12/2 KHAN (+24) Pmps 369, +2/353

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31087

Please review SS & provide Feedback. I did not shoot this morning since he puked three times.
First probably due to the tuna flakes placed on top of his food OR the new Fancy Feast Classic I fed him.
Second time he puked his BG was at 85 and NO food was down- so fed.
Third time was probably due to him eating too much too fast. I was able to get him to eat Cowboy Cookout 1/4 can and then some Fancy Feast Salmon (which his tummy is use to).

Now what?
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109 NO SHOT-Puked 3x last night

no advice, but sending hopes for a soothed tummy for khan.
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109 NO SHOT-Puked 3x last night

Does Khan throw up a lot? Have diarrhea? I wonder about things like IBD, food/wheat allergies, or pancreatitis. Just a thought.

Cosmo's pancreatitis symptoms included throwing up (first, he'd barf up food, then gastric juices), inappetance, no purring, and sort of meatloafing. I treated with an arsenal of stuff (extra SQ fluids, pepcid/famotidine, mirtz, buprenex, and anzamet (anti-nauseant).

hope he's feeling better.
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109 NO SHOT-Puked 3x last night

How does Khan seem to be feeling now?

I'm a big fan of 1/4 of a tab of Pepsid to get Gabby's tummy settled down.
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109 NO SHOT-Puked 3x last night

I'm going home right now to check on him. He doesn't throw up very often. I think it was because I switched his flavor of food and maybe he ate too much that his tummy didn't like it.. it doesn't explain though why he threw up 7 hrs later. He seems to be losing Lean body muscle mass because when I tent his skin to give a shot it is becoming harder to get enough to tent. He is eating and pooping normal. I do have fluids at home I could give if necessary.

I post once I"m back from lunch.
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109 NO SHOT-Puked 3x last night

Does Khan act okay? LB action ok recently?
I think you did the right thing if he wasn't eating this morning. This is troubling...he got sick last night and then during the night, eh? Can you post later after you get home and let us know if he had gotten sick during the day? Did he keep any food down at all between last night and this morning?
I hope his stomach will be better this evening so you can resume your shots. If he is acting strange or cannot keep food down, then I would suggest contacting your vet. Hope others will have more suggestions....
Feel better Khan....I hope it was just a passing thing...
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109, +17/276 Did not puke.

He seems to be acting normal. I believe it really was that food change he had last night. Time will tell that is for sure. I'll post when I get home.
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109, +17/276 Did not puke.

Ok I'm beginning to get very frustrated as to why I can't get Khan's numbers down consistently under 200. What am I doing wrong? Poor Khan his back legs are difficult to walk on when his numbers are high 300s. The BG swings can't be helping either.

Should I switch to a better food? I've switched to feeding 1/2 a can Fancy Feast a sitting so his pancrease doesn't have overload..then I wait to give more food. What am I missing that I am NOT doing? or understanding here?
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109, +17/276 Did not puke.

I will keep very close tabs on the amounts and the type of food I am giving him.. maybe there will be a pattern that shows up? Now within the next day or two I have to switch to a new Lantus Pen.. do I need to be aware that the strength maybe different -vary from Pen to Pen?
 
Re: 12/2 KHAN +12/109, +17/276 Did not puke.

The strength of your insulin should not vary from pen to pen or between vials or any form of container. It's all the same concentration. It's like saying that 2 aspirin, both of which are 50mg are a different concentration. All Lantus is U100 concentration and it should be the same. However, it may be that your Lantus is pooping out due to age.

Khan is experiencing some bounciness so you need to take that into account. Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear. I also think you are holding on to doses for too long. If you keep a dose that isn't really working, Khan may get used to having his BG in that range and it's harder to get the numbers down.

As far as food, you may want to figure out how many calories Khan should be getting per day. I can't tell from your SS how much or when you're feeding.
 
I know I saw it somewhere on this page the amount of calories the cat should have on average per day. I will look for it. If you have it let me know. How would it be best to show the brand/flavor/amount of what he is eating on the spreadsheet so it doesn't look cluttered?
 
Here's the formula from Dr. Lisa's site: Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70

I'd suggest looking at SSs and seeing how people do things. I have how I feed in my signature. Everyone does things a little differently.
 
Thank you. I looked at your SS. I'll try to do the same since your SS is very clean looking while mine is not-which I don't like. I"m going to bed I'm exhausted. lets hope I can get some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top