1/28 Willie PMPS 290R/267A (new meter)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Willie was 164 at +11.5 today, so it looks like we've cleared our bounce. Yay! Hanging out to get a +2, then will be home over lunch to get spot checks.

So, my vet consult was supposed to be at 9:30 today. The vet's office called at 8:05, and the assistant said that the doctor had reviewed Willie's file and believes that because he has an underlying skin issue and unregulated diabetes, he should be seen at the specialty vet and not his office.

I'm pretty hacked off. It isn't the statement overall... it is perfectly possible that Willie would be much better suited seeing the specialty vet right now. I'm going to make an appointment today. But they didn't say that they'd keep Willie's stuff on file and once his issues were resolved, we should give them a call. Instead, it was suggested I come get the papers I'd dropped off (because then I could just give them to the speciality vet). To me, that is code for "we don't want you back here." wow.

Once I'm done being mad, I will be thankful. After our last experience, I don't want my time and money wasted on a vet with whom I would be in constant conflict on how to best care for Willie. But I'm just really surprised that a vet would blow me off altogether, and it is making me wonder if our previous vet had a hand in this vet's refusal.

Regardless, we've got enough Clav to get us through next Friday morning. The specialty vet is a 24 hour clinic, so I'm going to see if they do evening/weekend appointments at no extra charge. Will mean a longer car ride, but they do take care credit, so I can pay for it.

I'm just frustrated. Willie is doing SO much better. His skin continues to heal more every day and we continue to see no new spreading. He has had a wonderful run of BG numbers over the past couple weeks, yes with some bounces, but he clears them and keeps trucking on to lower numbers. And yet, we have vets who refuse to even work with us. *sigh*

Okay, pity party over. Going to get in one last poke before heading to the office!

Have a great day, LL!
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

Maybe the vet realized he wasn't competent enough to work with an informed cat owner. (ok slap me for my cynicism). I wish the last vet we saw for Maverick had done this before we saw her and save me some grief. I'm still too anxious to make another vet appointment with a new vet. Maybe the specialty vet will make a recommendation for a general vet.
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

Oh darn it Christie - I am sorry, but perhaps Karrie is right in that they may not have wanted to work with a informed cat owner. What an a$$, and perhaps you are better off not going there. I too would not want to repeat past vets. How disappointing this must be. I hope that the specialty vet will be able to give you a referral to a vet who is open minded and willing to learn and work with you, not against you. I wish you the best in your search.

Willie - great start today! Keep it up - it will make your bean very happy. It is great to read that Willie continues to improve. Just the best! :-D :-D

Happy Friday - and have a good day.
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

Oh Christie, that's too bad...but like the others stated, maybe it's a good thing and you can get Willie to the right Vet. I'm confused as I thought this Vet was the Specialist...I better get that coffee and get back online when I can find my mind.
I hope you can get an appt. soon as the Specialty Hospital.
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

Wee Dub! u getn new vetty?? sounds like a good t'ing to De B...we has crap vet firs' go round...but we lubs our new vetty!
Binks


feel for you on the frustration, but hoping that a new vet will work with you...binks got screwed by his first vet giving him vetsulin and bad instructions on care, but she referred us to her college roomie when we moved and this one turned out to be a godsend...
celi
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

I hope it will all work out for the best. At least you live in an area where you have a good number of vets. I'm sure you'll be able to find one who will work with you.
Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

Thanks, guys. You are all 100% correct. :) I think my irritation stems from the fact that today's visit was going to be a consult with just me and the vet... no Willie. The fact that he couldn't even take 20 minutes of his time to chat with me (that I would have PAID him for) just was really disappointing. And I will say, he does appear to be older and his primary experience appears to be with dogs, so I am totally willing to give him the benefit of the doubt regarding his reasons for not taking Willie on. But you know, he took the time to look over Willie's info, and that is one more set of professional eyes on his file. I would have appreciated any insights he had, even if his conclusion was ultimately that Willie needed to go elsewhere.

@Ann--I have been planning to take Willie to our specialty vet clinic, but between the expenses thus far, Christmas, property taxes, and now my bar license fees, money has been tight. Was hoping to delay the specialty vet by a month or so, hopefully getting Willie's skin fully resolved (and avoiding a costly biopsy) and some new bloodwork done by a regular vet to help delay and possibly offset some of the specialty vet fees.

