2/7 Willie PMPS 175, +3~137, home from the vet!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Willie (GA)

Member Since 2010
Posting from my phone, so no linky to yesterday. Willie is at the vet now, and it looks like he won't see the derm until this afternoon. :(

We had some hair pukus at 4am, at which point I accidentally threw him off the bed midpuke. was trying to get him to aim for the floor and not the bed! this was followed by 2 hrs of nose kisses, chest cuddles, and huge purrs. he hasn't done that in awhile, and was just what I needed to melt some of the vet stress away. though, it also may have just been a failed attempt to keep me in bed to avoid the vetty! poor willie... his desire for food always foils his best laid plans! I think replacing the feliway cartridge was a good idea... he has seemed calmer.

off to finish my panera breakfast and then run errands. will report back when I hear anything!
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet visit today

Good luck at the vetty place Willie! Christie, I hope it all goes well, and that they can help you with Willie. I love it when our kitties cuddle and snuggle like that - they seem to know when we need it.

have a good day. Update when you can.

Willie??? You at the vetty place? you want the KTSS to come and give you the spa treatment after your visit? Us kitties will take away the vetty smell, give you a massage, and make you feel better. We will see you soon! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet visit today

I hope Willie has a good vet visit without too much stress. We'll be looking for an update.

I do hate it when Gabby decides she would rather anoint the bed linens vs. the floor. It sounds like Willie wanted cuddles -- gotta like that.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet visit today

What a sweetie. Good luck at the vet today. He will be so happy to see you when you come to get him. I'll be watching for updates.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet visit today

Good morning guys .. sorry to hear about the throw up incident .. I bet the kitty snuggles made up for any mess made ... hope the vet visit goes well without any major complications or stress .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet visit today

Good morning, Christie & Willie..
I was thinking of you two & thinking good thoughts for Willie's vet visit today - where is he going? Whenever I hear one of my furbabies start the coughing/hacking & pick them up & put them on a non carpeted surface too :?
I received quite a few packs of Fortiflora that will expire in the next few months if you would like some, Baby & Sadi refuse to eat anything with it on it :YMSIGH:
Have fun running errands & will look forward to Willie updates.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet visit today

:lol: :lol: sorry...but i'm laughing at the Wee Willie Launch mental pic!

best of luck at the vet, guys!
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, Vet update-- not home just yet!

I have spoken with both vets, both of whom are very nice, and even will agree to disagree with me.... progress!!!

Willie is in getting a skin biopsy now, which will take about 2 hours. The dermatologist suspects, based on the very symmetrical pattern to Willie's skin problems, that the issue is autoimmune. What worries me is that the most common treatment option is steroids, which he suggest we may need to withhold due to the diabetes, saying that maybe we just wouldn't treat. Willie is miserable, and with the skin twitching business, I'm not comfortable with a "just do nothing" approach. I told the doctor that his quality of life right now is a very serious concern of mine, and that while I wanted to do everything possible to avoid steroids, if need be, I can work insulin around steroids if they will bring him relief. His scabbing had flared up in the past couple days, so he is a hot scabby mess. I had to shave his right ear yesterday just so I could make sure I was getting the neosporin and vitamin E oil actually onto the skin. Poor guy. :( I am happy to be at this vet though, for the biopsy. Our old vet had indicated they would have done full IV sedation for him (they were planning on getting dental xrays and extracting any tooth roots)... at the specialty hospital, they're giving him a local and some gas (they just need him to keep still for the skin scraping). Recovery will hopefully be quicker and easier for the little guy.

I also spoke with the internal medicine doctor. She seemed surprised that she had been requested for consult. She is looking into the Lantus cartridges and plans to call and speak to our old vet (yay. really. yay.). She said that, in her opinion, and putting the skin issues aside, Willie eats well, is showing improvement in symptoms of diabetes, and continues to gain weight (up to 12lbs. 6 oz. from 11 lbs. 12 oz. three weeks ago!). For those reasons, she said there was no reason to go digging for problems. She also noted the heart murmur, which she said is small and some other word I don't remember. She said it needs to be checked out, but it isn't an absolute urgent matter (like, schedule today or your cat will die urgent). We will be seeing the cardiologist for that... unfortunately he isn't in today. Getting an estimate on an echo, and will figure out how to fit it in the budget over the next month.

As for the agreeing to disagree, she wanted me to change his diabetes protocol. She would like to get only pre-shot tests (I am apparently an excessive tester), base the dose off of those, then hold the dose for 10-14 days before considering a dosecrease. I kindly, but firmly stated that I had carefully researched our approach, I was seeing progress on it, and was the one for which I had the most support, and I felt very strongly about sticking to it for now. She was cool with that, stating that it wasn't a battle worth fighting, and when I changed my mind, she'd be happy to provide an alternative. I thanked her profusely and noted my appreciation for her response, and indicated that my hardline is what basically got me kicked out of my prior vet's practice. I did my best to be accommodating and respectful of her medical knowledge, yet at the same time, make it clear that I had done my homework.

