1/25 Sami PMPS 167; +1 196; +1.5 vomited 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo

Sami had a slight rise in numbers last night, which I hope is due only to Liver Training. I hope we see some better numbers today, but only time will tell.

Sami is the same lovable cat as always. She ate well this morning, always checking out each bowl to make sure she gets the one she wants. I try to put out at least two different foods just in case one of the cats doesn’t like one variety as much. Sometimes Sami even changing bowls midway through the meal. She has always been good with her tests and shots and that hasn't changed. Even at her highest and when she was feeling her worst she has been very excepting of all the pokes. I guess she knows I just want to help her feel better.

Here is the question of the day. How is it that Sami can appear to have been rising all night and at +11 she is at 427 (the highest point) and an hour later at her AMPS she is at 359, just about where she started the cycle? I just don't get it. Now of course she could have eaten within 1 hour of her +11, I really don't know. I also read on another condo that there is such a thing as double dipping. What exactly is this? I have seen many times where Sami can go up and down within a cycle.

Anyway, I am looking forward to a good day, I hope it comes.


Nicole & Baby said:
:RAHCAT

You & Sami are doing wonderful! I love reading your condos too... you say a lot & think a lot more about it then I ever have & I love that!!! You are so good with the #s & reasoning.... where as I just act on impulse & emotions... way to go! You are doing Fabulous!! :mrgreen:


Nicole, trust me, I have my moments of impulse and emotions too, I just try to keep the under wraps because most of the time decisions made by impulse or when I am very emotional are the wrong decisions.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami AMPS 359

msarobix said:
Yesterday's condo
Here is the question of the day. How is it that Sami can appear to have been rising all night and at +11 she is at 427 (the highest point) and an hour later at her AMPS she is at 359, just about where she started the cycle? I just don't get it. Now of course she could have eaten within 1 hour of her +11, I really don't know. I also read on another condo that there is such a thing as double dipping. What exactly is this? I have seen many times where Sami can go up and down within a cycle.

Good morning! Glad Sami is feeling chipper today! :mrgreen:

Im sure someone can explain your question in more detail at some point. But yes, some cats will dip down between +11 and +12. Latte does it at times, but not always. It can work in your favor on some days. This does not mean Sami should be eating at +11, though because then you will still get a food spike and not know the true number. Plus you will lose that valuable data as to whether or not your cat is a double dipper - which in Latte's case can sometimes contribute to a bounce later on.

In my condo yesterday you were concerned about latte not eating last night and affecting her numbers. I responded, but you were probably fast asleep at that point! ;-) I just wanted to clarify - because you will see it with us often- that Latte gets a steroid at night. this raises her BG (though not typically as much as last night). Eating with insulin, as Ive understood it, is to prevent big drops or going too low. Unless she is having a wierd cycle not eating right away is not a big deal for her...she will almost always go up no matter what. She is a very difficult cat to get eating, so I have done a great deal of monitoring after insulin to see when it is vital for her to have food in conjunction w/shot and when she can hold off. Mornings are a different story for us...she must eat!

Im sorry to hear about your other cat with the crf. Its a tough disease. Im sure you took as great care of them as you do Sami!

Hope you have a wonderful start to your week!
 
Re: 1/25 Sami AMPS 359

Here is the question of the day. How is it that Sami can appear to have been rising all night and at +11 she is at 427 (the highest point) and an hour later at her AMPS she is at 359, just about where she started the cycle? I just don't get it. Now of course she could have eaten within 1 hour of her +11, I really don't know. I also read on another condo that there is such a thing as double dipping. What exactly is this? I have seen many times where Sami can go up and down within a cycle.

The first explaination you already have, it could be that she ate something shortly before the +11 and it raised her BG temporarily before the insulin was able to reduce it again or she ate and there was no insulin left (Lantus) but after a breif delay her own self produced insulin was released and able to lower the BG slightly.

The "double dip" probably comes from the same general idea (and the way in which Lantus works) it has to do with that "shed" we are always talking about .....
Though it is not a suspended insulin, Lantus delays its absorption by not forming crystals until AFTER it has been injected and also via alterations made to the basic human insulin molecule[17]. Lantus's suspension is a special acidic preparation (pH 4.0) that reacts with the injection site forming micro-precipitates around the insulin crystals, which keeps them trapped for a while. Once the crystals make it to the bloodstream, they're absorbed as fast as any other insulin. Don't rub the injection site after injection or you can speed up absorption of Lantus and all other insulins
So Lantus is stored under the skin and held in an inactive state, these inactive crystals dissolve if you will at different rates and multiple factors effect when how quickly that happens (movement, blood flow in the area, other biochemical substances in the tissues etc.) it can be that when almost all the Lantus has been "used up" there is still a small package of crystals that are inactive at that +11, the BG is higher because there currently no active insulin availble. Somehow in that time between +11 and when you measured Preshot that package opened and some active insulin was made availble and lowered the BG some more.

It's kind of like a bonus round. :-D
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167 NEED DOSE ADVICE

Sami has been doing great today, currently at 167 for PMPS.

I am going to wait 15 minutes and retest to see if she is dropping. I am not going to feed just yet.

What I need help with is should I shoot the full dose. I am really nervous about that since she has dropped nearly 200 points today. I know for sure that I do not want to skip the dose I want to shoot something I just don't know what I should shoot.

