1/30 Maggie PMPS 154 - ATrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35515

All P's in place, even lb w/out adding Miralax. Maggie meter was very playful. I usually have her pole mousie toy in a certain area, and this morning I caught her with the mouse in her mouth dragging it across the floor. I think Maggie is going to see some greens today, and I'll be around except back and forth doing laundry, but the laundry room is just down the walkway. I think the 137 is a bit of a food spike from some surf 'n' turf Merrick. Have a nice Sunday.
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137 AlphaTrak

I see green in your future!! With an amps like that it's almost a sure thing! Doing great you two!! Enjoy your Sunday!! :-D
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie +2 74; +3 80; +4 88 Dose Reduc. AlphaTrak

I had a feeling she was going to get a 70's, and when I came in the door from the laundry room, she had a look about her when she gets low. Maggie has had three 70's since January 21st, so she's earned a dose reduction. She's getting .50 right now, and I'm wondering if I should shave the dose or reduce to .25, or is there much difference? Can you count how many questions I asked in one sentence? :lol: Back to the laundry room in a few minutes.
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 74: +3 80 - D Reduction? - ATra

Maggie has gone up to 80 with adding just a few pieces of the FF Grilled Chicken Feast. She's eating like she's starving, poor baby.
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 74: +3 80 - D Reduction? - ATra

Bump on the reduction.

If she hit 40s three time in one week isn't that a reduction for a non newly diagnosed kitty? If so she should be getting a reduction. Not sure if you want to do the full .25 though. I'll be following what the experts say.

You rock Maggie!!!!
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 74: +3 80 - D Reduction? - ATra

Hi, Ann & Maggie.. all is looking GRReat here.. FF Grilled Chicken.. Yummy... I love to see a healthy appetite ;-)
Happy Sunday to you both.. I will be curious if you get a dosedecrease. Either way, she is looking really good!
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 74 Dose Reduc. AlphaTrak

Ann and Maggie11 said:
I had a feeling she was going to get a 70's, and when I came in the door from the laundry room, she had a look about her when she gets low. Maggie has had three 70's since January 21st, so she's earned a dose reduction. She's getting .50 right now, and I'm wondering if I should shave the dose or reduce to .25, or is there much difference? Can you count how many questions I asked in one sentence? :lol: Back to the laundry room in a few minutes.
maggie sure is doing well! :mrgreen:
generally speaking, we like kitties who are not newly diagnosed and/or have returned from the falls to drop below 40 (70 on the alpha trak meter) before suggesting a dose reduction... depending on the caregiver's ability to monitor. if you're uncomfortable with the current dose, i'd recommend shaving rather than taking a full reduction. hopefully, she'll hold the reduction this time.
good luck with whatever you decide to do!
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 74: +3 80 - D Reduction? - ATra

Thanks Karrie. Yes, if Maggie hits 70's on the Alpha Trak three separate days, the protocol says she earns a .25 reduction, but I'm leaning towards just shaving the dose. I'm in no big rush. I want to make sure her pancreas is healng.

Hi Nicole & Baby. Yes, the FF Grilled Chicken bring up her glucose almost instantly. She's extremely carb sensitive.
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 74: +3 80 - D Reduction? - ATra

What another nice day for precious Maggie!!! Love her play story. I'm glad you got a great answer to your question and will be looking soon for her shaved reduction!!
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie AMPS 137; +2 74: +3 80 - D Reduction? - ATra

maggie sure is doing well!
generally speaking, we like kitties who are not newly diagnosed and/or have returned from the falls to drop below 40 (70 on the alpha trak meter) before suggesting a dose reduction... depending on the caregiver's ability to monitor. if you're uncomfortable with the current dose, i'd recommend shaving rather than taking a full reduction. hopefully, she'll hold the reduction this time.
good luck with whatever you decide to do!

