2/8 Enana PMPS 205, +1 274 Better :). What should I expect?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning everyone. Wishing a wonderful day to everyone :)

Enana is very hungry! She is looking at me like " Why dont you feed me when you wake up anymore" ;)

pmps 301
+2 301
+4 252
+10 201

Yesterday I increased the dose. What should I do next?

I'll next test again.

Thanks
 
Re: 2/8 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301, +2 252, +10 201 NExt dose???

You hold the dose especially if you just gave it yesterday. The shed has to fill on the new dose. Experts can explain it better. Bump for you.
 
Re: 2/8 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301, +2 252, +10 201 NExt dose???

Karrie is correct -- you want to hold the dose. Every time you change a dose, you need to give that dose time to "settle." The shed is like a reservoir of Lantus. If you increase a dose, a small amount of that dose has to go into the shed until it catches up to the dose increase. When you decrease a dose, there may be some residual effect from the shed until the shed is depleted. This is why you do not always see an immediate response to a dose change -- it can take a cycle or two.

I'm glad you've kept testing for ketones. Please continue to do so. I think you may find this link on the Precision meter and ketones helpful.
 
Re: 2/8 Enana PMPS 301, +2 301, +2 252, +10 201 NExt dose???

Thanks everybody :)

I isolated her this morning so she could have food and water all to herself. Gordo is a cat-vacuum...a eating machine!!. I guess I will have to isolate her during the night too.

Question: ...and maybe this is because I always fed them after woking up in the morning....but she is STARVING in the morning, more than usual. Do your cats are very hungry in the morning too?

Thanks Sienne for the link, very helpful.
 
Re: 2/8 Enana PMPS 301, +10 201, Very hungry in the AM

I checked your signature - looks like Enana was recently diagnosed. In the beginning when their blood sugar isn't regulated they tend to be hungry all of the time. It is okay to feed her more in the early stages of treatment.
 
Re: 2/8 Enana PMPS 301, +10 201, Very hungry in the AM

Yes, they are "starving" because the diabetes prevents their bodies from taking nutrition from the food. Except for keeping food within 2 hours of shot time (so you can get an accurate AMPS/PMPS), go ahead and feed low-carb food.
 
Re: 2/8 Enana PMPS 301, +10 201, Very hungry in the AM

it's sometimes hard to ignore their pleas before they settle in...they truly think they are starving, and look to us to ease the distress...but we do it!
I used to hide in another room when i ate because binks looked so pitiful and didnt understand why i didnt share...

now his appetite is fine, and he's one happy kitty...
 
Re: 2/8 Enana PMPS 301, +10 201, Very hungry in the AM

I think you are supposed to feed an unregulated cat as much as they want aren't you?
 
Re: 2/8 Enana AMPS 257, +10.6 183 Yay!!

AMPS 257 (that was the +11, but I needed to move the time back...I only could 12 minutes) I'll try for 15 minutes tonight.)
+10.5 183
+11.5 205

Well! I'm glad everything went well today. I isolated Enana in a bedroom with a litter box, watery food and water, toys and several cozy beds (including a shoe box which she loves ;) )

Im going to make some catsickles today :)
 
Re: 2/8 Enana AMPS 257, +10.6 183 +11.5 205 Yay!!

Thank you all for explaining diabetic hunger to me...It breaks my heart to see her that hungry and not been able to feed her.I am glad that will eventually go away.

Is there a way to upload a picture? I want you all to see Gordo.
 
Re: 2/8 Enana AMPS 257, +10.6 183 +11.5 205 Yay!!

great job, Natalia! Looks like Enana is settling in to her new dose quite well! Glad to see you've come up with a feeding solution.

have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top