As you can see from my spreadsheet I have been giving Sami wet food between 2% and 4% carbs over the last two days. I could go ahead and shoot and give her a food that is 8% carbs.

What do you think?
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167 NEED DOSE ADVICE

Are you going to be home and do you have HC and lots of strips on hand?
I'm looking at your SS and either numbers 167 or173 are good numbers.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167 NEED DOSE ADVICE

SHOOOOOOOOOOT!!!!!!!

Whew, I haven't gotten to yell that in a long time, it's fun. :mrgreen:

Sami is surfing, it's fine to shoot a surf. Since this is your lowest preshot, plan to get a +1 and +2 to see which way she is going. Yeah!
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167 NEED DOSE ADVICE

If you are ready to see green, I would hoot it! 8% carbs probably won't make much of a difference...you DO have higher carbs in case she goes low tonight??
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167 NEED DOSE ADVICE

It's normal to be nervous.
If you are equiped and ready, I don't see why not shoot, but YOU have to be comfortable.
Stick to the same low carb food as usual, shoot full dose and feed and get a +1 - or a + 0.5 hour if you are sitting on the edge of your seat and ran out of nails to chew on.
If you prefer to BCS dose that's ok too, but you'll lose a little bit of wind.... but sometimes that's what you gotta do.
Is this helpful?
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167 NEED DOSE ADVICE

I do have lots of strips, MC and HC food ready to go. So I should go ahead and shoot the full 1.5. SCARY! I just fed her 8% carb wet food.

Okay, I will shot in just a few minutes unless I here someone say NO!
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167 NEED DOSE ADVICE

I DID IT!

I shot the full 1.5 dose. I guess at some point I have to feel comfortable with the possibility of low numbers so why not today. I probably would feel more comfortable if it were on a weekend, and I wasn't worried about not getting any sleep, but I really don't want to see her relapse back up into the red, although, if she does go green tonight then there is still a possibility that she will rebound tomorrow.

I guess at this point I would rather see her rebound then have the shed get depleted and then have to start over again.

I hope it goes well. I will have the HC on the counter ready to go and we will be having a pokefest tonight.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167; I did it!

Hiya Tina! A little nail biting there at shot time. :lol:

I hope Sami surfs some good numbers tonight. Good job, both of you! :smile:
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167; I did it!

Hi Tina
I wrote a post before and I don't know what happened to it.
Not important now. Just wanted to say GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!
You see, I told you it gets better. Really happy for you.
Good luck with the shot.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167; +1 196

So far so good. At +1 she is still rising slowly. I will check her again in an hour.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167; I did it!

Randi & Max said:
Hi Tina
I wrote a post before and I don't know what happened to it.
Not important now. Just wanted to say GREAT JOB!!!!!!!!!
You see, I told you it gets better. Really happy for you.
Good luck with the shot.

Thanks, it is oh so scary to shoot those lower numbers, but like I said before at some point I will have to do it.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167; +1 196; +1.5 158

I hope this isn't a bad sign, but Sami just vomited at +1.5. I gave her a famotidine, and then fed her again with 2% carb food. She went right to it and ate a fair amount. Maybe the 8% was too much for her tummy to handle, who knows.

Anyway, I hope that she doesn't continue the vomitting, the one time I really want to make sure she eats and this happens.

And she is drinking a fair amount too. Not sure if this means anything.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167; +1 196

ChrisH said:
Do you think maybe Sami's +1 is a food spike?

is likely a combination of food spike and the AM shot poofing out - gotta like my terminology!

because lantus isn't instantaneous, you have a couple of hours to get some food on board before the insulin kicks on.

and... something I had notice and so did Dyana/JD - when the BG are lowering, our cats drink.... no explanation, just an observation.
 
Recap so far:

PMPS = 167
+1= 196
+1.5 = 158 ; vomited; gave famotidine; and then ate again
+2 = 170

So far so good. She seems a little tired now, but I guess that is expected. I know how I feel after I throw up so I will try to let her sleep, but I will probably test her again in 30 minutes just to be sure.
 
Re: 1/25 Sami PMPS 167; +1 196

Randi & Max said:
Well I have to say that is a day that I hope to see one day.

Randi,

Max will get there. You are seeing less and less red, and more yellow, and blue, so it looks like he is moving in the right direction.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
looks great. :mrgreen:

I would get a +3, and then see from there whether any more testing is needed.

Is there a magic number for this? I am planning to get a +2.5 and then probably a +3, but I almost feel like I need to get an hourly reading until at least +6. But if you don't think that is necesary than I can at least get some sleep. Either way I will probably just catch a few zzz's on the couch with the egg timer going off every hour or so.
 
Recap:

PMPS = 167
+1= 196
+1.5 = 158 ; vomited; gave famotidine; and then ate again
+2 = 170
+2.5 = 188

Still a slight rise from +2, probably due to the food eaten at +1.5.

I want to get one more reading at +3 before I take a snooze. I will probably still get up to test at +4 and +5 too. Hope it goes well.

I like the surfing, just not the unknown.
 
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

This condo made me smile...well, except the vomiting part. :roll:

Nice job tonight!
 
carolynandlatte said:
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

This condo made me smile...

Me too, especially the part about the egg timer. For some reason it just made me smile.

Good luck tonight, Tina & Sami. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top