1/29 Curry~AMPS 70 PMPS~93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tena and Curry(GA)

Member Since 2010
Previous post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35089

WWIII in CurryLand.

Curry is doing great except for her pissy personality. I reduced her dose on Thursday night to a fat 0.5 ....she had a 37 around +5. Part of the drop was due to stress and the other was prob. due to needing less insulin.

Long story short Curry attacked Sid Thursday night....have to keep them separated by keeping Curry in the study....I have information on how to deal w/feline aggression towards another cat......Might need to purchase a crate to put Curry in when I begin to reintroduce her to the living room w/Sid......the last 3 times she saw Sid and attacked her..Need to break the chase-attack cycle.....If it goes on too long w/call the vet...Curry might need something for anxiety.....The upside for Sid is that she gets to sleep w/me which she typically doesn't do w/Curry around.

funny-pictures-boxing-cat-rocky.jpg
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Wow, it sounds like you are having a really crazy time at your home with the battling felines. I hope the battle dies down soon. Curry is looking fabulous this morning with his AMPS. Too bad his personality isn't as fabulous this morning, but hopefully he will get better as the day goes on. Good luck with the mediation.
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Morning! What a glorious AMPS - nice job Curry. Good luck too with the dosecrease.

Wow on the aggression on Curry's part. I hope that can be resolved. Is this something new with Her? No changes recently that could have her upset? I have no advice, have not had to deal with this problem. I wish you luck!

Love the photo - very cute, very Curry at the moment?

Have a great day guys! and Curry - you be good.
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

sorry about the aggression issues. :sad: Fortunately it is something I don't have experience with. Nice numbers on a reduced dose, though!
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Michelle....I think the precipitating factor was that Curry saw a cat outside....got upset....Sid was right there and Curry turned her aggression on the closest being....Sid......I isolated Curry....her numbers dropped dramatically.......Then had to bring Curry out to living room to watch her....she attacked Sid again.....She's done this before when she saw a cat outside and then went after Sid but it resolved itself quickly....I think her dropping numbers added to her stress and now its a knee-jerk reaction on her part if she sees Sid on the floor by the master bedroom/kitchen area....If Sid is on the dining room table I don't see the same aggressive behavior...

So I'm gonna buy Curry a crate today so she can at least be in the living room....put a sheet over 3/4 of it so she can't really "see" Sid and slowly integrate her back into the family.

Right now Sid is giving me a neck massage....so cute.....she is hanging out w/me more since Curry isn't here.
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Great looking numbers! That reduction is looking good.

Poor Sid. I hope Curry gets her act together. You might also want to try distraction as a means of short circuiting the aggression. Distracting with play is often helpful.
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Wow, what a great AMPS for Curry! Sorry to hear about her aggression toward Sid, especially since they used to get along. Hope you can resolve the problem. Good luck with the crate.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Oh Sienne....yeah, I was just doing that w/Curry in the bedroom..Playing and trying to workout some of that aggression...went to leave the bedroom....she got out of the bedroom bwtn my legs and went after Sid again. Dang. So now everytime she sees Sid its reinforcing the aggressive behavior.....Of course I can't play too much w/Curry during the first 3-4 hours after her shot since her numbers can plummet a good 20-30 points....Geez.

So back to isolation....Will get the crate for later....not now...Curry doesn't need to see Sid at all.

Poor Sid...she is such a sweet kitty.
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

((Tena)) Sorry about the craziness there. Isolation and crates and wow...you are a full time referee now eh?
As if you had nothing else to do, right?
Sending peace and serenity vines to your place.....and hugs too! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Awwww I can see why Curry has some anxiety. Maverick once saw a cat outside and his referred aggression/fear resulted in antibiotics for me and I still have small scars. Maybe Sid is acting different since then too and Curry senses this. Sending hugs for Curry and hope you get things settled down.

Amazing AMPS for Curry. He's liking the new dose :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Copper has attacked Moonie too after seeing an outdoor cat more than once ! and Me once, but I was there trying to see the source of the agitation--
I have used squirt gun to stop unwanted behavior, a few times--It does work..Sounds mean, but I'm not talking about a soaker, just a few drops of water even a spray bottle, & that's enough to thwart and attack...Cats Dot like water, we all know that!--
You need to stop that negative behavior--Hey they get really pissed when a strange cat is around!! I know that--
Good luck, if playing doesnt work, well maybe a spritz?? :lol: :lol: :lol: --Hugs from Us :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Tena -- it's BT in this case, not CBT!! (unless you meant cat behavior therapy!)