Okay, at work now... going to run home over lunch to get a spot check! Will be later before I can visit condos!
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

Hi Christie,
I'm not sure I've ever visited your condo before, and don't know Willie's history, but it doesn't really matter. After wasting a month trying to work with a worthless vet, I took the plunge and found another one. Thank God! Or new vet is fantastic. I personally think, even though he wasted your time, that it's a good thing this happened to you. He was not right for you and Willie. These things happen for a reason--we just sometimes don't see the reason right away. Have faith, you're going in the right direction now! And Willie is doing better! One step at a time, and we're cheering you on...

Sandy and Tessie Lou
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +2~224 No Vet today :(

Thanks, so much Sandy! We had problems with our old vet, and this was to be a switch, so I know exactly where you're coming from! :) Thanks for stopping by to visit us!

Okay, Willie has his speciality vet appointment! We're doing a drop-off visit at the specialty vet on February 7th (the soonest they could get him in) but the good news is, we will be knocking out visits with both dermatology and internal medicine that day. Nothing invasive... they just give him a thorough checking over then call me to come in and discuss an action plan. Will be $200, which could be worse. Who knows... by then, maybe he'll be largely healed up and dermatology will decide a consult is unnecessary? A girl can hope, right?? :)

His Clavamox runs out on the 4th, but I've called the old vet to see if they will extend the prescription a few days. Given that the speciality clinic will be calling to get his records, they can confirm that I'm not just making it up, so I'm hoping it won't be a problem. Of course, now they'll probably catch on that I didn't start the Clav right away when they gave it to me, but I don't think that they will deny him medicine just because they are annoyed with me.
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +1~224, +2~249 No Vet today :(

Good morning!

It seems that despite your understandable frustration, things are looking up. You're getting things sorted, Willie has his appointment, and you have some time before then for his skin to improve even more. I'm glad it's all going to work out.

Willie, you're doing awesome. Keep it up, impress that new vetty person you'll be meeting in a while.
 
Re: 1/28 AMPS 175, +1~224, +2~249, +5~269, +6~295

Hi, Violet! Yes, I hope I can get his numbers consistently better before meeting with the vet. You hear that, We Dub?? Wish Binks was available for a consulting gig. :lol:

No idea what is up with these numbers. He did get squirmy at shot time, so I suppose a fur shot is possible, but I don't think so. We're already pushing pink at +6! Hoping he comes down soon.

He's had some lunch time cuddles and is now taking his bath. 4Ps in place today. This morning was funny.... he decided that he was not interested in our morning "business" (poke, shoot, pill in exchange for food). He bolted at the words "It's time to do our bidness." Yeah, made it as far as the water bowl, at which point he stops and tries the hardnosed negotiating "how's about I just look cute and you gives me de fuds??"" approach. epic fail, kid. epic fail. I told him he was lame. I mean, if you're going to run away, at least make me chase you around the dining room table a couple times and then go hide under the living room chair or something. Geez.

Hope Friday is treating all our LL friends well!!!
 
Re: 1/28 Willie AMPS 175, +1~224, +2~249, +5~269, +6~295

Major bummer on the vet but maybe it will be better in the long run to just see the specialist. Could be ALOT worse than $200!!

Come on Willie..you are going the wrong way!!!
 
Looks like Willie stayed pretty flat today... was expecting numbers over 300 given that +5! (and we all know what flat yellows mean.... ;-) ).

We got our delivery of our new Advocate meter today as well as the monoject syringes. I can't remember who used the monoject... I just remember something about bubbles and a triangle. It took me three tries to get a bubble-free syringe, so I'm hoping I get the hang of it soon. The meter appears to work fine. Will be doing a comparison to my Relion for measurements tonight and maybe tomorrow just to see if they are consistently inconsistent with each other so I can note it while monitoring Willie's overall progress.

