2/19- GracieD +7=65, 8.5=56 . Suspend shots while away?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
Hi all,

I was away all this week on a family emergency and have not been able to test Gracie mid cycle until today. Her PS yesterday and this morning were in the high 200's low 300's, where they have typically been, but I just checked her at +7, twice, and got 65. She's been on insulin less than a month and her diabetes was steroid induced, so I'm not sure how to proceed the next few days. Both my wife and I need to be away and our neighbor would be giving Gracie her shots. The neighbor would not test. This low mid cycle number concerns me. I'm tempted to skip all shots until I return and then monitor her very closely. I don't want to lose any of the momentum we've gained, but nobody will be here if she has a hypo.

Edit: Her +8.5 was 56. We fed her 1/2 can FF right after her +7 and her numbers dropped.

Any advice or thoughts?

Thanks,

Jason
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc...3OEU0Ry1ZWC1wWGc&hl=en&authkey=CMbiv7sO#gid=0
 
Re: 2/19- GracieD +7=65. Should I suspend shots while away?

hi Jason

I'm not familiar with GracieD, but scanning back I see others have posted to you about her.

My thoughts, the one thing that stands out on your SS right now, is that something is happening on the current dose.
Unfortunately, missing a lot of data it's hard to say what, but that +7 is very very good.

by the way, when do you have to leave?

if you do choose to skip all shots, you will most likely lose momentum, plus I'd be worried about A) how long you'll be gone and b) rising numbers without insulin.

If you chose to have neighbor shoot, and not test, again, there is no way to know how low she may be at those shot times, and with noone checking her numbers, I'd be very concerned.

If you are willing to monitor closely when you do return, I would highly suggest mid cycle testing and evening checks, again, no idea how low she could be going either way without that info.
Let's see what others can add. The other option is lowering the dose while you are away.

EDIT TO ADD: are you still feeding dry?
 
Re: 2/19- GracieD +7=65. Should I suspend shots while away?

when are you leaving and how long will you be gone? Will the neighbor be able to shoot every 12 hours? And as Ronnie asked, what does she eat?

I would not suggest skipping shots altogether, for all the reasons Ronnie mentioned plus the risk of ketones. A reduced dose would be better.
 
Re: 2/19- GracieD +7=65. Should I suspend shots while away?

I have to leave first thing tomorrow morning and will be back late Monday night. I wasn't home all this week, so my wife gave shots but is not comfortable testing, so I have no idea if the 65 is a one off or not. Edit: +8.5 was 56.

She eats Fancy Feast Classic, usually 1/2 can 5 times a day. We do leave dry out for our other cats, but when I'm home and feed her on schedule, she barely nibbles it. When we're away, that's all she will have access too though.

I'm not keen on skipping her shots, but I don't want to put this responsibility on my neighbor, even at a lower dose. If anything should happen, it would be horrible. Although skipping the shots isn't ideal, she'd only really miss 3 shots and I could give her one on Monday night and monitor her during the night. I'd be thrilled to see the 65 if I wasn't going away, but now it's a major concern. She's been on insulin less than 3 weeks, so there isn't enough history to know what may happen.

Thanks all,

Jason
 
Her +11 was up to 130 and her PMPS shot all the way to 457. I have no idea what's going on. She ate 2 cans of FF so far, and no dry that I've seen. I shot the full 1.5u tonight, and depending on her numbers overnight, will either shoot 1.5 or 1 in the morning before I go. I will have my neighbor shoot 1u tomorrow night and Monday morning to be on the safe side.
 
The 457 is most likely a bounce from the low numbers (56). Many of our kitties have to go through "liver training school"...my Gracie being one of them. The liver is not used to low numbers and as a defense mechanism, releases hormones which result in driving up the BG so the kitty will be safe. There is no telling when the kitty's liver will pass LTS....some cats take a long time, some not, some may not ever get it.

Is there any way when you get back to put Gracie D's SS linked to your signature like Belle's is? That would be really helpful for everyone so they don't have to scroll back to your first post to get the link. Have a safe trip.
 
Thanks for the info. She tends to rise and fall very quickly and it can be frustrating.

Her SS is now listed in my sig.

Jason


Marjorie and Gracie said:
The 457 is most likely a bounce from the low numbers (56). Many of our kitties have to go through "liver training school"...my Gracie being one of them. The liver is not used to low numbers and as a defense mechanism, releases hormones which result in driving up the BG so the kitty will be safe. There is no telling when the kitty's liver will pass LTS....some cats take a long time, some not, some may not ever get it.

Is there any way when you get back to put Gracie D's SS linked to your signature like Belle's is? That would be really helpful for everyone so they don't have to scroll back to your first post to get the link. Have a safe trip.
 
Jason --

Maybe one option if you're going to be traveling in the future is to check with your vet's office. Usually there are vet techs who pick up extra cash by petsitting. .
 
This is an unusual circumstance and the first time my wife and I will both be away for an insulin shot going back to Belle. My neighbor does physicals and draws blood on humans, so she is capable and willing and once we get Gracie settled, we should be ok.

Jason


Sienne and Gabby said:
Jason --

Maybe one option if you're going to be traveling in the future is to check with your vet's office. Usually there are vet techs who pick up extra cash by petsitting. .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top