and go to the University Hospital one?

You said "The vet did not seem concerned about those conditions yet. As I have said she thinks his numbers might be high because I am stressing him by testing so much and wants me to stay at this dose for another 3 days, do spot checks and then full curve and fructosamine."
She is basing her diagnosis on a false premise...you're stressing him with the ear pricks during the day. That's simply not true.

Who will be better equipped to handle the results of those tests you want done, and who will do the tests if you ask?
If you feel more comfortable with your previous vet, then maybe a call to her might be in order.

Again, it comes back to MAX....how can you help MAX...and who will get to the bottom of things without adding unimportant issues into the mix. Why would she not run the tests while you are doing the above....I just don't get it...usually there are tests done to rule certain things out...I would call the other vet if you still have a good relationship with her....
You have all that data...she should be concerned about those conditions....
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Why did you leave your previous vet anyway and go to the University Hospital one?

Hi Pat- I switched vets for a few reasons:
1. She missed the Diabetes d/x in Oct when we were looking at his fatty liver
2. She started him on Caninsulin, the week after the FDA alerts...and stood by that it is a good insulin and there wasn't a problem on it.
3.She has ever treated Diabetes with Lantus.
4. I wanted him off Caninsulin and onto Lantus.
So I called the Emergency Hospital and met with Internal Medicine, showed her my results of the first Caninsulin curve and told me she only used Lantus.
Of course this was all done early in the d/x and I was not even on the board at that time (I was a lurker, not a poster)
So it might look like a lot of neagtives to see about going back to the fist vet but she is very knowledgable medically, very caring about myself and Max, will not run stupid tests if I don't want and will be extremely honest with me.
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Well, my vet office only used Vetsulin too. :sad: I switched on my own to Levemir and will need to
address this issue one of these days....don't know if they are still prescribing Vetsulin nowadays or what....

But, if she is caring and you get along with her, those are positive things...
How will she work with the Lantus though...if she is open to your using that, then that would be the best situation.
As far as the other one is concerned, the use of Lantus seems to be the only good thing about her... :lol:
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

orrrrrr you can look at this whole thing as a way to educate a vet (which ever one you like otherwise). You do need them to write prescriptions and order tests so you need to have a vet you can work with. My vet was fairly open minded but still a bit misguided about Lantus use, I mostly did my own thing with the diabetes.

And yes, last night and today's numbers are probably some bouncing from the blue, Max isn't used to blue anymore. I hope he'll get back to it soon! You can increase his dose whenever you're ready.
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Randi,
I was wondering how Max likes the two vets; does Max have any preference? Seriously.

Of all the vets that Shadoe has seen at this animal hospital we use, she likes the one that set me up with all the meds and stuff on Sunday nite.
She may not be the most knowledgeable on diabetes there, but she is the kindest and most receptive to listening and truly discussing the whole cat and everything involved. I take her info all the time and don't mind that she may not know everything because she is caring and open minded and willing to learn and compromise.

These kitties are pretty smart and I am positive they can sense the kind hearted ones. Just a thought to consider.

Max, what are you doing tonite? Working on some nicer numbers we hope.
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Thanks Libby
I will probably work on educating a vet, although not sure which one.
I have kept Max at 5 longer than I wanted to so that I can do the curve she wants tomorrow and be able to say, "now will you listen to me", he needs an increase and I know what I'm.
Although I don't think Max has a lot of the other signs for Acromegaly I will research it and
most probably insist on the test.
I have a message into another Dr. who also specializes in Diabetes but is on maternity leave
and not practicing. I hope to get some guidance there.
The god thing is that I have a bunch of free Lantus pens in my fridge and good bless Canada, you don't need a prescription for Lantus here. But, of course I need a proper vet, one that can do tests and still be there for Max.

Increase to 5.5 right?
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Gayle and Shadoe said:
was wondering how Max likes the two vets; does Max have any preference? Seriously.

I'll have to ask him Gayle. My first vet really snuggled Max and spoke to him.
This one I'm not sure she even pet him when he was in the rooms and I never saw her handle him. That's the vet tech's job!
She is very nice but maybe a bit full of herself. Ego's should be checked at the door.
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373~PMPS 347

Randi,
That`s what I really wanted to know. I believe that a vet should be literally `hands-on`

I hope you canb settle in with a vet that fits both you and Max`s needs.
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
Randi,
That`s what I really wanted to know. I believe that a vet should be literally `hands-on`

I knew that's what you were getting at.
So it's 11:00pm, +3 and Max is 230.
Do I set my alarm and wake up to test at 2:00am to maybe see blue (+6)

Tomorrow we are doing a curve (every 2 hours)
 
Re: 1/18 Max AMPS 373

Randi & Max said:
Increase to 5.5 right?

Actually, now that Max has some blue on the board I would probably just increase to 5.25, unless Jill or Jojo or Carolyn/Spot stop by and suggest something different. I bet he'll be blue again tonight. Good luck!
 
Nice to see this change in Max this evening.. Yay for the bloooo!!

I remember so vividly taking my SS to my vet and showing him that Pepper was on 5 units instead of the 2 units that he suggested.. eek! However, I did as others had suggested and brought him information regarding the Tilly protocol..
Now, I only have to see him once a year for Pepper's check up and to get a renewal for Lantus.. I am in charge of Pepper's dosing (whether it be decreases or increases). However, I do let him do a Fructosamine on Pepper once a year as he is still Pepper's vet. Fingers and paws crossed that that your vet will be just as understanding.. If not there are other vets out there! I had to let go of my first vet as he thought that I was cruel in testing too... However, he was great in other areas for Pepper, just not in diabetes..

Good luck tomorrow.. ((Randi))
 
Not all really, really good doctors are good with people or cats. Some of the most skilled docs have no bedside manner. I think it's a matter of what you want and who you feel you can work with best.
 
Just wanted to stop by and wish you and great curve day.

Max, we are all watching so let's see some pretty numbers please.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top