Thanks Jill for your advice. I guess she hasn't gone below 70 on the three occasions, but more mid 70's. One bg was 73 on January 21, yesterday was 76 and today 74. I agree a full reduction may be too much, so I may shave the dose or call it a skinny .50 and see how she fares. If it doesn't hold, I can always go back up to the half unit. Many thanks again.
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie +2 74: +3 80; +4 88; +6 106 - ATrak

I think Jill meant that she would go below 70 once (she doesn't need to go below 70 three times, just once). Mid-70s don't really earn a reduction for a non newly diagnosed cat. You can always try it, though, especially if the numbers make you uncomfortable or if you are going to be out of the house a lot. As you say, you can always go back up if it doesn't stick. Maggie is doing great!
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie +2 74: +3 80; +4 88; +6 106 - ATrak

Libby and Lucy said:
I think Jill meant that she would go below 70 once (she doesn't need to go below 70 three times, just once). Mid-70s don't really earn a reduction for a non newly diagnosed cat. You can always try it, though, especially if the numbers make you uncomfortable or if you are going to be out of the house a lot. As you say, you can always go back up if it doesn't stick. Maggie is doing great!

Thanks Libby for your advice. Thanks for explaining. I did see on the U. of Queensland protocol where it says "If the cat drops below 70 mg/dl once - Reduce dose immediately by 0.25 depending on if cat on low or high dose insulin." Okay, I do understand this statement. I think most likely if I kept her on .50 unit, I know she would drop below 70 bg.

Now here is the confusion on my part. Right above this statement it says "If the nadir glucose concentration is 70 - 80 mg/dl at least three times on separate days - Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5IU depending in if cat on low or high dose of insulin." So what are they saying here with the three separate days? I am probably misinterpreting this statement, but I thought it meant having a nadir between 70 and 80 on three separate days? Or would this be for a newly diagnosed cat vs Maggie returning from the Falls?
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie +2 74: +3 80; +4 88; +6 106 - ATrak

What a nice day for Maggie - all those wonderful numbers! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I can;'t help eith the dose questions - but wish you good luck with hatever you decide. You've done so well with her.


Maggie!!! Did you like our weekend get-away to the tropics? You have the best ideas - it was so fun for all us kitties to boogie on out on our own. Sweet! See you later ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie +2 74: +3 80; +4 88; +6 106 - ATrak

The Queensland protocol doesn't differentiate between a newly diagnosed cat, a cat who has been diabetic for more than a year, or a cat who's fallen out of remission. The way we've modified the protocol is to make it a little tougher for kitties who have been diabetic longer or who are returning from the Falls. That's probably why you're confused by the Queensland protocol.
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie +2 74: +3 80; +4 88; +6 106 - ATrak

What a wonderful string of cycles for Maggie! I was confused too at first about the protocol. Instead of following the Queensland handout, folks here follow the rules contained in the sticky itself.

have a great night!
 
Re: 1/30 Maggie +2 74: +3 80; +4 88; +6 106 - ATrak

Sienne and Gabby said:
The Queensland protocol doesn't differentiate between a newly diagnosed cat, a cat who has been diabetic for more than a year, or a cat who's fallen out of remission. The way we've modified the protocol is to make it a little tougher for kitties who have been diabetic longer or who are returning from the Falls. That's probably why you're confused by the Queensland protocol.

Hi Sienne. Yes, definitely that's why I was confused. It does not differentiate for a cat who has fallen out of remission. I was going by the Queensland as it had it broken down by the human and animal meter. I'll look at the Tilly protocol. Thanks for unconfusing me.
 
The 154 bg is a food spike. After her 74 bg at +2 I just gave her a few teeny pieces FF chicken feast (no gravy) - can't believe how carb sensitive! I may stick with her regular dose one more night and see what happens.
 
this is one of the differences when we say we follow a modified version of the protocol. We don't often use the three times under 50 guideline here - a few people do, if that is what works best for their cat, but most of the time we look for either going under 50 once (newly diagnosed) or under 40 once (longer term diabetic or returning from the falls).
 
Libby and Lucy said:
this is one of the differences when we say we follow a modified version of the protocol. We don't often use the three times under 50 guideline here - a few people do, if that is what works best for their cat, but most of the time we look for either going under 50 once (newly diagnosed) or under 40 once (longer term diabetic or returning from the falls).

Okay thanks Libby. So for Maggie returning from the Falls I should aim for under 70 using the Alpha Trak as Jill stated earlier, following the modified protocol. She was almost there today, but not quite with a 74 bg! Thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top