1/18 Maggie PMPS 135; +2 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34603

Nice AMPS, but this is the lowest AMPS for her since going back on the juice. I did shoot a 96 bg one time. Do I shoot the .50 or a chicken shot? I wish I would have done more checks last night so not enough data. She was very playful this morning, and someone here mentioned that when her cat is playful, she has a lower bg reading. I know, call me a big chicken, but I freak out with low numbers.
Re: Using Alpha Trak which reads higher than human meter.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

If you will be home to watch her as you did the other day, I say why not shoot the regular dose?
Maggie is looking good! Yay!!! Beautiful AMPS!
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

Thanks Pat. I'll be home for three hours after her shot and then gone for a few hours. She is doing good this 2nd time around, anti-jynx!
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

Maggie is looking great! If you're going to be around that much, I would probably shoot as well. Hope she has a smooth green surf!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

"Christie & Willie"]Maggie is looking great! If you're going to be around that much, I would probably shoot as well. Hope she has a smooth green surf!

Thanks Christie; I'm leaning towards shooting the regular dose since I will be home a few hours.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

Thats a 63 with a human meter. Are you sure you want to shoot if you aren't home all day (or at least until her nadir)?
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

Karrie and Maverick said:
Thats a 63 with a human meter. Are you sure you want to shoot if you aren't home all day (or at least until her nadir)?

I was almost going to shoot it....I'll be home for 3.5 hours and her nadir is iffy, around +5. I was thinking I'd leave some hc for her when I leave if she's too low.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

Sorry I just don't know enough to help. Just that I knew you were using the alpha trak. Sorry if I've complicated things. Here's a bump just in case.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

Oh gosh, I just got confused and decided to do a skinny .50 :(
Just was not sure what to do and easier to err on the side of caution. I had the hardest time getting a drop out to make it a skinny. My Vet wanted me to up her dose to a whole unit last week, and this will show her why a half unit is fine
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93 ?? - shoot regular dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just for future reference, Libby put this post together and you may find it helpful in situations like this morning: Dealing with Low Pre-Shots

I even have a copy of it right beside my computer, but my mind just drew a blank this morning. I think that's what sleep deprivation does to us? I could kick myself! Oh well, next time. Time for coffee.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93

WOW -nice amps for Maggie! I take it from your subject line that you did shoot? awesome? Shot a skinny? Sounds like you will be able to get spot checks in - so good to go. And so agreed on your comment re: the vet.

Have a great morning! And Maggie - be good, so your bean won't worry. :-D
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93; +1.2 135

Well, 135 at +1.5.....maybe I did a fur shot. Hard to believe just a skinny would make that big a difference!
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93; +1.2 135

Ann, You have been here a while, and you know what to do..OK so you got spooked, it happens, just do what you have done since you came...
We all see a lower number and say Whaaa???, But you have shot a 90's number before-you will be home till +3 which is when the insulin takes effect, and you know what to do to control the lower numbers--I have faith in you I guess, and just know you will do the right thing for Muffin! --You are doing great! Hugs from Us! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93; +1.2 135

Hi Ann, the 135 reflects the probability that this morning's insulin shot has not yet kicked in . (onset doesn't begin immediately; with Lantus I believe it begins after +2 or thereabouts). Keep on testing this morning. Maggie will be fine.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93; +1.2 135

Hi guys ... nice numbers today! I know maggie will be fine .. like ella said, the insulin probably hasn't kicked in yet .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie AMPS 93; +1.2 135; +3 119

Thanks Roni, Ella, and PeterDevonMocha. You would think this is my first time the way everything goes out the window, even with going thru it the first time. Hope I'm making sense.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie PMPS 135

Not too bad of a day. I didn't get home until +6, and I'm thinking her nadir might be earlier. I was busy today so will have to catch up on condos and events today.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie PMPS 135

maggie-girl...you deserve an award in this place...

Manx-museum.JPG
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie PMPS 135

Thanks Karrie and Maverick. She's so patient with me. As soon as I open the bottle of strips, she wakes up and gets on her spot on the sofa to get tested.

Celi, I love the pic - where oh where do you find all the neat pics? Keep them coming.
 
Re: 1/18 Maggie PMPS 135

i'm pretty much immobile on the couch lately...and have lots of time on my mischievous little hands...time to search the web... :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top