Nora & John & Tommy
Member Since 2010
Good morning,
We'll see how this goes...
We'll see how this goes...
Gayle and Shadoe said:One more thing to add:
be sure to test hourly after the R shot - testing the 4 hours after the shot will tell you how Tommy is reacting to R.
I looked at your ss and did see the .1u dose but I can't see at what time you shot R in relation to regular shot.
Nora & John & Tommy said:Thanks to all for the good wishes and advice. And advice/pushback is always welcome. So...
hypo kit at the ready..........................check
in contact with veterans......................check (Steve, Sharyn, and Dr. Lisa)
watching bg's and behavior like a hawk.....check
starting with tiny doses.......................check
raising doses slowly............................check
As to the R nadir coinciding with the Lantus nadir: there has never been any discernable correlation between Tommy's bg and the action of the Lantus. For a while he had nadirs 24-36 hours apart. Recently he has been flat and high. Today's experience with R is the first time that insulin action has been visible in his bg's. For the first two doses, you can actually see a little dip, with the cycle lasting about 4 hours, just as predicted. It's encouraging.
The +8 dose probably should have been a touch higher, since even though the Lantus action is typically invisible with Tommy, Lantus at +10 is probably losing its punch. Thoughts?
As to re-shooting at +4, this was done a) with consultation, b) after a rise, c) into a high number, d) at a low dose, and e) 4 hours is recommended by Steve and others. Sharyn recommended waiting 6 hours at first until a pattern was observed, but in this case the pattern seemed to be there at +4, and the drop in bg was relatively small.
Sharyn's and Steve's instructions seem to be fairly close, and we've gotten good guidance from both. And we've printed out everything we could find dealing with this technique.
The bottom line is a) his bg has been too high for too long, and b) we don't want to increase the Lantus too quickly and skip over an appropriate dose. Carefully using R boosters seems like a good approach.
Gayle, the 0.1 was shot at 6:00 am immediately after the Lantus. Yes, 3 shots of R this cycle. The light green row is for R shots, and the testing is shown in the row directly above.
And good suggestion about posting prior to a dose increase. We have been getting advice, but if there's ever a question, we'll post it.
Caryl, it's John actually, and +8 was 0.3 (not 0.03).
Again, thanks for the interaction. This board has been tremendously helpful. We'll keep things updated.