3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +3 39, +3.5 96, +4 163

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61

I shot .5u tonight. She was just lowered to .75 last night, but after two cycles on .75u, she was surfing low. I couldn't/wouldn't shoot the full dose at a preshot of 61, but didn't want any setbacks and decided on another reduction.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61

How about thinking about this as a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose? It's one option when it comes to shooting low numbers. That way, you can see where Gracie's numbers are at this evening and in the AM. It's good that you shot on time. Let's see how Gracie handles the reduction. Often, two reductions that are close together don't hold. The BCS dose will give the shed an opportunity to empty a little and if you want to go back to your 0.75u dose tomorrow, you can.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61

Sienne and Gabby said:
How about thinking about this as a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose? It's one option when it comes to shooting low numbers. That way, you can see where Gracie's numbers are at this evening and in the AM. It's good that you shot on time. Let's see how Gracie handles the reduction. Often, two reductions that are close together don't hold. The BCS dose will give the shed an opportunity to empty a little and if you want to go back to your 0.75u dose tomorrow, you can.

Thanks Sienne. That sounds good. I really wanted to stick with the .75u, but she has been so consistently low that I wouldn't sleep a wink tonight if I did. I also didn't want to delay. I'm hoping her momentum just continues.

Edit: It appears she would have been in line for another reduction in the morning anyway. Her +1 was 41.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41

I think you're in for a wild ride. Gracie is making double time down the dose ladder. I would give Gracie a good amount of HC. This is too early in the cycle to mess around. You want to get her numbers up, preferably above 70. Test again in 20 min., please.

Post on handling low numbers.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think you're in for a wild ride. Gracie is making double time down the dose ladder. I would give Gracie a good amount of HC. This is too early in the cycle to mess around. You want to get her numbers up, preferably above 70. Test again in 20 min., please.

Post on handling low numbers.

+1.5 is 38. The lowest she's ever been. I fed her more HC food. What I've noticed with her, it takes 1 to 2 hours for her BG's to shoot up from food. I'll be up with her, testing and watching.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38

You may want to give Gracie a combo of gravy + Karo to get the numbers up. Because it's so early in the cycle, you don't want to give too much "solid" food otherwise she'll either fill up and refuse to eat or vomit. Feed small amounts. If you need to, Karo/syrup on the gums may bring numbers up more quickly.

Please keep us updated on what's going on with Gracie's numbers.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38

Wow...that's all I have to say...for a change :lol: :lol:
 

Attachments

  • 028-Eating-Emoticony_com.gif
    028-Eating-Emoticony_com.gif
    9.9 KB · Views: 567
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Wow...that's all I have to say...for a change :lol: :lol:

Love that emoticon! Just tested at 1 hour 50 minutes and it's 50. She's had her normal meal(fed M/HC) at shot time, and some gravy and bits of food at +1.5.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38, +1.75 50, +3 39

Ummm.... It's why we encourage testing every 20 - 30 min. until the numbers have clearly stabilized or are trending upward. As the HC wears off, numbers can drop again. You want to stay ahead of the numbers. Take a look at the link I posted earlier.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38, +1.75 50, +3 39

Sienne and Gabby said:
Ummm.... It's why we encourage testing every 20 - 30 min. until the numbers have clearly stabilized or are trending upward. As the HC wears off, numbers can drop again. You want to stay ahead of the numbers. Take a look at the link I posted earlier.

I have tested every 30 minutes, but I didn't update the title every time. This last time I gave her gravy w/ karo. Will be testing in a second.

Edit: Wow! That karo works quick! Up to 96 in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38, +1.75 50, +3 39

Hang in there, Jason and Gracie! These are the times that try FD souls. Keep testing and feeding small amounts!
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38, +3 39, +3.5 96

Oh. I'm glad you're testing frequently!!

It's curious that you'd said earlier that it can take a while for Gracie to respond to HC vs. tonight when she's reacting quickly. Personally, I'm glad she's responding as fast as she is.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38, +3 39, +3.5 96

Sienne and Gabby said:
Oh. I'm glad you're testing frequently!!

It's curious that you'd said earlier that it can take a while for Gracie to respond to HC vs. tonight when she's reacting quickly. Personally, I'm glad she's responding as fast as she is.

This was the 3rd HC meal I gave her, but the first time she's ever had karo. The first two meals didn't do much if anything, so now I know karo is needed for a quick response. The 96 could be partly a reflection of the previous meals, since it has been 2/3 hours since she ate them.
 
Re: 3/13 GracieD PMPS 61, +1 41, +1.5 38, +3 39, +3.5 96

julie1220 said:
wow, what a wild ride you're having! hope you get some sleep tonight!

I think I over carbed her! She just hit 163 at +4. I'm ok with it. I need that sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top