12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186; PMPS 323; +4.5 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31286

I hope I linked yesterday's condo to this one ok. First time doing it. Thanks for everyone's technology advice. I am not too swift with computer stuff.

Yesterday: Simon had a little scare late last night with his low numbers but he and I made it through.

He is high today at 315 and is very tired but purring and seems alert when I talk to him. He ate well this morning. Since I was unable to give him his AMPS until an hour after his usual time, I will re-check at 10.5 and ask your opinion about how much insulin I should give him for PMPS (a reduction based on last night or the same amount as usual). I have to leave for a dinner at 6:15 so his insulin shot will be a little early. Hope that is ok.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: Did I link right?

You got the link. It works just fine.

No matter where Simon is at PMPS, you should shoot the reduced dose. Simon earned the reduction. While it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear, you want to take the reduction. It's only the first cycle after an earned reduction where you can shoot through the bounce.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: Did I link right?

Hi Georgia, You did really well last night. Your link to yesterday's condo works fine. Welcome to Lantus Land to Simon and you! When you get a chance, edit your subject line to include Simon's AMPS. You can add some of his other numbers to the subject line as you go through the cycle. Here's the formula: 12/4 Simon AMPS 315

Have a good Saturday,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: Did I link right?

nice work GG! (i take liberties with nicknames)

what a day you had yesterday...

celi and binks
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: Did I link right?

Hi again Georgia! Here is the link to the condo you opened earlier today!
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31299

you did the link perfectly! But, one condo per kitty per day, okay?
That way, we keep everything in one condo. You can ask questions or post updates in that condo. Good job on the linking!
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: Did I link right?

Nice job last night, you did great! I know the pinks are un-nerving after a low cycle, but that's the sugar dance. Just wait, what scared you so much last night will become all you want to see in no time.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186

Simon came down alot from this morning so things are looking better. I will reduce his dose this evening by .25, so I am shooting .75 u, right? I hope I can figure out what line it is on the syringe. If he is low when I get ready to shoot, I'll post to see if I should withhold insulin.

He is still tired looking but ate all of his food this afternoon and was ok with the testing.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186

Georgia...good job last night. Congrats on the reduction!! I hope you have 1/2 unit markings on your syringe. That .75u is always a fun one to figure out. Here's a photo...maybe it will help:
 

Attachments

  • 3quartersunit.jpg
    3quartersunit.jpg
    5.4 KB · Views: 662
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186

Majorie, thank you for the picture. It is really helpful to see it up close. Yes, my syringes have 1/2 markings.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186

Great!! I printed this and keep it in my hypo shelf...it really helped me. Hope it will help you, too!!!
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186; PMPS 323 Dose help!

I just tested Simon and he has gone way up to 323. I have to give him the insulin by 6:15 because I am going out. Do I still give him .75 even though the numbers are high? I'm nervous because I won't be back home for another 4 hours. Should I leave any food out while I am gone?
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186; PMPS 323 Dose help!

I think it's safe to shoot through this bounce and reduce the dose in the morning, but let's wait to hear what others have to say.

And Yes, I would leave food out for him. You're going to be gone until +4?
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186; PMPS 323 Dose help!

I have to leave in the next 5 minutes -- so you are saying that 1 unit is ok or should I do .75? Yes, I'll be gone for about +4.5
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186; PMPS 323 Dose help!

I think 1 unit will be okay for tonight. And leave extra food out for him. And test when you get back.
If you feel uncomfortable, go with what your gut tells you to do. That's what I would do.
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186; PMPS 323 Dose help!

I think I would go ahead and reduce, just to be cautious. Most people only hold the higher dose for a maximum of one cycle, unless they know their cat bounces for longer than that. It looks like Simon might already be coming down, so I would be conservative. Just my opinion. :smile:
 
Re: 12/4 Simon: AMPS 315; +6 186; PMPS 323 Dose help!

Thanks Sienne and Libby. Do what they say :-D
 
Got home a little while ago and checked Simon -- I was so worried about him when I was out tonight! He is down a little to 261. I left before I heard from everyone on the forum, so I just reduced his insulin but a miniscule amount -- it was probably closer to .85 instead of .75. He is in good spirits and ate the food I left out for him, although he usually eats everything so eating is not a problem.

I am wondering about tomorrow. Do you think I should go ahead and still reduce his dosage even though he is still over 200? This sure is a roller coaster and I'm so glad y'all are helping me through this.

Thanks!
 
so I just reduced his insulin but a miniscule amount -- it was probably closer to .85 instead of .75

hi there
have not visited your condo as of yet, may I suggest a little note in your spreadsheet regarding the actual dose given tonight.
you can edit the dose cell in there, if you want to call a fat .75u ( f.75u) and/or add a comment to your "comments" section.

what will your schedule be like for Sunday?
 
As Libby noted, you keep the old dose for one cycle only unless there is some compelling exception. Your dose for tomorrow should be 0.75u. Remember, Lantus dosing is not based on the pre-shot test. It's based on the nadir that's why the numbers in the 40s earned Simon a dose reduction.
 
I just want to apologize. I shouldn't have told you to shoot through the bounce tonight. I jumped the gun, and had not read through your whole condo first before advising you to do so. I would go with what Sienne suggested and reduce the dose.
I learned some things tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top