I wonder if isolation will work, though. There's no place for Curry to work off the aggression and it doesn't do anything to reinforce a different, more desirable behavior. Ideally, play, even a short period, acts to distract Curry away from Sid and the aggression is displaced in a better way. The hard part is that you have to be there to intervene.
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

I agree w/ya....A little water squirted can help stop it after it happens.....The hard part is figuring out a method to stop the aggressive behavior before it occurs....and preventing it from becoming a learned behavior.

So my first step is to calm Curry down by isolating her.

Next I will put her in the crate in the living room w/a sheet over the side facing the area where Sid is hanging out (right now Sid is hiding in the bedroom)

Then I will allow Curry to see Sid while Curry is in the crate for a short period....she won't be able to chase Sid at that point.....reinforce the non pissy behavior w/the freeze dried treats...

I have made an appointment w/the vet on Tuesday afternoon...I was thinking about doing this anyway before she started attacking Sid....kinda a 6 month checkup.....its been 6 months since her diabetes diagnosis.....and now I can just make sure there isn't any medical reason for her aggressive behavior....
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Sienne and Gabby said:
Tena -- it's BT in this case, not CBT!! (unless you meant cat behavior therapy!)

I wonder if isolation will work, though. There's no place for Curry to work off the aggression and it doesn't do anything to reinforce a different, more desirable behavior. Ideally, play, even a short period, acts to distract Curry away from Sid and the aggression is displaced in a better way. The hard part is that you have to be there to intervene.


Yes..Cat Behavior Training..... :lol: :lol:

Yeah you are definitely right about needing to get Curry to play to work off some of that aggression...I tried that yesterday and as soon as she saw Sid, she went after her.....She was too fast for her bean... :lol: .....I was gonna put Sid in the bedroom while I play w/Curry a bit later on today....have the larger area of the living room so she can run....however, want to do it when she's not going to drop on me....Curry playing = dropping numbers especially the first few hours after her shot.

Thanks for the feedback.....
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

Hello! I'm starting to get to know all the LL beans and kitties one at a time, and wanted to say hi. Lovely AMPS, but sorry about the aggression. I've had a little of the same trouble with my cats. My civie, Lu, would see the neighbor's aggressive cat outside (he stares right into our window and eggs Lu on!) and either attack Chaos or even spray something in the house! Lu has had moments of aggression and nearly sent me to the doctor once, and I had to figure out what makes him tick in order to change his behavior. For Lu, it's attention, but I know ECID. I wish I had something more helpful to offer. Serenity vines to you and your furbabies, and how cute about the neck massage. I wish either of my cats would do that!
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

So glad to see Curry doing so well with her BGs and going down the scale...what progress!!!

Bummer on Curry going after sweet Sid!!! I thought they were best buds!! I hope you can get it sorted out so Curry doesn't have to be isolated or in a crate. What a pain!!
 
Re: 1/29 Curry~AMPS 70

I don't think water guns are the least bit mean. My monsters are all too fast for me, the water gun levels the playing field. I've even resorted to swishing a flyswatter around and whapping the furniture with it. they didn't know I would never have used it. And if it saves Sid from a vet visit for puncture wounds or worse.....

could you distract Curry by shaking a jar of pennies? something to spook her and make her run off?

cranky little Curry - what a toot! how is her asthma doing? hypoxia can make you cranky.

but what great numbers you are getting on a reduced dose! do you still have the feliway plugged in?

miss you.
 
Hey Kim.. We miss ya my dear..

..I tried the coins in the jar trick today....she was wanting in my bedroom where Sid was hiding....she stopped in her tracks....She spent the entire day w/me....She seems more relaxed.....Triple yep on the Feliaway....have 3 of them going.....And her asthma is good.


One pic a week
Its PEACE we all seek.
 

Attachments

  • Curry feeling blue.JPG
    Curry feeling blue.JPG
    474.3 KB · Views: 591
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top