You know what frustates me? Don't just tell me I test too much. Or when I mention that I'm doing TR, simply state that you do it differently and imply that your way is better. Try having a conversation with me. Explain the reasons why you find my approach to be problematic, and explain how your approach is superior. Give me a chance to respond, and then make an informed decision based on everything you've presented. I may not be a vet, but I've got a brain. In a former life, I spent a LOT of time reading through medical journals, so I know how to decipher them.

I'm at home now, which is just weird. Since I got custody of Willie and Miss Jezebelle in August of 1999, I don't think I've ever not had a cat in my place, so it just seems eerily quiet. Willie should be done in another hour or so, then I'll drive back over to get him.

Thanks for all the well-wishes today. I can not express enough how much you all mean to us. Given that this is the first time Willie has been to the vet for more than an hour or two, I know he'll be excited to know that KTSS is on the way! I feel bad... he hasn't eaten since 7:40 this morning, so I know he's going to be ravenous when we get home.... or at least as soon as the sleepytime meds wear off!

Time to hurry up and wait! :)
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet visit today

PS-- @Nicole-- He's at Mission MedVet. They share a specialty staff with the 24 hour emergency vet clinic in OP. :)
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet update... not home just yet.

Hi Christie,

I hope you get positive results from the vet for Willie. :razz: .

Miss Witty had to be at the U of M veterinary hospital for 8 hours and I miss her too.

I also get the "you test to much" from all the vets we have seen. :YMSIGH:

Have a good evening.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet update... not home just yet.

I loved reading how you interacted with the vets. I wish I had you to bring along to our appointments. Seriously. I'm impressed. If only Willie knew ;-)

Good luck with the biopsy. Hope it brings you guys some answers.

I wish with all my heart a vet had told us how serious heart murmers could be. Our vet for our dog just said, we'll keep monitoring it. If I knew then what I knew now we would have seen a cardiologist right away. Not when it was severe enough to cause her to go into Congestive heart failure. Good for them bringing this to your attention and suggesting a heart consult. (I don't know anything about cats hearts - have my hands full with dog ones lol)

Hugs.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet update... not home just yet.

I too loved reading how you interacted with the vets. I hope there is good news for Willie.

I think we are all told we test too much - my vet too. Aiyee!

Give Willie hugs from Mannie and me. Mannie says that once Willie is home that the KTSS will come and pay him a visit.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, vet update... not home just yet.

Good for you!!

My vet tells me I test too much, as well. At one point, I asked that she really look at the numbers on the SS not just the number of cells that are filled in. I pointed out that I have a cat that has a flare for the dramatic and testing has informed me that she can drop fast and low. She really couldn't challenge that. I do have to wonder what consists of "too much" and why a vet would be concerned about how much a person tests. They seem to think that our kitties' object. I don't know about Willie, but Gabby's pretty complacent especially if food or treats are involved.

You're also correct in that you can always work the insulin around the steroid if a steroid is the best option for Willie's comfort.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, home from the vet!

We're back! Haven't tested him yet, but let him have a big plate of food, which he devoured! we shoot in 90 min. and I wasn't about to make him wait! (and I doubt he would have let me!)

Skin biopsy results won't be in for a week. We're to switch from Clavamox to Baytril, another antibiotic (they were out of clindamycin), The doctor said that the slides showed no infection on the skin, though the tech insists I must poke less as his ears (which are very irritated) are "infected."

We have a script for Lantus cartridges, though the Costco pharmacy insisted that it is one 15 mL cartridge that must be thrown out in 21 days. Long discussion about that. The tech was so sweet, and was clearly just trying to save me money, and I think the Costco people were confused. We'll see what happens when I go to pick it up! Someone has the vet convinced a vial of Lantus will last 6 months. I laughed.

The techs were super nice, and said that Willie was just the sweetest boy in the world to work with. After a long car ride (rush hour. *sigh*) in which we had a long discussion about how he was, in fact, not only the hungriest boy kitty in the whole world, but also the most unloved and abused, we made it home. He's now checking the house to make sure nothing has been disturbed in his absence. I'm just happy to have him home.

Just realized they forgot to give me the echo estimate... I'll call and have them fax it to work tomorrow.

Hopefully, we'll have answers soon and can get Willie back to being comfortable. Time to calm down now. Am still in nervous eating mode! LOL Glad my weight watchers week resets tomorrow and not today!

Have a good night, everyone... thanks so much for all your kind words. :)
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, home from the vet!

we had a long discussion about how he was, in fact, not only the hungriest boy kitty in the whole world, but also the most unloved and abused, we made it home.

AWwwwww :lol: Give that starving abused unloved boy a big hug and kiss.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, home from the vet!

