Re: 11/29 Chester's +11=377, amps 363
Hope Chester settles. Perhaps if you hold the dose (your choice of dose) for 5 days he will attain some consistency in his numbers. I realize you are afraid of low numbers but maybe you can find his good dose for blue numbers. I have attached the guidelines for reductions. Good luck with no forbidden foods. Normal feline BG is 60-120 or 70-120.
Reducing the dose...
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.
There are circumstances such as ketones present, an unusually low preshot number, a caregiver leaving the cat with a sitter, relatively high flat curves, loss of appetite, infection, a schedule change, ability to monitor, etc. which may call for adjustments to these guidelines.
********************************************************************
These are "general" guidelines which have worked for many cats.
Every Cat Is Different. Learn how YOUR cat responds to insulin.
We are laypersons - not veterinarians. Please discuss dosing, methods, and care for your cat with your veterinarian.
*************************************************************************************************************************