Got home at +11.75 to a very grouchy kitty! He was yelling at me before I even opened the door! "I'm hungry! Where have you been! Do you realize what time it is? You almost missed Business Time!!!" eeks!! We've now been poked, shot, pilled, fed AND brushed (Willie's favorite non-food treat!). He's nudging my hand almost as if to suggest I need to tell you how especially pretty he is now... so, just so you know, Willie is EXCEPTIONALLY pretty right now! LOL

Okay, time to figure out what to do for dinner, then off to visit some condos! Have a good night, LL!
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Willie hides just about as good as Chaos does! Yeah, I tell Chaos he's lame sometimes too, when he's doing is Invisibility Cloak thing. He could at least get under something, I agree! I'll bet he's looking exceptionally pretty- he sounds like such a sweetie.

Flat yellows... if you get some action after yours, tell me all about it 'cause I'm still waiting for mine!
 
Hi again, Christie,
Many of us use Monoject syringes because they have good measurement-unit lines and a flat plunger that is easy to line up with the lines. Here again is a tip for avoiding bubbles:
1. work the plunger back and forth a few times to loosen it up.
2. push the plunger all the way in FORCEFULLY and hold it there.
3. still holding the plunger all the way in, insert it into the insulin cartridge, ease up on the plunger, and SLOWLY draw out more insulin than you need.
4. with the tip of the needle over a paper towel, slowly TWIST the end of the plunger until you reach your correct dose. (Twisting is easier and more accurate than pushing).
5. give the shot.

The key here is step #2, forcefully holding the plunger all the way in. This expels any air that might be hiding in the syringe.

I'm glad that your day got better and that you got the appointments with the specialty vets. Good job!

Ella
 
Thanks, Ella! I think the "FORCEFULLY" may be my problem... it always seems as soon as I get the syringe in the vial (I swear, a vet better give me a script for cartridges soon!), a bubble forms on the tip. I otherwise followed your advice for getting the bubble out, but when I tapped it to the top, it seemed the insulin was just working its way around it when I twisted, so insulin came out but the bubble stayed. :( I'm sure I'll get the hang of it... eventually! LOL

Thanks for stopping by to see us! Have a great night!
 
To be honest, I think you reduced Willie's dose before he earned the decrease. In fact, I think you reduced him to a skinny 1.5 before he earned the decrease. If it were me, I'd bring the dose back up to 1.5u since I'm assuming you'll be around this weekend to monitor.
 
I optimized Ellas suggestion a bit. I do the forceful thing too but draw back about 1unit or a bit less. Then I pull down the plunger a little to let air in (the syringe is out of the cartridge) I can see the bubble that sticks to the plunger and by twisting and pulling back on the plunger a little bit, the bubble joins with the air at the top part of the syringe. Then I let the insulin level out (instead of being on an angle) by holding the syringe straight up and down and push out all the air so that insulin is coming out of the needle. Then draw up more insulin. Then finding the microdose may take me a few times.
 
nice on the new meter! I just switched to monojet too - just for the consistency on the line markings. Sometimes I too get bubbles no matter how hard I try to avoid them. :roll:

I love Willie's approach to dinner time - they always think we are late... silly boys!

have a great night!
 
Thanks, Sienne for your insight! he does seem to be staying high too long. If tomorrow's preshot isn't down significantly, I will increase back up to the full 1.5. We're six weeks in at this point... do you think he should be earning decreases at 50 or 40? Not sure which to follow!

Karrie-- thanks for the insulin suggestion. Will reread when not under the influence of sparkling pinot noir! LOL

Michelle-- these boys are silly! Hope you have a good night too!! :)
 
Christie & Willie said:
Got home at +11.75 to a very grouchy kitty! He was yelling at me before I even opened the door! "I'm hungry! Where have you been! Do you realize what time it is? You almost missed Business Time!!!" eeks!! We've now been poked, shot, pilled, fed AND brushed (Willie's favorite non-food treat!). He's nudging my hand almost as if to suggest I need to tell you how especially pretty he is now... so, just so you know, Willie is EXCEPTIONALLY pretty right now!!

Hi Christie and Willie,

That is so sweet. Your doing a great job with Willie, I'm sorry about the vet experiance (I'm not overly religious), but one of my coworkers told me today "when God closes one door, he opens another"...I thought there must be some trueth there. Good luck with the new specialty vet.

Have a wonderful night
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top