11/30 Khan Amps 143, 6/128

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Jenee, Khan's numbers are looking nice! He has plenty of room, his numbers look very safe. I looked at yesterday's numbers, he was fine with the 1.0u..you might have been ok to do 1.0u today also, see where he is when you get home.

pepperthecat1969 said:
thanks. I'm not a big fan either however I have 2 bags of the dry and he loves the dry kibble. He is in need of a dental. His back teeth on one side starting to look no so healthy.. red actually.. but until his BG is consistently within a range what else can I do?

FYI-- Grandma (Briquette) is getting back to herself, insists on pushing Khan aside to eat his food- this morning she didn't get her way so peed on his bed!, insists on going out.. which is a meowing meowing meowing until I give in.. if I don't she pees. She only goes out for 10 mins. This afternoon she was eating her renal food as she did this morning.. things are looking good.. then of course Pepper (crystal cat).. pukes rt next to my bed then down the hall.. what the heck??!!!! probably ate to fast. doens't like canned food but I mix it with the dry.. trying to convert him. not easy going so far.
I saw this in yesterday's condo...have you talked to your vet about doing a dental? I would do that if you haven't. If he has inflamation or an infection in his mouth, it can make it very difficult to get his BG regulated. It's ok to have a dental done on a diabetic cat, there are certain precautions, and bloodwork should be done ahead of time, but people do it all the time. As far as giving dry food to help clean the teeth, that is a myth....dry food really does not help, it's like eating cookies or candy to clean our teeth..not a good idea, right? If you want to clean his teeth, the best way (other than a dental) is to brush them.

I'm glad to hear that Briquette is doing better...but peeing on Khan's bed....not nice! Converting them from dry can be a challenge for sure, I still have one die-hard kibble addict...working on it though!
 
still really nervous if his amps is around 150 to shoot 1u or more.. todays was 143 so coming down but still a bit nervous. The more data I have the more comfortable I will become. Soon it will snow here and I may not have an opportunity to go home at lunch so I need to some how get prepared for it.
 
Oh, absolutely, this is a great opportunity to gather data...not saying you should have shot 1.0u. I hate to worry, and would rather err on the side of caution...just saying that if he's much higher, then you will see that he had room for you to shoot 1.0u. If you are not going to be able to get home for lunch, then you would want to be more cautious, of course.
 
Thank you so much. Your help and advice is invaluable. I'd feel lost without the support. Sometimes I feel like there is not going to be any end and that I will always always be worrying- I don't want that. I will worry but become more confident -rt now I feel like I'm stuck to the time clock and it's beginning to drive me nuts-well that and worring he may bottom out. Plus the cost. I really need to sit down and start to keep track on the amt of cans i go through and the cost. That way I can begin to look for ways to cut costs over all for the cat part of my budget since my 7 yr old healthy cat LOVES the can food and hides in Khan's cat tree (she loves him too)..but once gone she hops down and gobbles his food up.. i busted her last night and this morning doing this. I don't want to allow her in the room if the food is left out... Khan loves to cuddle with her but what options do I have rt now?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top