Happy to hear he is home safely flip_cat
What a stressful day for you both & you made it through! Wine for you & lots of hugs, love, treats & eats for Wee Dub cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, home from the vet!

YAY!! So glad he is back safe and sound. Interesting conversation with the vet regarding FD and testing. Gosh....they must teach them to all say the same thing. Good for you that you stood up to her in a nice way. How can they think we are overtesting? I really believe the vets (I know mine did) do not realize what some of these cats do. Once my vet saw how Gracie, Mannie, Tess, Gabby, Mocha, etc. to just name a few go from high to low and back, she was really concerned about how she has been having clients manage FD.

Christie: you will have to check this out with the vets but ask about cyclosporine instead of pred. Gracie has meibomanitis which is an allergy that results in the meibomial glands around her eyes becoming inflamed. It is a dermatological (allergy) issue but I thought she had conjunctivitis so took her to the eye specialist. Knowing that Gracie could not have steroids because of her FD (that's what got us here), the doctor prescribed a very low dose of topical cyclosporine which is an immuno suppressant. She told me that if Gracie was harboring any herpes virus that was dormant, it would bring it out and that was a downside; but, thankfully, that did not happen. We had it compounded and Gracie responded beautifully to it and we were able to slowly take her off of it. It can be given orally but I think there might be more concern for other side effects which I am not familiar with but your vets should be. Just worth asking....it might not be something that would work for or be good for Willie. Good luck!
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, home from the vet!

Just an FYI on the Lantus lasting 6 month issue...

If you read one of the formal versions of the dosing protocol we use here, the Tilly Protocol, it does note that members of the German Lantus forum are able to use their Lantus for more than 6 mos.
Tilly Protocol said:
• members of the German Diabetes-Katzen Forum buy 3 ml Lantus/Levemir cartridges, refrigerate them after opening and routinely use them for 6 months or more - when refrigerated, opened cartridges of these insulins are extraordinarily stable
Most of us don't get that kind of duration from our insulin. I haven't a clue why. However, it does suggest that the vet may have done some reading. The manufacturer recommends that unused Lantus be discarded after 28 days.
 
Re: 2/7 Willie AMPS 285, home from the vet!

Hi Christie & Willie, So glad that Willie is home and that you had "stimulating" discussions with the vets. You did great!!
Rusty will be over soon with the KTSS. I hope that the medicines will do the job for Willie.
Hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/7 Willie PMPS 175, home from the vet!

good for you Christie for standing your ground and letting them know you are Willie's spokes person and know your stuff....

will keep you guys in my prayers for good results....
 
Re: 2/7 Willie PMPS 175, home from the vet!

Okay, that 175 was rather unexpected. I was expecting upper 400s after this day!!

Thanks for all the input and suggestions, everyone! I will definitely keep it in my back pocket and ask when the time comes! Nice catch on the six months, Sienne.... maybe just maybe the vet looked up TR after talking to me? One can hope.... :)

Willie has been attacking his food bowl for a good 5 minutes now... better than attacking his skin!

Have a good night, everyone!

Hey, Guyz! I'z back from de vetty. Dat playz iz not kewl! De beans were nice, esspechially cuz I did turn on mah charmz. but i just wanted dem to give me de fuds, but dey didn't! Dey just looked at me, an' poked me, and den dey made me go seepynites when I didn't want to! :shock: And den I woke up and dey had taken part of mah skins! Don't tell mah bean, but I'z never been so glad to see her!! Now I am home... eberyone can hang out at mah house, if you guyz want. I'z got a nice warm space heater, and lots of warm registers... and de park still haz lots of snow... and de hills! Wud be great for sledding! I'z will break into de freezer and whip up some venison stew and liver smoothies!! Mah bean will never know!! See ya soon!! --Willie
 
Re: 2/7 Willie PMPS 175, home from the vet!

Welcome home, Wee Dub!! I duz ur hair when KTSS gets dere!!
binks


at the risk of sounding boastful (i'm not, just grateful)...my vet thinks it's great that i test a lot...she just "doesn't want the FD to become our entire lives"

it's not...just a BIG part of it...

holding you two in our hearts...

celi
 
Re: 2/7 Willie PMPS 175, home from the vet!

Happy Willie is home--Hope his results will help his condition to clear up!!
 
Hi Christie and Willie,

So glad Willie is chowing. I always think we are doing well if they have their appetites :-D .

What is the KTSS, Miss Witty was invited and would love to go to whatever it is. She say's she could really use a good party!
 
Welcome home Willie and sorry so late. Nice numbers, too. Willie sweetie, I hope you keep feeling better and so glad you're home. I must say I also would like to borrow you whenever I have a conversation with my Vet. Your Vet sounds at least a little open about the protocol. I know my Vet thinks I test too much. I use the Lantus vial and have success using it for four months. I've never tried using it for six months. My Vet says it is good for four months. The Pharmacy says one month! After four months I discard.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top